Review Starlight, Star Bright, We Beat The Saints

Personal highlight:

After the final siren, I was a few metres away from Kevin Parker and he noticed that I had recognised him (he has shorter hair now).

I gave him a thumbs up, shouted “thank you” and followed with some “we’re not worthy” bows. He was gracious enough to smile and laugh.

I usually don’t like to bother celebrities, but I was genuinely thrilled to share the encounter with him. He’s one of my music heroes - just the night before I was up to the early hours listening to and luxuriating over Lonerism.

And Clarky gave his signed footy to Peach ❤️ The other Tame Impala boys were there too. Someone’s had a recent arrival.
Should’ve asked him to put his Freo song on Spotify

The game by the Saints blond haired kid was the best I've ever seen from a second gamer. Crazy amount of raw talent there.
Didn’t even know was his second game.
He was bloody everywhere. Just natural instinct and knew where to go.

Has a lot of Trevor Barker about him

Good to see that Shai and Voss DON’T have a date with the tribunal regarding their tackling early in the 3rd quarter.

On another note, that blonde haired Saints kid will have to find another party trick when the (V)AFL change the rules and call deliberate OOB on spoiling as well. Maybe he could try marking it occasionally, he's certainly capable of it.

Good to see that Shai and Voss DON’T have a date with the tribunal regarding their tackling early in the 3rd quarter.

On another note, that blonde haired Saints kid will have to find another party trick when the (V)AFL change the rules and call deliberate OOB on spoiling as well. Maybe he could try marking it occasionally, he's certainly capable of it.
If he takes even half of the balls he flies for, I reckon he will be the best defender in the comp by the end of the year.

Another gritty and maturing win! Rewatched the last quarter just to relive a few of the best moments. Some great highlights & fave moments:
  • Jackson & Darcy playing to and for each other. A lot has been said about Jackson's big marks in the final quarter but I think Darcy's diving mark was just as impressive for such a big guy.
  • Dudley has the same brand of "it" that Murphy Reid does. He had some very big moments in the final quarter, he knows how to tackle people twice his size, he knows how when to pick the ball up or put his arms out to draw a free. He can kick a goal in a high pressure game and doesn't need a heap of touches to make an impact.
  • Banners haters look away - he has been a great small defender, all that corralling as a pressure forward has turned him into a decent defensive option. He had a few big spoils and tackles and began a number of freo's attacking chains from D50. He has also stepped up his leadership and is directing less experienced players on field.
  • Karl will be a worthy winner of the Ethan Hughes medal aka De Boer medal aka a thing I just made up that should definitely be introduced
  • Welcome back Darcy, I've missed ya mate.
  • I have been a regular member of the "Underwhelmed by Erasmus" Club. His last quarter was great, big hard tackles, some very tidy inside 50s. He has shown us his mentality when he signed on and said he wanted to fight his way on to the team, that's the type of people we want. We want the Karls, the Wagners, the Neils, the NODdys, the Baileys of the AFL to fight their way into the team. On effort, on grit & on merit. Consider me Whelmed!
  • Freddy is producing some brave & critical efforts in the dying stages of games
Six wins in a row! This is our 4th biggest win streak in history. I know there's still many rounds to play out but this is a team that's really beginning to have belief. And you know what? I'm starting to believe too. As our man Brayshaw would say strap yourselves in!! We are in for one hell of a ride.

Really need Johnson or Erasmus to take the next step and become a key cog in our midfield. Every game that we have lost or struggled has primarily been due to oppo coaches shutting down the effectiveness of the Serong-Brayshaw duo. Shut them down or limit their effectiveness and you're a very good chance to beat us as we have little midfield depth outside of those two.

With Fyfe basically out to pasture and Young on the sidelines Serong/Brayshaw are lifting an even bigger load this year compared to last. Hopefully Reid becomes a vital fourth cog next year with Serong, Brayshaw and Young, but for now its almost the weakest part of our team with Young out.

Really need Johnson or Erasmus to take the next step and become a key cog in our midfield. Every game that we have lost or struggled has primarily been due to oppo coaches shutting down the effectiveness of the Serong-Brayshaw duo. Shut them down or limit their effectiveness and you're a very good chance to beat us as we have little midfield depth outside of those two.

With Fyfe basically out to pasture and Young on the sidelines Serong/Brayshaw are lifting an even bigger load this year compared to last. Hopefully Reid becomes a vital fourth cog next year with Serong, Brayshaw and Young, but for now its almost the weakest part of our team with Young out.
Just never know if you don’t back them. NOD can come inside and do some damage too.

As shown in the last quarter.. where he had about a third of his disposals all game and three score involvements.

Pretty sure it came down largely to numbers. They swarmed extras into the centre bounces as soon as the ball was in play and they often had +1 or +2 at the main play stoppages. Virtually no other team does it, so our boys have very limited experience in knowing how to deal with it.
It's just typical Ross. Other teams play to win. Ross tries to make you lose.
Plus they played inside our mids and had heaps of outlets for handball. Our tackles and chase in there didn't matter or happen in time.

When Walker is back I would love to see Karl Worner get a run as an inside mid rotation or wing.

He has a good tank and is as hard and brave as they come.

Gets knocked around but just keeps presenting and makes his possessions count.

When the crowd booed Ross, I just don't understand why. Literally our greatest ever coach.

Pav in the media is sh*t, that I get
Probably worth remembering how Ross Lyon left compared to the players that left us. He didn’t want to leave at the time - we sacked him.

I booed Liam Henry all night. He’s a FIGJAM who thought he was too good for the club that gave him everything from his early teens.

When people booed Ross Lyon I stayed quiet.

As for Ross Lyon’s game style, the game would be way worse off if everyone coached the same way IMO.

Unpopular opinion but I just don't think their ceiling is as high as Serong/Brayshaw. This is their fourth year on the list. In Serong/Brayshaw's fourth year they were in the top 3 Best and Fairest.
I think the ceiling for Erasmus is probably someone like Troy Cook. (Just become a really tough contested beast) and the ceiling for Johnson is probably someone like Tom Rockliff - accumulates possessions without ever being tagged.
Don't get me wrong, both of these players were very good players in their prime, but not stars of the competition. Serong and Brayshaw can make All Australian teams. They are on a different level.
I don't think opposition coaches will ever tag Erasmus and Johnson, but could be wrong.

Unpopular opinion but I just don't think their ceiling is as high as Serong/Brayshaw. This is their fourth year on the list. In Serong/Brayshaw's fourth year they were in the top 3 Best and Fairest.
I think the ceiling for Erasmus is probably someone like Troy Cook. (Just become a really tough contested beast) and the ceiling for Johnson is probably someone like Tom Rockliff - accumulates possessions without ever being tagged.
Don't get me wrong, both of these players were very good players in their prime, but not stars of the competition. Serong and Brayshaw can make All Australian teams. They are on a different level.
I don't think opposition coaches will ever tag Erasmus and Johnson, but could be wrong.

I feel like you’ve got them back to front, Erasmus is Rockcliff / Dunkley/ J.Steele, you’ll never die wondering whether he committed to a contested ball.

Johnson is Crisp / DeGoey / Yeo but without the dickhead factor. He’s an enormous mid, and very very strong. 194cm, he looks key position size and is very broad. In 2-3 years will be nearly impossible to tackle.

The game by the Saints blond haired kid was the best I've ever seen from a second gamer. Crazy amount of raw talent there.

I was at the game and had no idea who he was. I was getting seriously annoyed that some random 25yo journeyman I'd never noticed before was having a typical once in a lifetime superhuman game against Freo.

Massively impressed once I got home and realised he was a second gamer.

Just some ad hoc thoughts.
Darcy proving that the BF calls for his imminent footy demise were overblown and he is now back to about 60% of his capabilities and if he can remain uninjured should go 80% plus by finals. As he said himself on the Duck et al podcast "I had no preseason at all".

You probably just saw the two AA half back flankers go toe to toe all night, goal for goal even, with our boy being clearly BOG. Clarky has just about the best closing speed in the team at the moment.

I`d like to see Hodor mix it up and knock it up in the air instead of to his feet, especially when the unicorn is roving. Yes, Jacko is great below his knees but at 199cm it would be a great advantage for him to have the ball much higher.

We`ve had some brave players over the years like Shauny Mac, De Boer and Cooky but Worner is now in their league. Thats about 5 times in less than a year. Respect.

Banners, as he said himself, is better suited in the backline as he doesnt have to overthink it. Keep on his man, spoil the contest, get it out of there. Could he keep his position when Walker, Switta, Young and Pearce are fit?? I think he is putting his name up for finals as the specialist sub that could go back or forward and has now really got that crucial double string to his bow.

We love Warfie Time, almost as much as Troy, glad it finally worked for us.

Henry really is a tool, hardly any one was booing him, maybe a 1000 people. Once he started playing up to the crowd after getting his one touch, just about everyone booed him.

The Saints found a good one with the Flying Viking. Congrats.

Swans looked very very good now the Pap smear was back and Gulden was playing, we beat them I think we play finals.
Go Dockers!

A lot of Tauru's spoils, with punching arm fully outstretched, reminded me of Zac Dawson. He's probably Ross's favourite already.

Review Starlight, Star Bright, We Beat The Saints