Autopsy Roast & Toast v Essendon & Changes for GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Top 5 v Essendon

Our youngest fellas mostly went ok I thought. Tried hard did some good things, made mistakes, ran out of legs. To be expected.
It was the blokes that have been in the system for a bit that needed to step up - ralphy, Ryan, maurice, ross
We have a twilight zone in that bracket

I'm surprised by the negativity with how young and inexperienced the side we put out tonight. We're also going to have a fair bit of salary cap to play with at year end.
Yeah to spend on our own ... no one's coming here for a while.

were getting a black and white picture of the players we need to upgrade on asap and the ones with a future, a big part of the development stage. probably only got a half of our next premiership side on the list right now, if that.

Baazzaa sorry to break it to ya mate but we aren't a top shelf side anymore. We gutted the side last year to get draft picks and do a rebuild. Seriously what did you expect this year?
Seems many believe we would win most of our games haha, but the criticism of Yze and the rest of the coaches isn’t warranted. Development people, how many players on tonight’s side have less than 20 games?

So you wouldn’t play him in our team right now?

Pls mate
If hes a walk up then we have injuries

Once Hotton and Clarke and are good to go i don't want to see Hugo as a walk up.

Need to put your head over the ball in an average to lower team and he never will

We ran out of legs and had no experienced fully developed KPFs.

Lynch or Nank in we likely win.

Bombers are very poor (was going to type something a bit saltier)

Of the in's Gray was really good, Ryan OKish, MRJ was good when the ball was near him (which it wasn't, so hard to tell).

When we moved the ball quickly and not in a straight line we looked dangerous. It's more about connection and footy smarts than anything for us to win that.

We have to change up the midfield. For God's sake when MRJ came on and played up high he added some dynamism. That's how non-dynamic our midfield are. Give Sonsie a show in the midfield - can't make it less impactful.

So poor game to watch. But lots of good glimpses. And we have a good future. Banks and Brown bringing the ball out of the backline is going to be fun over the next decade.

Overall meh night.

Anyone think that yeh some of the players in our 22 need to go, but also our gameplan is just terrible? There is no attempt to change the angle of our approach going into forward 50. It’s just commit to one side of the ground and hope for some movement to then sky the ball into forward 50. Don’t feel like we really try to switch the ball and create space for other players to lead in up the ground.

People need to stop going after Yze as well. You can see in patches the players do click and the game plan shows, game like tonight players get tired make turnovers and go into their shell. You can see from Yze’s reaction what was being asked wasn’t being done.
We have shown so much more than many teams at this stage of a rebuild, we do not need to become a Blues, Essendon or North just churning through coaches and get nowhere.
are you happy with his game plan? do you think continually chipping out sideways and kicking it long down the wings every ****ing time we win it down back is working? how's thw forward line set up working? all questions that we as members of this great club have a right to examine objectively.

Playing Trainor as a key forward out of nowhere was one of the dumbest coaching moves of all time. This kid was doing fine up back and had no hope as a forward. He looked so shell shocked on what to do. Not to mention, his inability to know where to run lead him into take a few heavy hits for a guy with a concussion history.

Playing a 10 game Lalor deep forward to fly into packs and contests against key defenders is not far off the Trainor move. And to top it off he got injured after copping a bunch of hits before that.

Blight would've been more than fine up forward and clunked a few marks as a stop gap option this week.
agree our coaches were comprehensively out coached tonight.

Only the true fans kick the team when it’s down 😜

It’s nothing to do with that. It’s just time for people to be realistic. After the Hawthorn game, I had people on here telling me, ‘Oh, don’t worry, we’ll come out and win our next three’. I told them it was complete 🐎 💩 and, self-evidently, that’s the case. We didn’t even come close. We’re not playing well. That’s the long and the short of it.

Thé pleasing thing about this year and the rebuild are the talls that have come in and shown potential.
I rated Smillie last year and reckon there is a lot of upside when both he and Hotton are fit and pushing for selection.

Tnite might’ve been MRJ’s farewell game.
Looked like a gift.
I thought there was a couple of positives…that was probably the least experienced team we’ve put out for nearly ten years.

Didn’t like seeing em play without hope in the last, Yze needs to do anything he can to avoid more of that, that’ll send some kids backwards.