Autopsy 2025 AFL Round 6: A Dog day afternoon

GWS had a terrible showing today as well. Playing in 35 degree heat is never good. Reckon it really shows
So did they. 1 day earlier. Makes no difference. They have access to the best recovery systems in the country.
The only thing that shows is one team turned up to play. The other played for 10 minutes and turned to water

I think we were just unlucky. The umpires cheated 🤣🤣
Seriously, we had no run after ten minutes, and as the fatigue set in the decision making, disposal and effort dropped away.
Steele and Marshall playing injured, Garcia maybe still a bit sick, Henry injured again.
Just a dirty night. Try again next week.
Wilson, a kid, but off his tucker.
Give him a spell. And Steele.
Henry pffft. Could not have been fit either.
Where’s LOC? Give Boxshall a go.
Possibly Boyd. At least he’s physical.
Ari? Jury’s out.

Hill. Jones. Enough is enough.

Basset there tonight. Hope he demands and explanation.
The same guy that extended Rattens contract and then sacked him a few weeks later?

The same guy that signed off on Richo’s extensions?

I agree with some of his recent moves, but let’s not pretend he’s suddenly a shrewd operator in full control. He’s made just as many errors, and should have been shown the door when Ratten was sacked

Good first quarter, no other positives. Sadly we’re still a middle six team this year. Against good midfielders, we’re out of our depth. Can’t go with teams that are quick on the spread. Our transition footy is ordinary because the skills aren’t there in the middle and our forward line is makeshift and inexperienced.

Not many played well, some played very poorly. Hard to see it improving next week but winnable matches after that.

That was as bad and as apathetic a group effort we have shown since Richardson was coaching. We are better than that but the Dogs just toyed with us. What a contrast in captains Jack Steele if you are injured say so and don't put your hand up to play, if not you were terrible.

I said it at the start of the year we have a bottom 4 list, but a very good coaching group. Now with the constant injuries we are starting to mirror the bottom 4 side. We will start to get players back at some stage but really the horse has bolted, you can't expect to start each year missing a dozen players and think you are going to recover. What occurs is it puts pressure on other players who are not right to have to play and the injuries just snow ball.
At the risk of getting screamed down, I’d say that the last time we were that apathetic was the Port Adelaide practice match, which didn’t mean anything. Then maybe round 1 against Adelaide.

Some take aways:

We were woeful in Centre clearances.
We payed too much respect to our opponents.

,Ro toofocus on English, gave away soo many frees.

Macrae was fumbly and was poor against his old team. Proved bevo right tonight. Think he was in his head.

Steele is as poor as I can remember. If he’s not right physically play box or trav and get him right.

We butchered our limited chances and everything went right for them.

Growth is not linear. Feel like we’re persisting with a team that’s too small.
We need elite ball movement. Which we can’t sustain when the pressure lifts.

Think it’s time to play heath. I’m not big Sandy watcher. But he’s a big body and can kick goals.

Other change we should consider:
Box and trav in. Manage steele and rest jones.

Henry was so poor I think he can go back an earn his spot.

What a horrible game, and we waited all weekend for it.

At the risk of getting screamed down, I’d say that the last time we were that apathetic was the Port Adelaide practice match, which didn’t mean anything. Then maybe round 1 against Adelaide.

Adelaide looked like we were trying but beaten. Tonight we looked like a VFL side playing a practice match against a top 4 AFL side.

Twas 2021 we lost by 110.

We’ve been getting ****ing torched in the middle against the Dogs since 2021 and we’re throwing 1.7 to ****ing TDK
I’ll chip in $300k p/y to bring it up to $2m if I never have to watch Ro only look at the oppo ruck, not the ball, lose the tap - and if he’s lucky enough for it to fall at his feet, tumble punt a mung to an oppo flanker’s tit. Had a gutful

LOL! What have you been drinking! If that is the case get it done! Not sure which club is so stupid as to do that…

Matt Kennedy got a second round pick. Steele would get us a third rounder to play as emergency depth in top 8 side. Not sure that there is one other midfield that he'd get a best 22 spot in except the Eagles.

They missed some sitters. Could’ve been a 100+ thumping.

Had a bet with a dogs mate before the game that Darcy won’t kick a goal tonight. lol
Last bit not funny at all , I'm betting you had 5 bucks on it

Autopsy 2025 AFL Round 6: A Dog day afternoon