Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
He was a while ago, but doesn’t mean he still is. If he wasn’t getting a spot there, fair chance he is looking at other options.DGB is training with Carlton so no.
Any idea what injury he was dealing with?Walsh has had a very limited pre season
No chance for a debut early on
Was an article like yesterday. Unless its snuck under somehow. Doubt it.He was a while ago, but doesn’t mean he still is. If he wasn’t getting a spot there, fair chance he is looking at other options.
GoutAny idea what injury he was dealing with?
Whilst I agree with you, if he had moved to Port for a list spot, I suspect the media would be all over it.He was a while ago, but doesn’t mean he still is. If he wasn’t getting a spot there, fair chance he is looking at other options.
Nah sorry just at the trainings I went to he was doing intense running not with the main groupAny idea what injury he was dealing with?
Gday guys, just joined bigfooty but it looks like the place to be to keep informed about the Power boys.
I've been searching everywhere for training reports or hints about what to expect from this season (look fantastic all year then get smashed in the prelim and walk home swearing I'll never go to another game?) please not again!
Anyway, I took myself down to Alberton after work wednesday morning and caught a bit of the action, so I thought I'd write what I saw.
So the boys were being put through a match sim (Teal vs Black) but without any midfield stuff like centre bounces, ruck contests, etc. After each stoppage the coaches would kick the ball to a fullback or winger and the defending team would try to goal at the other end. Not sure if there was a full 36 players on field but at least 30.
Backline:
Zerk-Thatcher was taking most of the kick-ins, moving well and making strong decisions. He took some great intercepts and seems to be reading the play well.
Ratugolea was back pocket with him and looks huge and ripped, but less decisive and not as effective with his kicks. Farrel was out on a half-back flank and his powerful left leg was long and accurate as usual.
Hamish Hartlett managed to swap out his grey coach’s polo and had a run with the boys, he looks ripped and he unleashed a few of his massive signature kicks down the wing to good effect.
Jase Burgoyne perfectly timed his jump to beat a whole pack and make a great spoil, covering heaps of ground, he’s looking more physically solid and very settled in his role.
Burton had a few good kicks.
Forwards:
Powell-Pep kicked a couple of goals and was moving with full confidence after his knee op and looked agile, fast and strong. Not shying away from contact and taking on defenders.
DBJ looks sharp and had one solid goal and is moving well.
The Hornet went in for a bunch of hard-ball gets, getting in and under quickly and handing it off fast, moving through traffic really well. Suggesting maybe more of the forward/inside mid role.
Finlayson was looking agile and energetic, moving fast, made a great chase to pressure his player into an error, his kicks on goal were pretty accurate.
Ollie Lord had a bit of the ball, looks more comfortable with his size this year.
Jack Whitlock #17 found the ball several times and is using it well. He’s agile for a tall.
Tom Cochrane #37 was training hard, while he couldn’t always get his hands on it he was never far from the action and backs himself to go for goals.
Georgiades was moving well, I didn’t see him get it much but he was kicking towards the opposite goals and I had poor visibility of that end so don’t make anything of that.
Lukosius was on the ground and kicking well.
Mids and wings:
Rozee seemed to have his own ball, not from receiving passes but winning his own ball, sprinting to contests and making spoils or winning marks. He’s definitely setting the standard of effort at training.
Young Joe Richards #35 looks very promising, he had a bunch of the ball and used it well, he covered heaps of ground and often got himself in the right place. Moving fast and looking hungry. Most of the young fellas were running hard and competing, but few got to the contests or were decisive with their possessions, Richards was a stand out in getting possessions and using them well.
Wines and Butters both look solid and had some touches through the midfield. Butters hasn’t lost his compass, every time he got the ball he B-lined straight forward and took on the game, moving easily through traffic and disrupting the defense.
Hugh Jackson #39 seemed to be able to find the ball well.
Both Sweet and Soldo were on-field but without the rucking contests they were just going for big contested marks or spoils.
Jackson Mead found a bit of the ball, moving super quick and looking very decisive compared to other younger players.
Notable absences: (most players had caps or floppy hats so I might’ve just missed them)
Drew, Aliir, Boak, Bergman maybe?, Marshall (Achilles).
I hope that was helpful, I can't seem to find any training reports anywhere on here so if you can point me towards them I'd really appreciate it. I was giddy like a schoolboy seeing the boys on field again, I'm pretty keen to get to another training and drag my Dad along too. I reckon we've got a great side this year.
So would you say Hamish Hartlett is training the house down? (In b4 GPFeel)Gday guys, just joined bigfooty but it looks like the place to be to keep informed about the Power boys.
I've been searching everywhere for training reports or hints about what to expect from this season (look fantastic all year then get smashed in the prelim and walk home swearing I'll never go to another game?) please not again!
Anyway, I took myself down to Alberton after work wednesday morning and caught a bit of the action, so I thought I'd write what I saw.
So the boys were being put through a match sim (Teal vs Black) but without any midfield stuff like centre bounces, ruck contests, etc. After each stoppage the coaches would kick the ball to a fullback or winger and the defending team would try to goal at the other end. Not sure if there was a full 36 players on field but at least 30.
Backline:
Zerk-Thatcher was taking most of the kick-ins, moving well and making strong decisions. He took some great intercepts and seems to be reading the play well.
Ratugolea was back pocket with him and looks huge and ripped, but less decisive and not as effective with his kicks. Farrel was out on a half-back flank and his powerful left leg was long and accurate as usual.
Hamish Hartlett managed to swap out his grey coach’s polo and had a run with the boys, he looks ripped and he unleashed a few of his massive signature kicks down the wing to good effect.
Jase Burgoyne perfectly timed his jump to beat a whole pack and make a great spoil, covering heaps of ground, he’s looking more physically solid and very settled in his role.
Forwards:
Powell-Pep kicked a couple of goals and was moving with full confidence after his knee op and looked agile, fast and strong. Not shying away from contact and taking on defenders.
The Hornet went in for a bunch of hard-ball gets, getting in and under quickly and handing it off fast, moving through traffic really well. Suggesting maybe more of the forward/inside mid role.
Finlayson was looking agile and energetic, moving fast, made a great chase to pressure his player into an error, his kicks on goal were pretty accurate.
Ollie Lord had a bit of the ball, looks more comfortable with his size this year.
Jack Whitlock #17 found the ball several times and is using it well. He’s agile for a tall.
Tom Cochrane #37 was training hard, while he couldn’t always get his hands on it he was never far from the action and backs himself to go for goals.
Georgiades was moving well, I didn’t see him get it much but he was kicking towards the opposite goals and I had poor visibility of that end so don’t make anything of that.
Mids and wings:
Rozee seemed to have his own ball, not from receiving passes but winning his own ball, sprinting to contests and making spoils or winning marks. He’s definitely setting the standard of effort at training.
Young Joe Richards #35 looks very promising, he had a bunch of the ball and used it well, he covered heaps of ground and often got himself in the right place. Moving fast and looking hungry. Most of the young fellas were running hard and competing, but few got to the contests or were decisive with their possessions, Richards was a stand out in getting possessions and using them well.
Wines and Butters both look solid and had some touches through the midfield. Butters hasn’t lost his compass, every time he got the ball he B-lined straight forward and took on the game, moving easily through traffic and disrupting the defense.
Both Sweet and Soldo were on-field but without the rucking contests they were just going for big contested marks or spoils.
Jackson Mead found a bit of the ball, moving super quick and looking very decisive compared to other younger players.
Notable absences: (most players had caps or floppy hats so I might’ve just missed them)
I hope that was helpful, I can't seem to find any training reports anywhere on here so if you can point me towards them I'd really appreciate it. I was giddy like a schoolboy seeing the boys on field again, I'm pretty keen to get to another training and drag my Dad along too. I reckon we've got a great side this year.
Actually a few whispers doing the rounds that he might have done a hamstring. Always happens this time of year with him. Such a shame. He got most of the pre-season in but I think we need to wait and see if the club play him in the midfield. They might be concerned about his durability.So would you say Hamish Hartlett is training the house down? (In b4 GPFeel)
haha he's trying. I reckon he's gotta still be playing at a local club somewhereSo would you say Hamish Hartlett is training the house down? (In b4 GPFeel)
Houston was a distributor & a brilliant one at that. We saw what happened against the Swans without him in this role. Farrell can obviously play the role but his kicking is nowhere near as consistent as Houstons. Houston was a clever player, don't think we have anyone who matches him although Logan Evans displays great football smarts.We had Dixon and Mcentee playing plenty last year and no SPP. If they select correctly we should still be pretty good.
Bzt going down will be an early test though. Missing Houston I dont think is even a big deal at all. He was just a reciever.
Lol the more I think about how many games Dixon played when he couldnt even walk. So ****ing dumb.
Didn't catch his injury then I take it?Backline:
Agree we have all the talent we need to be very successful. We just don't have the required mentality & we all know why.I can only think of three teams with maybe more X factor and another two with equal X factor to us. We also have far more room for growth than most of the teams that were in the top eight last year and just behind Fremantle.
Our Forward line is going to be twice as dangerous as last year with the inclusion of Luko, SPP, Richards, Berry, Lord and more than half a season of Rioli here's hoping anyway.
Our backline has a huge amount of natural improvement with Jones and Sinn taking their development seriously this off season, along with Evans and Bergman improving.
I'm excited to see Burgoynes improvement on the wing . The Horny One and Mitchy G can elevate themselves to AA level and Conner can get back there after a down year last season. Butters doesn't have heaps of room for growth but my god if he grows I'll grow.
Us not making the eight will be a huge disappointment based on talent.
We can dream that Carr has taken over and come up with a new game plan that isn't so easily dismantled in finals. We can also hope that the talent reaches boiling point like with Brisbane last year, god knows Fagan isn't a tactical genius.Agree we have all the talent we need to be very successful. We just don't have the required mentality & we all know why.
Thanks for the detailed report. Much appreciated. Great to hear your comments on Richards. We really need him to be an effective forward & link player for us.Gday guys, just joined bigfooty but it looks like the place to be to keep informed about the Power boys.
Backline:
Forwards:
Mids and wings:
We can dream that Carr has taken over and come up with a new game plan that isn't so easily dismantled in finals. We can also hope that the talent reaches boiling point like with Brisbane last year, god knows Fagan isn't a tactical genius.
The noise from the club unfortunately is fast ball movement lots of quick hands and lots of HHF running like Collingwood from 2023, which I don't think is the smart play with our list. I would be implementing slow methodical movement out of the backline, with long switching trying to free up our better ball movers. I don't trust Sinn, Boak, Bergman and Burgoyne to move the ball fast and would prefer to not have them involved in any risky plays.Dixon’s retirement forces a change to our extremely predictable Plan A. Probably the best thing to happen this off season outside of trading in Luko (who has very different strengths).
I really hope Mead can find an attribute to make him an AFL standard player. I cannot think of anything he actually does well.
Gday guys, just joined bigfooty but it looks like the place to be to keep informed about the Power boys.
Backline:
Forwards:
Mids and wings: