Hot Topic Michael Voss - Coaching in 2026. Should he remain beyond that?

Luke Hodge raised the concerns about our ball use a couple years back... I know its been blatantly obvious to most of us anyway, but tend to think we need to bring in someone like him who won't be afraid to tell it like it is...

Voss clearly has peeled back on this front. Last year when we lost to Geelong who were top of the ladder and undefeated at the time Voss said that performance was unacceptable...

So if that was unacceptable what the hell is going on to start the season?

It's tail between the legs stuff...

I reckon he’s got beef with the List Management team.

They refused to get Houston (who he desperately wanted) and traded away handy depth.

Now his message is very much sounding like ‘yep, we’re middle of the road’. A bit of a tantrum for not getting his way, but also has grounds for annoyance because, well, his team got worse.

Hawthorn beat Carlton yesterday by outrunning the outside players at Carlton - their kicking game was totally nullified by good coaching and prep.

Carlton LOST the game yesterday because senior players dropped marks and missed goals- these are the facts.

It is a middling list which means sometimes good stuff is strung together and is good enough to get a win by a few goals or less and sometimes crap happens and you lose games by a few goals.

Judged against better opposition: Cottrell Fogarty Williams and Motlop dont even get a game in firsts now add Docherty, Young and Haynes to that list.

It is a scrubby list with too many players that you cant count on in a clinch - liek McGovern and Harry McKay

On top of which you have unfit Charlie and a half broken Walsh as cherries on top.

Vos's total game style is built around a few players he can trust to perform and fingers crossed the rest arent having a collective bad day ( as in Richmond) or arent beaten easy due to their limitations ( liek Hawthorn did yesterday).

Embrace reality mate - it makes it more fun and interesting.
Not disagreeing with your points at all. I'm more against the lamenting of no skill and no good kicking etc. Like we have collective memory loss. We've got elite kicks... Who through injury/ whatever other reason.... Aren't elite kicks anymore.

I see the list as capable of a bit better than the last 12 games. There's the reality.... Even if we are middling... The last 12 weeks is wooden spoon territory. Which we shouldn't be.

And it's just dour boring as balls football

What is the next great system? Thats the thing we have to work out.

After the Clarkson dynasty his former assistants (Bevo, Hardwick, Simpson) won the next five flags.
Now we’re seeing former Hardwick assistants (Macrae, Kingsley) doing well.
So who is the next game changer. Is it Mitchell at Hawthorn and is there someone who has learnt from him long enough to implement his style somewhere else? Too early to tell. Someone that has been learning under Longmire or Chris Scott and is ready to take a team forward in their own.

I don’t believe our system holds up often enough. Too easy for coaches to pick an area of the ground to outnumber us and force turnovers.
The great systems aren't anything except whatever the list is best at when the majority is in their prime...

For Richmond, hawthorn, Geelong etc that's been different. Their lists have been constructed differently. Most teams who've clambored to copy them. Haven't succeeded. Which is no surprise. Youre not finding the superstars that make those systems work easily.

We've got superstars. We either haven't recruited to make the system around them work or we haven't built a real system to maximise what we have. It's probably an even split of both.

There is no revolution. It's the same as it's always been. Within the current rules what are my players best at

This club has been a shitshow ever since Greg Swann left, and even then the tail end of his tenure was a debacle.

Long overdue for a massive football department clean out.

I wouldn’t keep any of them - Austin, Lloyd, Voss, every single assistant coach. Even the new high performance guy can go given we seemingly still can’t run out games.

And Cook can walk too - done absolutely nothing noteworthy since joining.

Why stop there? The water boy can walk too. What’s he ever done? Players still losing energy. And the receptionist - gone! Let’s not forget about the club cleaner. He’s not doing his job properly as there’s still so much trash at the club. 😂 Who else should go?

"Some of the contest stuff was unbelievable".

This guy is actually cooked.

Half our issue is we are cooked because the master plan is absolutely exhausting. Everything is hard and a slog.

Clueless and delusional.

The fact that Vossy identifies that the ball movement was a positive and threw out the old chestnut that it was a bit of contested stuff that was the issue.

“You are too close Vossy, you can’t see the forest for the trees mate”

The fact that Vossy identifies that the ball movement was a positive and threw out the old chestnut that it was a bit of contested stuff that was the issue.

When you see Acres laughing you know the players are done.

They refused to get Houston (who he desperately wanted) and traded away handy depth.

Now his message is very much sounding like ‘yep, we’re middle of the road’. A bit of a tantrum for not getting his way, but also has grounds for annoyance because, well, his team got worse.

Possibly. Although, I don't see how having Houston in the side would improve us much anyway...

If he’s having a sook and isn’t aligned with the strategic plan of the footy department, he will be gone a lot sooner than I thought

Houston's age profile would result in our list falling off a cliff. Let's see jagga v houston in 2 yrs

Hawthorn beat Carlton yesterday by outrunning the outside players at Carlton - their kicking game was totally nullified by good coaching and prep.

Carlton LOST the game yesterday because senior players dropped marks and missed goals- these are the facts.

It is a middling list which means sometimes good stuff is strung together and is good enough to get a win by a few goals or less and sometimes crap happens and you lose games by a few goals.

Judged against better opposition: Cottrell Fogarty Williams and Motlop dont even get a game in firsts now add Docherty, Young and Haynes to that list.

It is a scrubby list with too many players that you cant count on in a clinch - liek McGovern and Harry McKay

On top of which you have unfit Charlie and a half broken Walsh as cherries on top.

Vos's total game style is built around a few players he can trust to perform and fingers crossed the rest arent having a collective bad day ( as in Richmond) or arent beaten easy due to their limitations ( liek Hawthorn did yesterday).

Embrace reality mate - it makes it more fun and interesting.
I thought we had the game on our terms the vast majority of the game. As far as shutting down Moore, Day, Sicily... We ticked all those boxes. Selecting that back line imo was a disaster waiting to happen however. Who we were meant to bring in instead? Not sure.

Why stop there? The water boy can walk too. What’s he ever done? Players still losing energy. And the receptionist - gone! Let’s not forget about the club cleaner. He’s not doing his job properly as there’s still so much trash at the club. 😂 Who else should go?

Princes Park is cursed.

We should move the HQ too.

'Scuse me mate, I know you're angry & want blood, but please re-read my post & learn to distinguish the difference between observation & facts with personal opinion.

Nowhere did I state that I was pleased with our results. However, here are some facts.

• Under Voss, we have had 3x respectable seasons.
  • This looks to be the first really poor, underwhelming season.

*whilst i understand as carlton fans we have different definitions of 'respectable', we demand premierships, but the industry looks at it far more logically.

Now, can you point me to the last coach who got the sack after one bad year? Can you point me to a coach that got sacked after making a Prelim 2 years prior? Here, I'll make a list for you - after 2012 when we sacked Ratts:

Mark Neeld - 13th, 12th, 17th
Michael Voss - 15th, 13th, 12th
Guy McKenna - 17th, 14th, 12th
Brendan McCartney - 15th, 15th, 14th
Mick Malthouse - 9th, 13th, 18th
Just Leppitsch - 15th, 17th, 17th
Rodney Eade - 16th, 15th, 15th
Alan Richardson - 11th, 16th, 14th
Brendon Bolton - 16th, 18th, 16th
Brad Scott - 15th, 9th, 17th
Ross Lyon - 14th, 13th, 13th
David Teague - 11th, 13th
David Noble - 17th, 18th, 18th
Brett Ratten - 6th, 10th, 10th - funnily enough, St Kilda sacked him due to them thinking they have a better list than what they were showing - now Lyon wants a rebuild.
Adam Simpson - 17th, 18th, 16th

Is Voss' record similar to any of these guys? I don't see it.

I don't think he's the best coach, but barring a huge fallout, player mutiny or revolt or some other scandal, I can't see them sacking him.
I agree with the numbers. Not sure any of those coaches had a dual brownlow medallist, two Coleman medallists, All Australian full back and gun yoing ruckman in the side though.

Mate no need to jump on the nuffy bandwagon of bagging every hair on Vossy's head. Coaches job is to keep playwers positive and motivated - it was a disapointing loss and a much better effort. Any criticism of specific players is going to happen in the proper debrief on Monday and repeated amongst kine coaches FFS.

SO many poster s on here have clearly never played any competitive sport at any level it is hilarious reading some of this commentary.

Neither the game plan NOR the effort put out by yeh team lost the game - prtetty hard ot win a game against teh form team sans yoru strike weapons in teh forward line FFS

it was a strong effort and should be put in context of who ytiou are playing against not this pitchfork rubbish again.

Hot Topic Michael Voss - Coaching in 2026. Should he remain beyond that?