Vale Robert Walls

His passing prompted me to revisit this classic period of play in the 70 Grand Final. He features quite a bit.

It includes a telling mark, a handpass setting up a goal, and a baulk to run into goal.

As I said, he was very mobile and agile for someone of his height (6 foot 4 ish I think).

Remember, he is only 20 here.

250 days of the last two years in hospital. In massive pain near the end. Very sad, and even at 74, that is simply too young.

I will remember his involvement as part of the golden age of footy broadcasting - growing up from the old ch7 days but before it became the stupid mess we have now. I liked his commentary.

Robert Walls' Open Mike interview is probably (and I'm not just saying this in light of his death), my favourite Open Mike interview. He completely changed my mind on him over the space of 30 minutes.

Going in, I didn't really rate his as a commentator, nor as a coach - he seemed to be a bit of a grumpy old dinosaur from a bygone era.

However, his honesty, frankness and openness was completely disarming, as well as his pride in his own achievements (especially at Brisbane and Fitzroy). I've never seen someone on Open Mike ever openly admit that he deserved to get the arse as a coach, or that he was a dirty footballer who owed Peter Knights an apology. And he was dead right about his achievements at Brisbane; the winning percentage wasn't great, but the trajectory was.

That is a brilliant interview.

The concerning thing is that people feel themselves qualified to rationalise other people's experiences with pain and suffering. At what point do you draw the line? Because there has to be one. Where it is acceptable for someone to choose to end their life. Or you take the Beyond Blue/Lifeline approach, that no situation is desperate enough to take one's own life.

You can't have it both ways.

Beyond Blue and Lifeline are focused on mental health, including preventing the particular suicide that manifests as a permanent (non)solution to a temporary problem, when a mentally unwell person is not close their best self. They aim to help people through those times, and hope for something better down the track.

VAD here is clearly a solution to a permanent problem - the only thing that remained for Robert was pain and suffering.

You wanted a line drawn. There it is.

He didn’t though, did he?

Technically, you should be calling the doctor (who administers it) a murderer…

So, the almighty will let him straight in as a poor murdered soul…

So your argument is frankly all over the shop…
Yeah, I watched Mum go through dying of cancer. If your choice is between death, and death with torture, pick death.

That is a brilliant interview.
Isn't it just! I reckon the best interview subjects on that show are ones who've done all three of playing, media, and coaching - and all left the game.

As you said, have to respect that he didn't sugarcoat or apologise for the past. It was a different time. Deal with it.
Yes - and because he didn't deny it, it gave him time to actually reflect on why the violence happened, and the "code" between the players that drove it. Better than just getting someone squirming while remembering that they whacked so-and-so.

Disgraceful thing to say to suggest he has taken the coward's way out. Anyone who has stood by helplessly while a close family member deteriorates from cancer will understand his decision.
As I have done (with Mum), and as he did (with his wife). No doubt his experiences with his wife informed his own choice not to keep going.

Championing VAD laws while the Beyond Blue hotline is a pinned post is quite absurd.
Beyond Blue is about mental health support, to combat issues of depression.

VAD is not about depression. It's about a certain, looming death which is coming for you regardless of what you do about it. It's about a very painful and unpleasant life in the lead-up to that death, especially in the last 6 months.

With VAD, there is no choice which leads to life. Both roads lead to death, and pretty quickly.

I don't think God cares, given He allows things like cancer to exist.
I quite like Stephen Fry's take on if he meets God after he dies:

Bone cancer, in children? How dare you? How dare you create a world to which there is such misery that is not our fault. It's not right, it's utterly, utterly evil. Why should I respect a capricious, mean-minded, stupid God who creates a world that is so full of injustice and pain. That's what I would say.

As I said, he was very mobile and agile for someone of his height (6 foot 4 ish I think).

Remember, he is only 20 here.
I know that people tend to roll their eyes at sports scientists, but it is worth bearing in mind that the Carlton list that day had 8 blokes 21 and under, and only 2 blokes over 30.

The Collingwood team had 7 blokes 21 and under, and nobody over the age of 27.

Footballers just last so much longer now.

Beyond Blue is about mental health support, to combat issues of depression.

VAD is not about depression. It's about a certain, looming death which is coming for you regardless of what you do about it. It's about a very painful and unpleasant life in the lead-up to that death, especially in the last 6 months.

With VAD, there is no choice which leads to life. Both roads lead to death, and pretty quickly.
All roads lead to death, mate.
Some quicker than others.
That's the entire point.

I know that people tend to roll their eyes at sports scientists, but it is worth bearing in mind that the Carlton list that day had 8 blokes 21 and under, and only 2 blokes over 30.

The Collingwood team had 7 blokes 21 and under, and nobody over the age of 27.

Footballers just last so much longer now.
They used to have full time jobs back then too.

If you watch his very early games as a teenager he was as skinny as all f.
Played very well in grand finals.

But he held his own. Tough as nails.

Hated Essendon. But loved Llyody and Hird.

The famous Hird fan hug snap goal at Marvel …hear Walls call the prediction as Hird ran down to the ball up.

1.35 min in..

Massive loss to the football community. He was old school tell it like it was. If you were weak or soft you got put in the boxing ring/ if you were slow you were running endless sprints and so on.

Rob was a no holes barred bloke and played and coached the game the same way.

His approach to the game would be frowned upon now by the snowflakes if he took charge but the world is what it is and if it is for the better or worse that is up for debate.

Condolences to all his family and the AFL world has lost a hard nosed legend that speaks his mind / never takes a backwards step and calls a spade a spade and todays world needs to eat some serious concrete that are full of snowflakes.

Sad news, I wasn't aware he was as ill as he was but it probably explains why he hasn't been heard from much in recent years.

I'm not old enough to remember him as a player but I remember him as a coach who could match it with Sheedy, Malthouse etc.

I liked his commentary work too with his honest, forthright opinions, he was great On The Couch with Healy and Mike Sheahan.

I ran on for Lloyds first hundred and absolutely gave it to Mick martyn, amusing. I was caught on camera and **** me did Walls give it to me on the Monday. " I'll slow this down for you, look at this Essendon supporter backing back into a protected area". Absolute gold from walls, if I knew how to put it up on here I'd do it.
The next best bit was the walls v sheedy on talking footy where Walls absolutely owned sheedy. Owned him. Sheedy thought he could bluff his way out of everything. Completely owned him that night. Owned.
It got boring however with how much he droned on about his hate for Essendon, he was born a Bomber, season ticket holder for his formative years, but then the rich v carl years happened, he coached Fitzroy, rolled us many times, sheedy got a few back, but it was what it was.....
Pure spite.

Can only imagine him having a player like JHF under his wing!

JHF would shit himself and never shit bricks again regarding a routine ice bath.

This is the total opposite of the world we now live in and we need more Robert Walls in the world today not a snowflake society.

Matthew Richardson had his best year goalswise under Wallsy when he was coach in 1996, he kicked 91 goals.

Vale Robert Walls