Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Agree. It is hard work for 200cm blokes starting at 80 odd kg and needing to get to at least 95 in three years. I have speculated that we did him no favors by pushing him to play early either. Obviously we could not do much about glandular fever but given his lack of footy in 2020 my opinion was we should have just eased him though year 1 but as usual we had to show off our shiny new toys.
It is interesting that his brother Archer coming into this years draft is the same size as Zack is now. 200cm and 90kg.
This is the logical extension of what I’ve said previously about certain body types being a red flag from a durability/longevity perspective.As a racing fan I’m always impressed with what the top agents and buyers are doing with yearlings.
With as little as a 10 second video of the horse walking, scanned with the appropriate technology, they can get a great insight into the horse’s biomechanics and compare it with an enormous database - showing what correlates with horses that have developed well physically and become elite athletes.
The very advanced tech can tell you - within a margin of error, of course - which horses are more likely to break down as they enter training and develop physically.
Of course, it’s used in combination with more basic measures such as bone scans and the trained human eye.
But I have wondered, with AFL footballers drafted so young, what is done with medical technology to get a better idea. Or is it considered unethical to treat them like animals with predictive technology.
can you tell which yearlings have booked to head over to Ibiza once the Spring racing carnival is over?As a racing fan I’m always impressed with what the top agents and buyers are doing with yearlings.
With as little as a 10 second video of the horse walking, scanned with the appropriate technology, they can get a great insight into the horse’s biomechanics and compare it with an enormous database - showing what correlates with horses that have developed well physically and become elite athletes.
The very advanced tech can tell you - within a margin of error, of course - which horses are more likely to break down as they enter training and develop physically.
Of course, it’s used in combination with more basic measures such as bone scans and the trained human eye.
But I have wondered, with AFL footballers drafted so young, what is done with medical technology to get a better idea. Or is it considered unethical to treat them like animals with predictive technology.
Sounds like really cool technology, but even that wouldn't be a guarantee. The AFL obviously do have medicals, but I suspect it's more like the old fashioned doc tapping knees with a hammer and measuring against a line on the doorframe, than full body scans and sports scientists doing vision analysis.As a racing fan I’m always impressed with what the top agents and buyers are doing with yearlings.
Just our luck the Doc has aggravated McKay's dodgy knee with a bloody hammer.Sounds like really cool technology, but even that wouldn't be a guarantee. The AFL obviously do have medicals, but I suspect it's more like the old fashioned doc tapping knees with a hammer and measuring against a line on the doorframe, than full body scans and sports scientists doing vision analysis.
Sounds like really cool technology, but even that wouldn't be a guarantee. The AFL obviously do have medicals, but I suspect it's more like the old fashioned doc tapping knees with a hammer and measuring against a line on the doorframe, than full body scans and sports scientists doing vision analysis.
Also I guess there are 18 clubs fighting over perhaps 2-3 decent talls that come through each year, kinda have to choose from what's available at that point, which probably means assuming more risk based on a smaller pool of choices. It's not like you can take a batch of complete footy noobs and train them from the age of 12 and then draft the best one, or draft 80-90 players and keep them on the list for a decade before they come good. The mechanisms and resources just aren't there to support something like that. Perhaps the game would be better for it if there were longer playing lists...
There'd be a lot more horses around than there are cashed up prospective owners, and if you want a particular dam and a particular sire you can pay for that too and have it in hand within a year or two – I don't think any human sport is at that level of eugenics as it stands![]()
All of this is why I follow Mahar / Eustice pretty closely . Keep an eye on their horses coming through the maidens as they are using the latest technology on the training front.The video biometrical scanning - which is still in its relative infancy and held by a relative few at the moment - is absolutory bloody amazing.
You're completely right about the population size. There are tens of thousands of thoroughbred yearlings auctioned around the world every year and these days there is footage of all of them walking or even galloping - it's a basic sales tool - so they have been able to build a database very quickly which gives them pretty good results.
I think it would have some value depending on what footage is available at, say, draft combines. If there's a bank of footage of sprint testing over the last x years then perhaps a database could start to be built but you're still going to have issues with statistical significance, given (I believe) there is less than 100 players at draft combine and a similar number drafted so they have the medical results proven out over a couple of years. You'd need decades of data you'd reckon.
By the by - not related to footy - the other cool data they have is cardiac chamber scanning. They walk around sales with little ultrasound readers and hold them to the horse's side for about 5-10 seconds. It gives them an instant cardiac capacity reading which is downloaded via smartphone into a similarly huge database, so it compares to hundreds of thousands of samples (from champions to duds) and the correlations have been found. Amazing stuff... old mate the wise old horseman, using his trained eye, has less and less of a chance.
The ethics are as solid as the quality of the predictive techAs a racing fan I’m always impressed with what the top agents and buyers are doing with yearlings.
The ethics are as solid as the quality of the predictive tech
There is no problem assessing physical attributes. There’s a problem if decisions are being made using faulty methods.
Would be a lot if agents and players very reluctant unless the method is well proven by research.. and that can be slow to achieve with cutting edge approaches.
I would think that you don't let the AI make the decisions, in the same way that when you do an MRI scan a doctor still has a look at it and advises the club what it would take to fix or develop that attribute and the club decides whether they're willing to take that on.Yep… I think everybody would be very reluctant. Some kid working to his dream and gets told his bio doesn’t measure up, sorry mate.
Particularly given there will always be at least a small margin of error.

In utero screening for Norm Smiths
Wow.Barcelona signed Messi at 13, and that was way back in 2000 when tech was pretty bad.
In 2000!Wow.
They probably took a photo of him with a digital SLR and used that to decide
Cutting edge Lore LOLIn 2000!
probably a regular old SLR.
maybe the problem is that we don't treat animals as we expect ourselves to be treated.Humans eat, poo, do the horizontal tango and eventually die, sometimes all at once. That makes them animals, so there should be no ethical dilemma about treating them as animals.
German ones.What freaky websites have you been visiting?![]()
I am on height watch because I reckon he was still growing the last couple years.I walked past him at Emporium today and he looked in good Knick