Analysis The Rebuilds of West Coast and Richmond and their Future Prospects

Who has the better future prospects?

Read my post Parkes. You didn’t say Reid over any of the top 5 from 24.
You said the top 5 from 23 and the yet to be drafted bunch from 25 would all be picked ahead of any of the 24 bunch.
Based on underage performances, who from the 2024 draft is going ahead of Reid, McKercher, Walter, Duursma, Watson?

Every single one of them had a better draft year than Lalor, let alone those that went after him.

Comprehension not a strong point of yours then?
I've learnt the hard way you can't have a discussion with an Eagles fan on bigfooty.

The cognitive dissonance is off the chart.

Despite the results and facts, they believe the club can do no wrong and is infallible. It's a very weird bubble they inhabit.

Based on underage performances, who from the 2024 draft is going ahead of Reid, McKercher, Walter, Duursma, Watson?

Every single one of them had a better draft year than Lalor, let alone those that went after him.
You’ve called out you would not pick ONE of Lalor, FOS, Smith, Draper and Ashcroft ahead of ANY of Reid, Mckercher, Walter, Duursma (the north variety), Watso, CDT, Duursma (the undrafted variety), Rodriguez, Sharp, Uwland.

Big call Parkes. Especially making it on players you haven’t even seen their senior year of juniors compared to those already playing at the top level.

Looking forward to bumping this post every time one of the top fivers from last years draft has another outstanding game. Or a 2023 top fiver has a sub par performance. Or a potential draftee having a quiet game against inferior opposition.

Gunna be fun.

You’ve called out you would not pick ONE of Lalor, FOS, Smith, Draper and Ashcroft ahead of ANY of Reid, Mckercher, Walter, Duursma (the north variety), Watso, CDT, Duursma (the undrafted variety), Rodriguez, Sharp, Uwland.

Big call Parkes. Especially making it on players you haven’t even seen their senior year of juniors compared to those already playing at the top level.

Looking forward to bumping this post every time one of the top fivers from last years draft has another outstanding game. Or a 2023 top fiver has a sub par performance. Or a potential draftee having a quiet game against inferior opposition.

Gunna be fun.

Unsurprising you've completely missed the point of my post.

What they do after being drafted is irrelevant, I've only talked about how they'd compare to the drafts either side of them, at the time they were drafted.

Nobody knows who'll end up the better player after a few years in the system but it seems you're unable to comprehend my point so I'll just move on.

Tom Gross could end up the best player from the 2023 draft, for all we know. It's not often it's pick 1, after all.

I've learnt the hard way you can't have a discussion with an Eagles fan on bigfooty.

Despite the results and facts, they believe the club can do no wrong and is infallible. It's a very weird bubble they inhabit.
This is the same guy that told me only 3 Richmond players would get a game at the Eagles. Has to be a troll.

And here I was thinking you Richmond supporters didn't think player ratings were worth shit after Naitanui was #1 in the AFL over Dustin Martin a few years ago?

Well I'll be damned.
You make a good point about Langford.
He had a ripper in Round 3.
Reckon he’s shown he’s going to be a 200 gamer. His floor looks a consistent 20+ possie mid. And Ashcrofts game last week was rightly rewarded with a rising star nom. He’s going to be a cracker too being a mainstay in that dominant Brisbane Lions midfield for the next ten years.

How did Fred and Dyson go at Junior level last week? Did they show enough to be confident they will easily be better than these two guys picked at the back end of the top five of last years draft?

You make a good point about Langford.
He had a ripper in Round 3.
Reckon he’s shown he’s going to be a 200 gamer. His floor looks a consistent 20+ possie mid. And Ashcrofts game last week was rightly rewarded with a rising star nom. He’s going to be a cracker too being a mainstay in that dominant Brisbane Lions midfield for the next ten years.

Yep, both look great.

How did Fred and Dyson go at Junior level last week? Did they show enough to be confident they will easily be better than these two guys picked at the back end of the top five of last years draft?

They both played seniors.

Rodriguez started in a back pocket, for some reason, before moving forward late. Quiet game.

Sharp building in his second game for centrals. 10 & 1.2 on debut playing as a forward in a 1pt win, 17 and 3 clearances in a 30pt loss.

Expect both to build into the season when they both move into the midfield. Should be good to see both on Sunday vs Richmond VFL.

You'll get a close look yourself.

You lot all said player ratings were essentially a 'joke' when NN was miles ahead of Dusty a few years ago.

Ironic that you now want to use it as a measure of how good a player is when it suits your case.
Are you sooking about something from like 6 years ago? I never worried about that, if that's what happened.

Anyhoo those player ratings you are referring to are a rolling average over 2 years, the one I quoted was for individual games. But more relevant in this instance when comparing Langford for Lalor 😉

Pretty comparable to Langford's rnd 3 game vs GC, not much fanfare over his game though.
It might be comparable but it's still not as good.
Also Langford is in this years crop.
Taking away Reid who looks generational and maybe McKercher, the crop this year is better than last years.

It might be comparable but it's still not as good.
Also Langford is in this years crop.
Taking away Reid who looks generational and maybe McKercher, the crop this year is better than last years.
No it's not.

It's a lot deeper but the top end doesn't project as good currently.

That may change in the years to come, of course.

I find it hard to have a discussion with a lot opposition supporters some ppl just can't put their bias away sometimes.

Yep, both look great.

They both played seniors.

Rodriguez started in a back pocket, for some reason, before moving forward late. Quiet game.

Sharp building in his second game for centrals. 10 & 1.2 on debut playing as a forward in a 1pt win, 17 and 3 clearances in a 30pt loss.

Expect both to build into the season when they both move into the midfield. Should be good to see both on Sunday vs Richmond VFL.

You'll get a close look yourself.

These boys sure do need to ‘build into the season’

Didn’t step up today unfortunately.

Analysis The Rebuilds of West Coast and Richmond and their Future Prospects