Rumour 2024 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 25, last 28th August)

• Thread starter Thread starter ams4crows

Will we land a big fish?

• Yes

Votes: 36 17.8%
  • No

Votes: 166 82.2%

I’ll give you a hint, most successful coaches have been involved in premiership winning sides (either as a player or one of the coaches). Do we have any on our list of coaches?
You don't know ?

Sure, i get that.
But something like this should have been done before Melbourne became an up and coming mega metropolis without having to have people travelling 90 mins to work, or 30 mins to cross a couple of suburbs.
There was a proposal in the 70s for a similar scheme, and would obviously have costed a very small percentage of what it costs now.

If you put this off and only look at projects in their short term value, you don't plan for population growth, and all the problems that come with it.

Like building a one way freeway to the south of Adelaide..
Wasn’t D Dan talking about a “HK skyline from Docklands to Domain to Richmond to Carlton surrounding CBD”? An extra 1.5-2m people in true high density living and within 3km or so of CBD

Proof that you are the evil twin.

I was required to spend time all over Australia for work. Melbourne (where I spent the most time) was by far the least enjoyable and it wasn't even close. The idea of Melbourne is dramatically different to the actual lifestyle. Wouldn't do another stint there for love or money. Was actually a big factor in my decision to change careers and stay in Adelaide permanently.

Anyone that speaks poorly of living in Adelaide (or Canberra/Darwin/Hobart) probably hasn't spent much time there.
ACT/Darwin/Hobart all quite extreme weather compared to the much more moderate Adelaide and Melbourne. For many people, weather is important (see SEQ growth the last 30-40 years, Florida becoming the fastest growing US state recently etc)

MLB dead? Seriously? I get the hate the Big Brother thing but ADL would DIE to have many MLB qualities like The G, multiple massive global and iconic Aussie sporting events, bar and restaurant scene (despite some high profile closures which is inevitable with the discretionary expenditure crunch), so many festivals, arts scene in general. When major global acts come do you wonder why they often go to only 2 or 3 (Brissie often does well) cities only and bypass ADL and PER? Taylor Swift played at The G more than we did this year.

Work opportunities, more sophistication in many ways (as big cities often are compared to small cities)

A long weekend in MLB recently with mates and it’s an amazing city IMO. Smart, cultured but friendly and inclusive people I have found over many years of visiting and living there
You do realize the slogan on SA number plates?
Melbourne would kill for something like the fringe or WOMADelaide.
The Adelaide test is generally seen as better than the Boxing Day tests and recent pitches help
Tour downunder
Sure there’s the Australian open and the Grandfinal but other states would do just as well.
The Grandprix was seen as a better event when it was in adelaide vs what it is in Melbourne.
Artists bypass Adelaide purely due to numbers, which will always effect the state compared to the others.
Being involved in events for the last 21
years, adelaide punches well above its weight when it comes to events.

It's not just a travel project. It's about building mini commercial centres around the city centre to attract business and jobs away from the city, so to remove the need for the whole city to travel to the CBD and hence the impact of that can't be easily quantified.
I.e. travel times from outer Melbourne getting increased as population and urban sprawl continuing, cost of public transport and road upgrades to accommodate the increases.
Not to mention class divide of poorer people having to live far out of the city and travel more meaning more cost for them to get to work.

Sydney is developing its own 3 mini centres scheme and projects accordingly.
Unfortunately Melbourne doesn't really have the existing hubs or ability to build above ground infrastructure to do the same.

And re cost over runs. All projects have massive cost overruns. It's how major projects work.
You tender at the lowest price to win the work and get it off the ground politically, then variations naturally bring the cost back to what it would have cost originally anyway.
Yes but there's also other issues in this case but its not footy so I'm not going to get into it.

You do realize the slogan on the SA numberplates?
Melbourne would kill for something like the fringe or WOMADelaide.
The Adelaide test is generally seen as better than the Boxing Day tests and recent pitches help
Tour downunder
Sure there’s the Australian open and the Grandfinal but other states would do just as well.
The Grandprix was seen as a better event when it was in adelaide vs what it is in Melbourne.
Artists bypass Adelaide purely due to numbers, which will always effect the state compared to the others.
Being involved in events for the last 21
years, adelaide punches well above its weight when it comes to events.
Cmon Froggy, that’s a little biased mate,

Now firstly I love my hometown of ADL but am objective enough having lived all around Oz (and OS) to compare and what you are saying is just not substantially true IMO.

Firstly money talks. MLB bought the Grand Prix away from ADL and it sucked. I was living in SA at the time and the “kick a Vic” thing went to another level. Fact is they have the money and now the event for 30+ years and some of the biggest crowds in the world. It’s deemed a very successful event and living in the past if relying on ADL hosting it for the first 5-10 years (or whatever it was) when it first came to Oz.

Boxing Day test > ADL oval test to anyone who is objectively independent I would think. ADL test doesn’t even have a set date each year and doesn’t always have the “premium test series” if 2 series of 3 games each. Have you been to Boxing Day of The Ashes with 80-90k plus others? Incredible next level experience.

I won’t list all MLB festivals but it’s a crapload more than ADL despite the ones you mentioned being exceptional events. I went to many shows at fringe this year (Tom Gleeson, some Irish magician who was amazing).

ADL probably DOES punch above its weight. I am not denying that, but with its weight being only 25% of MLB it still doesn’t win

Ps GF day
Spring Carnival
Aust Open tennis = exceptional event
Etc etc

Cmon Froggy, that’s a little biased mate,

Now firstly I love my hometown of ADL but am objective enough having lived all around Oz (and OS) to compare and what you are saying is just not substantially true IMO.

Firstly money talks. MLB bought the Grand Prix away from ADL and it sucked. I was living in SA at the time and the “kick a Vic” thing went to another level. Fact is they have the money and now the event for 30+ years and some of the biggest crowds in the world. It’s deemed a very successful event and living in the past if relying on ADL hosting it for the first 5-10 years (or whatever it was) when it first came to Oz.

Boxing Day test > ADL oval test to anyone who is objectively independent I would think. ADL test doesn’t even have a set date each year and doesn’t always have the “premium test series” if 2 series of 3 games each. Have you been to Boxing Day of The Ashes with 80-90k plus others? Incredible next level experience.

I won’t list all MLB festivals but it’s a crapload more than ADL despite the ones you mentioned being exceptional events. I went to many shows at fringe this year (Tom Gleeson, some Irish magician who was amazing).

ADL probably DOES punch above its weight. I am not denying that, but with its weight being only 25% of MLB it still doesn’t win

Ps GF day
Spring Carnival
Aust Open tennis = exceptional event
Etc etc
No but I’ve been to the G many times (including the 98 grandfinal), the only thing it’s got going for it is numbers.
I’ll listen to people that commentate or play and the majority I’ve heard prefer adelaide oval for cricket, including the incredibly Vic biased Gerard Whately.

No but I’ve been to the G many times (including the 98 grandfinal), the only thing it’s got going for it is numbers.
I’ll listen to people that commentate or play and the majority I’ve heard prefer adelaide oval for cricket, including the incredibly Vic biased Gerard Whately.
Nah .. I go over to the G occasionally and I'm fortunate to have a few friends with MCC memberships

The hospitality options and gameday experience eclipse anything on offer at AO

Nah .. I go over to the G occasionally and I'm fortunate to have a few friends with MCC memberships

For cricket AO vs MCG, I’m purely going off what I’ve heard players and or commentators have said what they prefer.

Yes but there's also other issues in this case but its not footy so I'm not going to get into it.
Correct on your comment

Adelaidians have been brainwashed successfully over decades ....clawing to obtain some recognition from interstate

Don't get me wrong, I loved my time in Adelaide ...half my life, and enjoy the quiter lifestyle when I come back ....but when an extension to the Adelaide Airport is a major news story, it just demonstrates the small town status

We have multiple 30 billion developments on the go ....and you don't hear anything about it in the main .....that's just reflective of a different mindset in Melb

The point of this off-topic chat, is why it's hard to attract players ....and don't think I'm insulting Crows supporters ...there's a massive amount of SA people that have moved interstate for business & support the Crows

For cricket AO vs MCG, I’m purely going off what I’ve heard players and or commentators have said what they prefer.
Hang on .. did you just swap sports to compare venues? :D

And compare player / media experience to the punter?

Imo, Adelaide Oval test experience is much better & also better viewing ground. Spoken to many who have travelled all over the world & many keep coming back to Adelaide Oval as one of their favourite grounds worldwide.

Don't get me wrong, nothing like the sound of 100K at the MCG, but otherwise Adelaide Oval far better experience imo.

Correct on your comment

Adelaidians have been brainwashed successfully over decades ....clawing to obtain some recognition from interstate

Don't get me wrong, I loved my time in Adelaide ...half my life, and enjoy the quiter lifestyle when I come back ....but when an extension to the Adelaide Airport is a major news story, it just demonstrates the small town status

We have multiple 30 billion developments on the go ....and you don't hear anything about it in the main .....that's just reflective of a different mindset in Melb

The point of this off-topic chat, is why it's hard to attract players ....and don't think I'm insulting Crows supporters ...there's a massive amount of SA people that have moved interstate for business & support the Crows
Have you wondered why Victoria has a higher proportion of debt than other states?

Yeah, your government has been awesome with all their developments, then cancelling many making unnecessary payouts.

Cancelling the Commonwealth games after winning the bid is embarrassing.

Give me either our current ALP government or previous Liberal government... compared to the ALP clowns running Victoria any day. You deserve them lol.

I'm sure Mutineer wouldn't hold yout views WW

Correct on your comment

You going to explain your culture comment?

Do you really want him too...

He wouldn't even understand what culture is.

Also, Adelaide is WW free...

Mr Riggs Montepulciano tonight...

Organised a Langmeil tasting last night which was awesome. Great wines & James Lindner a great presenter.
I used to play basketball against Ben Riggs. He was sly with the elbows

Correct on your comment

Yes its hard to attract players I agree with that. Quicker it all goes to zones/academies and lose the draft the better. Solves so many issues but alas probably never happen

I just wanted to see the excuses flow.
More?
That's all he does!
He has no substance to his posting.
He is all waffle!

Yes its hard to attract players I agree with that. Quicker it all goes to zones/academies and lose the draft the better. Solves so many issues but alas probably never happen
These sort of underhanded deals are what I get upset about .....I mean, how uneven does the AFL want the competition to be ?

July 2024
Caroline Wilson has declared the AFL teams who currently have academy zones across the Northern Territory, will have a "bomb" dropped on them, after it was revealed that North Melbourne are ready to take over.

9News Melbourne chief football reporter Tom Morris revealed that North Melbourne is preparing to raid the Northern Territory to receive first pick on all their pathway players coming through the ranks.

It comes as the league continue their talent pathway reviews, which sees them looking to revamp father/son rules, as well as academy rules.