Autopsy Round 9 - St Kilda v Carlton *SPUD'S GAME*

Was at the game - he was sore all right - last quarter he could barely run. Reckon he will be missing for a few weeks.

If, and its a big if, that's the case the selection panel and the medicos need a good ****ing hard look at themselves.
We cannot afford to push these guys into further injury.
If Higgins was crook all week, then it was absolutely stupid to play him.

The guy is playing us for negotiations I wouldn’t count on it he did it last time too
From all reports the best he's going to do by playing us is lose half a million dollars a year for seven years by staying at Carlton.
TDKs manager should be de-registered if he's not a saint next year. And TDK should be sectioned.

He's a gun player, we saw that last night. Maybe you'd be overpaying but the bloke can play.
And the most important bit is he is talent at no draft/trade cost.
Which I know everybody knows but it's like pulling another Wilkie level player out of the state leagues but really hurts Carlton as well. It will be beautiful if it comes to pass.

Cripps didn't dominate the match though did he? I thought they had a pretty good battle.
He had a disposal rating of 42%
Cripps definitely didn't light it up.
Might not have been a Superstar but hell he was far from our worst and didn't seem to give up.

He's a gun player, we saw that last night. Maybe you'd be overpaying but the bloke can play.
"Maybe you'd be overpaying" is an understatement

With King on big money til 2032, and Nas deserving big money with SA teams on his tail, can we even afford $1.7mil?

We'd have 3 players on about $4mil a year. One of them hasn't played consistent footy in 3 years, another's best season has been 7th in Carlton's B&F.

It's madness.

More importantly the only players who could possibly deserve that level of money are absolute top tier legends- prime Ablett, prime Dangerfield, Buddy or Dusty.

The fact we're talking about it for a guy who isn't in Carlton's top 3 or 4 players just frustrates me.

"Maybe you'd be overpaying" is an understatement

With King on big money til 2032, and Nas deserving big money with SA teams on his tail, can we even afford $1.7mil?

We'd have 3 players on about $4mil a year. One of them hasn't played consistent footy in 3 years, another's best season has been 7th in Carlton's B&F.

It's madness.

More importantly the only players who could possibly deserve that level of money are absolute top tier legends- prime Ablett, prime Dangerfield, Buddy or Dusty.

The fact we're talking about it for a guy who isn't in Carlton's top 3 or 4 players just frustrates me.
He's clearly their best player this year though.

I think the thing with the money is it's changing so much and the contracts are all front-loaded or loaded in ways to suit the salary cap so it's never as bad as it seems. Guys that signed big money contracts only two years ago now seem like small contracts.

The Blues issue is their cap is full, they would love to offer TDK the big deal but they can't.

If that happens that at least one of Box or Garcia need to come out of the side, possibly both.
Depending on how Clark goes tonight, it wouldnt surprise me if one becomes the sub and the other goes out.

It's a must win game and we need mids who will touch the ball.

At the moment, he's the league leader in turnovers and he seems hesitant in some contests. We all want him to succeed, but It's fair criticism at the moment.
Have you looked at the other players leading that list?

Here's the top ten:
Wilson
Dawson
Rozee
Viney
Wanganeen-Milera
Sheezel
Roberts
Callaghan
McLuggage
Merrett

At the moment, he's the league leader in turnovers and he seems hesitant in some contests. We all want him to succeed, but It's fair criticism at the moment.
Each to their own I suppose. I personally found it pretty embarrassing. Pretty much every 2nd post in the game day thread was bagging him.

He’s got plenty of stuff to work on but he’s also doing things no one else in the AFL is, and he’s a second year player.

I say get of his back.

Have you looked at the other players leading that list?

Here's the top ten:
Wilson
Dawson
Rozee
Viney
Wanganeen-Milera
Sheezel
Roberts
Callaghan
McLuggage
Merrett
Are you suggesting he is as damaging as they are? On a turnover per possession basis, he'd be miles ahead of all of them.

There was one contested incident that I saw where he was in the primary position to take possession and he squibbed it ... didn't go hard enough ... half-hearted attempt ... stood out like engorged dog balls .... and the Scum took it away ..... wasn't good
and he is a poor kick atm

Very disappointing watch live. Poor skills and what looked like nervous indecision going into the 50.
No one wanted to take the shot - 3rd quarter Hugo marks inside the 50 dead in front and goes sideways outside the 50 eventually Hill got it on the run within range and goes to the pocket where we have no player clear.
Very very hard to watch.
yep agree so much indecision on the 50 in a game like that run to 50n and have a shot

What was the reason for Higgins being subbed off in the 2nd half? I'm assuming it must have been some sort of injury.

I wouldn't go as far as saying that it cost us the game but it didn't help when he has been our no.1 goal scorer this year.

Collard had zero impact when he came on for him as the sub, he didn't even get a stat.

What was the reason for Higgins being subbed off in the 2nd half? I'm assuming it must have been some sort of injury.

I wouldn't go as far as saying that it cost us the game but it didn't help when he has been our no.1 goal scorer this year.

Collard had zero impact when he came on for him as the sub, he didn't even get a stat.
Illness.

Yeah I though that might be the case when he was ill during the week.

That should have given him some Codral tablets so he could soldier on.

That's what I used to take before a game if I was feeling ill but they have pseudoephedrine in them so I think they are banned.

I thought Pou might've put on some more size going into his third season, but it looks like we're running off any gains.

I think we're running into diminishing returns, or possibly negative, with the additional running that we do. We're constantly getting wear and tear injuries and we couldn't even run over the top of a depleted Carlton.

Autopsy Round 9 - St Kilda v Carlton *SPUD'S GAME*