No Oppo Supporters 2025 AFL General Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Ticky009

Umps should be able to distinguish between n abusive outburst and a heat of the moment f bomb in frustration anyway imo

Let alone if it lines up so that an involuntary tic causes someone to swear at or curse at an ump. Given the tic is involuntary it would be unlucky to even be toward an ump surely?

Just manage the dissent rule correctly and logically and it’s a non issue ( I am not up to speed with Tourettes)
If it's anything like a school, all staff would be briefed on his disability and be well aware of what his ticks look like. Based on that there would be adjustments made allowing for consideration. For example if his ticks present as a verbal exclamation with no physical component such as pointing, then any action that including pointing in the direction of an umpire while swearing would likely be considered intentional.

Looks like Carlton must have the same sports psychologist as us. Cripps said
“Two games don’t define a year.”

After tonight that's 3 games!

Jay Clark is an absolute flog how he’s gone for Ryan MANSELL.. taking the piss thinking he’s purposefully pushed the st kilda player into lynch..

He really is Mansell was only worrying about 1 opponent , he wasn't to know where others were and not like he pushed him in the back towards a pack

Just a small note but on what planet is it a good idea to have Carl-Collingwood on Thursday night? Surely that is a Friday night game. The AFL and this silly pushing of Thursday
Thursday night is a great slot for a big game, what's the issue?

For TV yes, for people going to the game with kids getting to bed etc? Starts too late too to compound this.

Barely get home in time on a Thursday, it makes no sense I just wish Thursdays weren't a thing.
It's a shame we don't have any home Thursday games. Love it. Short walk from work to the ground, you beauty.

Barely get home in time on a Thursday, it makes no sense I just wish Thursdays weren't a thing.

Ratings and crowds seem good?

Not every slot suits every fan and that's ok.

Some wouldn't want a saturday arvo if they work or have sport etc for instance .

Think we need more reason than it just doesn't suit you individually to scrap it.

Im stuck at work Saturday night so that time slot can go suck eggs this week

Exactly.

I've got a relay for life thing Saturday so could make that game shit for me too .

Ratings and crowds seem good?

Not every slot suits every fan and that's ok.

Some wouldn't want a saturday arvo if they work or have sport etc for instance .

Think we need more reason than it just doesn't suit you individually to scrap it.
Yes i have local footy on Sat arvo's so can't watch , but your last sentence summed it up well

For TV yes, for people going to the game with kids getting to bed etc? Starts too late too to compound this.
Those kinds of people don't go to games regardless.

Not that hard to flex a routine by an hour or two once a week for the sake of enjoying life. Wayy too many people uptight about their and their kids routines only to get enough sleep so they can give themselves to work the next day.

Those kinds of people don't go to games regardless.

Not that hard to flex a routine by an hour or two once a week for the sake of enjoying life. Wayy too many people uptight about their and their kids routines only to get enough sleep so they can give themselves to work the next day.

Maybe because I don't live near games, but I would think a random thursday game for you say 9 year old son would be an awesome experience and you just do it and be tired tomorrow, who cares.