Autopsy Round 8, 2025: 100 YEARS Centenary match, Hawthorn belt the Tigers

I got abused my praising him..lol by a goose and a few others. I concede I was worried about him coming back but the Goose Club thought it was because it was only Richmond which is BS. He was magnificent and can play with that dash against anyone as getting back to full fitness and confidence. I actually thought was near Best on Ground.
Absolutely I am with you mate.

The scoreboard could have been a goal or two lighter at the Tiggers end, but what a great day for our club to celebrate and get some familiar looking ball movement flowing. We strangled the contest into a hybrid training/practice game-for-points type affair. Richmond all but waved for flag for periods in the last.

So many of our guys either took a step up (Ward, Hustwaite and Chol with his increasingly strong body work); or reinforced why they are so valuable. McGuiness may rotate between being depth or in the 23, but he looks more assured each time he plays. His ceiling is yet to arrive. Gunston performed like a player capable of kicking his 500th goal, and did.

There's still some very rough corners to knock off before Hok ball returns proper and we return to beating the best teams.

But I'd argue that dominating an erratic, rebuilding Richmond was on a check list of steps toward its return. They have risen to us in games for a while, but even with our continuing goal kicking yips, key players out and others struggling for form, we made sure that Richmond were as limp as a wet towel hung in the dunny.

And does it get any more Richmond than their 2 meter ruckman coming into a melee to attack a 2nd year, 170 cm forward pocket? Perhaps the only difference between this current Tigger team and their more dominant era, is that these type of actions were recently tried in court and can't be hidden under the guise of 'winning culture'. As a result Balta sculked around the edges for most of the day, before delivering a couple of crude high tackles as his miserable on and off field worlds began to intertwine. He limped off defeated, like the rest of his teammates.

Big ups to Hardwick and Impey for not forgetting our recent past with the great pretenders too. Both flew the flag to make sure dog acts weren't given a green light to spread. We need 2 or 3 more of their type. Fortunately, Dear will be one.

Good teams win these types of games, and never give the opposition a look in.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi just wanted to say congratulations hope you guys go on and win it this year , was seriously impressed with impeys rebounding today he was very damaging only played 65% game time and gave us a bath Barrass and Battle were also exceptional your backline is the envy of most teams...jaith was very good with his disposal and ran off his man all day

The Tiger "ARMY" yesterday.

View attachment 2305419

and they call us bandwagoners.
Hope Malloy was there, for a half at least.

Has always been the case during my 35 years.

They get turn outs for rivalry games vs Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, but if they're struggling don't get a turn out for any other game.

Great win Hawks! I reckon I’ve finally worked out what’s up with Sis. 🤔 For those who have seen the “Thunderstruck”movie with Kevin Durant, we need to track down every Hawks supporting kid that he signed a ball for between the Giants and Port game!

Barrass looks battle-weary and in need of a rest. Scrimshaw and Amon will fill any holes.
I really like Henry. He is so clean with his hands and makes good choices with the ball. Creates time and space like Pendlebury. Hope he stays in.
A selection suggestion: Max Gawn goes all day and will be a problem. What about adding Reeves to assist Meek and making Max work overtime? Kid has been great at Box Hill and deserves a chance. Drop Morrison or Breust.
But ‘Barrass’ and ‘battle weary’ go together like’Big Boy’ and ‘head bandage’. It’s just his look.

Leaving aside the game and the absolute highlight reel goals from Watto and Weddle - the pre-game stuff today was so bloody well done and I enjoyed every second of it. I know I’ve been critical of Clarko here - but for him to put aside obvious differences and wear the scarf today while still being an oppo coach restored quite a bit of my estimation of the guy. Whoever worked behind the scenes and managed to put egos aside for the good of the club today - take a bow. It was a really great experience and I saw a lot of old blokes with glassy eyes in the stand. There’s a lot of salty little flogs out there twisted with hatred for our great club and it’s because we could do something like we did today and they wish they could. Here’s to the next 100.
Very well said 👏
Would luv to be cryo fzn &  woken* up in 100 yrs to see where our great club is at.

* ⚠️ word may trigger some people.

We love our club 🎶

Watching Barrass and Battle hold Lynch goaless was pure joy.

They may not be Sam Taylor but having a genuine Full Back and Centre Half Back is awesome.

Really happy with the result. As far as I could see no injuries too so that's an unexpected positive
Key points below

. Richmond a worse than I thought. Even when we had patches where we looked average they never looked like making us pay

. Tom Barrass was close to best on ground in the first half and Josh Battle in the second half. They weren't up against much but both look the class above

. Newcombe is an absolute beast and maybe out best player

. Was really impressed by both Maginness and Jiath who came in would be tough to drop either of them for next week

. Josh Ward stepped up and Hustwaite looked clean at times too.

. Sicily still looks pretty average and is in much need of some good form as we know how good he can be

. Absolutely love what Weddle brings. Similar to Blicavs from Geelong you can put him anywhere and he can do an adequate job.

Despite our injuries we have a bit of a selection headache for next week with Amon and Scrimshaw back with the need to get games onto Dear too
On a day where alot of our past players are in attendance, I really found Sicily’s body language questionable as a leader of the club.
You would never see Ben Stratton, Jarryd Roughead, Luke Hodge,Sam Mitchell,Richie Vandenberg or Shane Crawford drop there heads the way Sis did.
I get the feeling this will the last year of his Captaincy.

Leaving aside the game and the absolute highlight reel goals from Watto and Weddle - the pre-game stuff today was so bloody well done and I enjoyed every second of it. I know I’ve been critical of Clarko here - but for him to put aside obvious differences and wear the scarf today while still being an oppo coach restored quite a bit of my estimation of the guy. Whoever worked behind the scenes and managed to put egos aside for the good of the club today - take a bow. It was a really great experience and I saw a lot of old blokes with glassy eyes in the stand. There’s a lot of salty little flogs out there twisted with hatred for our great club and it’s because we could do something like we did today and they wish they could. Here’s to the next 100.

Beautifully said.

Yup. Copped a hit straight to the jacks crackers

Jatz.....Jatz crackers. It's an Australian cracker mate, we gotta get that right. ;)

Negatives: Skills and disposal are nowhere near acceptable at times, and better sides would punish us, I hope we can clean this up quick smart.

Supporters gotta get a little patient.
Everyone seems to think that once we hit the GO button 6 rounds into last season, we are suddenly transformed into the finished article and need to mop the oppo up will gilt laden footy.
We're still looking to find that highest of level game play to sustain for ever longer periods of a game, and just because we can do it at times doesn't mean we can do it ALL the time.......yet.

It's the thing I don't get about supporters. They go from doom to needing to be convinced were no longer in gloom to demanding Narnia in the blink of an eye.

Fellas, enjoy the ride. It may come this season, it may come next. But it WILL come.
So sure, we can all wince while watching a player screw up or standard of play break down, but be more like Sam.
At the end, when you win, smile, hug the fam, have a laugh, keep the mood up, get to work and be positive about the future. Portending more gloom if shit aint perfect is such a painful way to experience your sports.:rainbow:

That first quarter showed exactly why recruiting Barrass and Battle was so important.
Our midfield could’ve gone to sleep, they weren’t letting a single goal through.

The Tigers thrive on momentum and energy... they had their tails up and it broke them.

An incredibly luxury for us to have.

Thought my boy Wardy looked great today. If he can get disposals up to 25+ per week, he'll be one of the best in the league.
Can we share Wardy?
I feel he is my boy also.

I know we played the Tiges but that game showed the depth we have. Ginni, CJ and Finn all have been dropped and responded well. Selection headaches coming. Moore will respond too but has plenty of credits in the bank to stay in the 1s. Went to Box Hill game and watching Mraz up close we have a player, quick, size and skill
What did you think of Shammy and Bodie Ryan’s games?
I watched 3 quarters on my phone and I thought they were my stand outs with Ned Reeves and Mraz.

Hi folks, I've been working all weekend and haven't seen any footy. I have Dylan Moore in almost evcerything and am wondering what happened to him yesterday. Is he injured / out for long?

I got abused my praising him..lol by a goose and a few others. I concede I was worried about him coming back but the Goose Club thought it was because it was only Richmond which is BS. He was magnificent and can play with that dash against anyone as getting back to full fitness and confidence. I actually thought was near Best on Ground.
Yes I gave him my best but you could have picked 6 or 7 out of the hat 🎩 yesterday.
Great to see CJ play to that level!

Was at the game today:

Positives

• Weddle was huge for us.
  • Barass and Battle - once again, just putting in strong shifts week in and week out. Absolutely love these two.
  • Chol and Gunners provided a strong presence with their marking power.
  • Newcombe and Worpel were exceptional in the midfield. I usually think of them more as the in and under type but they were just so clean with their pick ups, hand skills and also foot skills.
  • Watson was ever dangerous in that forward line. Good to see him pushing on from his first season.
  • CJ ran hard all day - he's not as clean a player as Amon or Scrimshaw but love that he will always bust a gut to provide an option for the team.
Negatives

• Sicily still seems to be playing out of form or injured. He wasn't terrible but he's definitely well unders in terms of how good he can be. Hope he can find his best form again soon.
As a kid in the 80s living in Bendigo Id always go down to the QE oval to watch touring international cricket teams train for games against a Vic XI. I remember seeing the West Indies do this and the players Clive Lloyd and Haynes and Grenidge and Garner and co wearing t-shirts that said

Form is temporary
Class is permanent

Sicily is the classiest player on our list. Whatever he is going through now is a blip. He will be even better for it when everything clicks. I think the new great additions down back may have thrown his game off a little and maybe he's not used to the new freedoms and responsibilities he has now that we have lock down defenders. Hopefully it fully clicks in a few weeks and we can start our final campaign with our AA skipper showing is just how brilliant he is again

Autopsy Round 8, 2025: 100 YEARS Centenary match, Hawthorn belt the Tigers