Player Watch #16 Josh Smillie - Updated TBC

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Did We Get The Pick Right?

He made one clanger. He had 89% DE from 9 touches, so only 1 ineffective touch. If you had seen the first three quarters you may know what people are talking about (it wasn't his disposals or disposal count, although they were fine other than that one clanger). He is a second gamer who had no preseason due to injury, had 95% TOG, and was throwing himself at every contest like a man possessed. He was likely pretty stuffed by the time he made that clanger at the end of the game. As a saints supporter, watching him yesterday was the most exciting thing in over a decade.
Not commenting on your actual post, but how tf did you make your way into this conversation? Are you tracking every mention of Tauru, or are you tracking Smils?

Feel very niche that you're here hahah

He made one clanger. He had 89% DE from 9 touches, so only 1 ineffective touch. If you had seen the first three quarters you may know what people are talking about (it wasn't his disposals or disposal count, although they were fine other than that one clanger). He is a second gamer who had no preseason due to injury, had 95% TOG, and was throwing himself at every contest like a man possessed. He was likely pretty stuffed by the time he made that clanger at the end of the game. As a saints supporter, watching him yesterday was the most exciting thing in over a decade.
I'd be excited as well. Actually genuinely happy for you guys as you needed a big draft win.

Smillie back soon and I hope they give him some AFL time. I reckon it'd be great for him to feel the highest level and will add incentive for him into next year.

If he can reach his potential that'd give us 3 potential 3 A grade mids.

That they are conditioning him seems to indicate that the club reckons he needs better fitness to play midfield. Couple of years and no problem. Right here and now I hope that the club is aiming to play him VFL, then AFL. Don't care about our alternative draftees.

Thanks for your contribution to the Josh Smillie thread on the Richmond board.

We do not need defenders
Have you seen our defence?

Broad and Vlaustin are a year or 2 off retiring. Gibcus has missed 3 years of footy. Balta doesn't know who he is playing on half the time and Miller is the softest key defender in the comp. Brown and Banks are our only future defenders showing anything. We need Tauru more than he needs us

So he should play a full VFL game when he comes back right? Because he's not coming back from injury, just a training block to get fit, so surely he'll be able to play the whole match, otherwise it would point to him still not being fit

Broad and Vlaustin are a year or 2 off retiring. Gibcus has missed 3 years of footy. Balta doesn't know who he is playing on half the time and Miller is the softest key defender in the comp. Brown and Banks are our only future defenders showing anything. We need Tauru more than he needs us
Christ, Miller gives me the shits

Can’t believe posters are froffing over a kid who punched the ball 14 times. 14 marks would get me excited but 14 spoils?
thought he was meant to be some high-flying aerialist not a rampant ball puncher. will pay attention when he starts delivering on what got him drafted instead of being grouse at spoiling.

Smillie back soon and I hope they give him some AFL time. I reckon it'd be great for him to feel the highest level and will add incentive for him into next year.

If he can reach his potential that'd give us 3 potential 3 A grade mids.

That they are conditioning him seems to indicate that the club reckons he needs better fitness to play midfield. Couple of years and no problem. Right here and now I hope that the club is aiming to play him VFL, then AFL. Don't care about our alternative draftees.
Holding him back for rising star next year

Can’t believe posters are froffing over a kid who punched the ball 14 times. 14 marks would get me excited but 14 spoils?
Young players from other clubs are allowed to be good. It's okay.

No saying they’re not. It’s a shot at certain poster who continues to jam this kid down our throat at the expense of the kid we’ve got on our list. It’s tiring reading his crap over and over

Looks like the RFC is not for you

Just support the premiers every year :thumbsu:

Not commenting on your actual post, but how tf did you make your way into this conversation? Are you tracking every mention of Tauru, or are you tracking Smils?

Feel very niche that you're here hahah
Yeah, it is a weird place to find me. I just searched posts for Tauru and scrolled down looking for threads that weren't from the Saints board, as I was keen to see what neutrals thought of his game.

No saying they’re not. It’s a shot at certain poster who continues to jam this kid down our throat at the expense of the kid we’ve got on our list. It’s tiring reading his crap over and over
That's fair but I can't begrudge that certain poster for preferring Tauru.
It didn't make sense list balance wise in my opinion but it is what it is.
I'm sure they'll secretly be happy when Smillie starts to find his feet (not that they'll ever admit that though).

Yeah, it is a weird place to find me. I just searched posts for Tauru and scrolled down looking for threads that weren't from the Saints board, as I was keen to see what neutrals thought of his game.
Welcome, have a coffee and stay a while. I'd suggest Tauru will continue to be a consistent thread in this thread. Would love your third party views on Smillie when he starts playing in the AFL side too

Just ignore the flog. We can all go back to discussing Smillie and be happy.

But you pinned Tauru as the next buddy. You’re saying he’s a defender now?

Have you seen our midfield?