Autopsy 2024 Rd 9 Blues hold on in 1 point thriller

Who played well for the Blues in Round 9 vs the Demons?

Alright, that's enough.

The next poster who thinks they should have a crack at an individual or a collective reaction to this game is going to find themselves threadbanned. Terms like 'bleaters' or 'shit posters' will see things escalated further.

Let's discuss our views on the match without getting the knives out, please.

We played well for 3 and a half quarters. The rain came harder, the ground was more heavy going, and our game style is taxing. These guys left it all out there on the field. We were out on our feet.
We've played 3 times in 13 days.

Geelong, Collingwood and Melbourne.

Blokes were spent. Hardly an easy run with massive injury list. The ins this week made a fair difference but we still aren't at full strength.

Yes, there's stuff to work on; but plenty went right, too.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jekyll and Hyde team

Got overrun by a team with 48hrs less rest.

So good for 2.5 qtrs. So good.

The poor for a qtr.

Then deplorable for last 15 mins.

Bizarre.

Bank the win but some serious problems to solve to become a premiership threat.

24 hours less rest, but only 1 change for them. We had 4 changes, 2 of who were coming back from lengthy injury breaks.

Why does nobody consider that we just ran out of legs before them?

I fear some won't be having a good night. I will. If you offered me a 1 point win at the start of the night, I'd take it and run away giggling like a St Trinian's schoolgirl.
Why do I have this mental image of Reese running away, giggling, in a St Trinian's school uniform.

I think it's time I went to bed :D

"Well Alex, you've done a good job on Bobby Hill and Kysiah Pickett.

Nice easy one for you next week. You're on Tom Papley"

Why do I have this mental image of Reese running away, giggling, in a St Trinian's school uniform.

I think it's time I went to bed :D

No, don't go to bed thinking about my avatar.

I reckon he was spent in the last but he kept turning up.
I reckon he was gassed from about halfway through the third. But kept going. Quality player... must keep.

Far more negatives to take out of that, feels like a loss tbh. Should if been an 8 goal win, actually make a statement. Gee we've got a lot to do
Don’t mean to single you out as there are heaps of comments like yours.

But what?

We just beat arguably the best side in the comp and it feels like a loss?

There are momentum swings in football. We started 5 goals to zero. Melbourne are a great side - they were always going to come home late. Yes we made errors and yes we could have been better. But the same is to be said for Melbourne, who leave the ground with 0 points.

If people are going to sleep disappointed tonight, I actually feel sorry for you.

Life is a lot more enjoyable when you focus on the positives.

Expecting Wilson to come into this game and impact it is as likely as expecting the same from Binns in his first.

With Ollie already being muscled off the ball - we didn’t need another young body struggling along side him.

Carrol may well get his chance next week - but an outside runner he is not.

I thought cunners was good offensively last week, clearly por defensively - no problem if they feel the need to teach him an important message.

There’s no arrogance in this team - how many games have we won/lost now under 10 points over the last year ?
Just banging your head up against the wall there.

Just accept that he's going to find some left wing excuses to drop Pittonet, Newman and Jennedy every week.

I like the win but we have to fix our composure when the pressure comes...last 10 minutes,

Weitering smothered, Gov kicking down the centre when we are in front by 24, Cripps handball to no one instead of taking the tackle..all the time in the world and Hewitt kicks high to Durdin on Lever! Ollie run down, Newman indiscipline, Kemp trying to pack mark rather than punch, Walsh hack kick, we must be able to do to the basics! You match that IQ vs Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Daicos, Elliott...Stewart, Cameron, Hawkins, Danger, Guthrie... I loved the win but these are in our control. I really would love us to make less of these self inflicted errors.
There’s the upside!

We will get better at working our way through games.

A few head scratchers in this game no doubt :)

I remember a time when 6 wins for the year was not gonna happen. We have been pretty unfairly treated by the AFL’s fixturing the last few weeks and played some seriously good teams and have not lowered our colours. No we are not playing our best yet, who wants to in May? But we are showing glimpses.

Take the win, learn from the encounter and move on.

Negative nellies need to remember all the hard times that got us here

Last edited by a moderator:
It needed to be done.

I have never seen anything like this after a WIN.
It's usually like this after a 100 point loss. Some of our supporters are seriously bad winners.

I've been saying to mates over recent weeks that you'd never call a Carlton performance clinical and that I really want to see a clinical performance, where we look like genuine premiership contenders. We got it in the first half (literally the most impressed I've been in years I reckon), but given the second half, I'd need to watch again to see if it was us or if it was them. It felt like us at the game.

The last qtr and half was horrendous, right down to the last kick. Newman could have gone to the other pocket and hit up one of two loose players and held possession until the siren. Instead we gave them another chance. I was fuming in the last qtr when we didn't just try and maintain possession to kill the clock. Awful.

It seems we revert to the bomb down the line when we lose confidence. The problem is that we lose confidence way too easily. Even putting Charline in defence with a few mins to go in the third qtr - it can't be good for player mentality. It shows that we're losing belief.

One thing, in our defence, is that Cerra was looking so damn good before he went off. It's very possible that they wouldn't have closed the gap if he'd stayed out there imo. What a shame for him and us.

Hollands' continued lack of awareness is weird. Durds' inability to stick tackles is frustrating (can't believe he kept his spot ahead of Cunners). Kemp was pretty meh. Owies kicks his goals, which is nice, but his slow mind/movement definitely costs us a few shots. Most players were very good for the most part.

If we win next week, we've done very well through this period (particularly with 3 games in 12 days). Great to see Martin back out there and Charlie looked a lot better in the end than he has all year after getting dominated by May early. His attack on the ball was so much better than it has been. You sense a bag around the corner.

Hope we see a lot more of that first-half level of footy.

People should be allowed to support how they want to. A club like Carlton does not expect a 38 point lead to turn into a 1 point win.

And if some supporters on here are angry about it, doesn’t make them a bad supporter.

Lay off

You are correct.

But when you’re telling other supporters that they shouldn’t be OK with a win, then you’re the one crossing the line.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 9 Blues hold on in 1 point thriller