Autopsy 2025 AFL Round 3: Saints thrash Tigers

1 win from the tricky next 4 is par, 2 would be great: Port away, GWS away, Dogs away, Lions home.
We'll be getting Port (at home) after a week of getting eaten alive by the Adelaide media. They're absolutely beatable right now - but they'll be breathing fire and we don't play AO well.

Dogs are definitely beatable, if we're serious. Lions aren't at their best right now either. Still warming up. GWS are too good, I reckon.

If we can somehow be 2-2, I'd be ecstatic.

We'll be getting Port (at home) after a week of getting eaten alive by the Adelaide media. They're absolutely beatable right now - but they'll be breathing fire and we don't play AO well.

Dogs are definitely beatable, if we're serious. Lions aren't at their best right now either. Still warming up. GWS are too good, I reckon.

If we can somehow be 2-2, I'd be ecstatic.
We’ll beat GWS at Norwood. Bookmark

I’ve been critical of our current and future midfield pretty much every chance I get but one thing I’m liking is the bunch of HF’s we’re putting together. Higgins, Butler, Hall, Collard, Henry and Wilson is an awesome collection. Don’t try and find room for them just play them all. It might sound crazy but I put HF’s almost as high on importance as midfielders these days (case in point: Geelong) because all of the good teams have them and they play a critical role. Collard hit the post but players who can make that type of play is something we’ve desperately needed for years.

Garcia had 7 disposals in the first what? 10 minutes? Super exciting.

Good last couple of weeks but the next four games are brutal. If we split them we’ve done well.
Richmond were winning the clearances when we had Garcia, TT and Macrae in the guts, took Jones going inside to half the clearances then as the game wore on we started to dominate the clearance.
We have some good young potential mids, but have a lot to learn, which is natural with a handful of games only.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I don’t think his push had any effect on his momentum, he still was able to get in position for the ball, but gets wiped out by Lynch. If his momentum changed from that push, he did a great job of masking it

So this is the reason LOC was unsettled and unable to leave the ground, he's just an unco Irishman good to know.

Anywho...
Hammer is already aerial as he sees ball and he has agency to spoil TF outta that ball.
Lynch is actually grounded and being pushed down by Hammer launching from behind, but he is protecting the ball drop.
LOC is coming from the left.
Mansell is behind him.

In one step:
Top 3 are still engaging contest.
Mansell decided: "screw that, I'm going to push for the crumb".

It's less than a second between that decision, and Lynch essentially necking LOC and him folding like an accordion.

So it's not like his momentum changed, it's that he got added acceleration from the push to arrive slightly earlier than expected. That's the physics in play, this is why I asked the question that your SO shoved you in the back whilst you were running to see what option you'd have picked.

Instead, run the test, use a wall for full gameday scenario.

Have a run up to enter into a jog, have your SO behind you, 3 steps from your designated stopping instance, have her push you in the back, little force, but she is using you to arrest her jog. Try not to hit the wall, tell us the result when you plug your nose with gauze.

I was at the game and could not believe there was no free for the LOC incident, and I've just logged in from the lounge in Dubai airport to see that Mansell got 3 seeks for it!!! How is that remotely possible that a guy gets 3 weeks for something that the umpires saw and did not penalise in any way!?

Do you fly in from Dubai every two weeks to watch the footy?

Mansell stiff to get three for the LOC incident.
Sure that action needs to be stamped out, however LOC was going in that direction.

Seen many worse let go. Lalor got a broken jaw, Chito did a shoulder.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
I thought Mansell was unlucky too. Lynch should have got the three weeks.

Do you fly in from Dubai every two weeks to watch the footy?

Haha, no, I had to fly out for work to the UK and USA. The departure was 6am this morning so we went to the game and stayed at Hotel in the CBD, because it saved me a trip from Mornington to Tullamarine.....

Haha, I ask because at one game I was talking to a guy who brought me a beer and said he flew in every second week from Dubai... He told me a few things... closest to and ITK I ever knew.

I was just reading this article and a lot has been made about the Western Bulldogs' injury list. But is their injury list any worse than ours on the weekend?

1743329778353.png

Bontempelli, Weightman, Treloar the only certain starters (maybe Johannisen). Liam Jones played.

We didn't have Steele, King, Phillipou, Howard, Clark, Henry, Stocker on the weekend from our Best 22.

The heartening thing is that all the youth that played yesterday look like they'll have a good future as AFL players. For the last 2 years Ross has been blooding those kids every game and you couldn't really tell if there was gonna be value there at the end of the day. That's not really the case anymore.
What seems evident is that there is a system built around the collective strengths of what we have. None of our lines are A grade at the moment, but we have very good solid contributers everywhere that are able to implement the system and get the job done. We're not the finished article yet, but what we're seeing is a workable model that can get results without needing to be A grade. It can only get better the more they play together (trusting guys like WangMil and Windhager sign on) It's much easier to develop in a clear and good framework where everyone knows their role, and the role of the other players.
We don't look like kamikaze headless chooks anymore running ourselves into the ground and hoping for the best.
It's great to see...and hopefully sustainable.

Have we delisted any of the kids Ross has blooded yet?

(Genuinely can’t remember)

I think he has done a very good job of balancing the blooding of youth and the competitiveness.

What we just need however… is another 2-3 to go from what they are into the Owens or Nas levels.

Caminiti looks an obvious one now that it’s a very simplified ask for him.

Pou is the great white hope.

Travaglia and Tauru could be anything but it’s still very early days as to the limit of what that is.
Think Windhager is building nicely under the radar. Was quietly influential in the Richmond game.

By who?

Mansells push did nothing, O’Connell was going to make that attempt regardless. It’s crazy that the AFL want to ban him for 3 matches for that.
Mansell clearly shoves him into the oncoming players with force.
Deserves suspension, you could argue the penalty but this is happening more frequently in play. Suspend players and they’ll stop doing it.

Reminded me of Jack Steven’s successful snap, which coincidentally also occurred in a Maddie’s Match.

U6zA9fY.gif

Garcia stood up a bit too. 9 tackles and 23 touches, a couple of shots at goal. Would have to be his best game.

Still a long way to go for him but that was a promising game.
Garcia was really impressive. He and Windhager looked good in the centre. A lot to like.

Reminded me of Jack Steven’s successful snap, which coincidentally also occurred in a Maddie’s Match.

U6zA9fY.gif
Sorry they didn’t wear that jumper one last time.
It’s great.

Those wins refer to our upcoming games. PA, GWS, Foots, Bris, Freo, …

before last night, I didn’t see us pinching one of those.

Now, after the euphoria of the big win has settled a tad, (it will still carry me this week), can I see us realistically winning any of those games? It wouldn’t surprise me if we pinched a few, especially if big Max comes back in fine form.

But I have to check myself. Last night there I was gushing about NAS, and fair enough, but realistically

NAS
media and us (me too) are hyping him up to ridiculous levels. We ought to calm down. The media will hype him for the snaowball effect, more speculation, more news, more opportunities to trap him in a lie in car park interviews. Let’s remember he is still raw, and still turning over the ball a lot.

Caminiti
So we all get excited and think we’ve found our new man! Really? Did you see him last night easily get beaten in contests with Lynch? I did. I think he has a long long way to go. Doogs is still ten times the key defender. As a key defender I think Hammer and Cordy are close, right now. Hammer has time on his side.

Hall/Garcia/Hastie
Promising but not bonafide starters in any competitive AFL firsts team yet

Butler
I don’t think he is either.

In summary, we really beat up on Richmond in that second half, and it looked like our boys were just playing with them at times. They literally fell apart. But that won’t happen again, this year, ever, I would guess. We are really up against it in the next five weeks, and looking at the first half last night, we are still a long way off it.
yep Disagree with Caminiti beaten by Lynch a couple of times but held that full back position very well -miles ahead of Cordy and maybe behind Doogs but has found his spot in my opinion

Autopsy 2025 AFL Round 3: Saints thrash Tigers