100 Year Limp Celebrations

I didn’t go, wasn’t interested in watching another insipid performance for one, but to be fair they did have a crack last night.

The ‘celebration’ didn’t get me there either as it felt like more of another kick in the guts as to what this club has become rather than anything to celebrate. The pre-game stuff was actually a decent watch on Fox Footy though, but sad to see how a lot of the past players were saying how great it was to be reconnecting (got the feeling there is little for them from the club generally - another area where this admin is inept)

They’ll still get $1k+ from me next year but that’s paid on clinging to the hope that we’ll rediscover what it means to be North, a hope getting fainter and fainter.

The celebrations were more of what you would expect in the VFL not AFL...It wasnt handled right, it looked second rate and it showed from the start..
Being advised to be seated by 6.45 when the celebrations didnt start until 7.00
Playing a Thursday night game after a 5 day break and against the Doggies.
Not having a separate function for the 75 team.

l would be interested to hear if anyone went to the function to hear what it was like...
In respect to timing, for any event, they always ask patrons to arrive at least 15 min earlier than scheduled start time of event/act/speech etc. Nothing wrong with that. It’s the norm.

I really hope that the club learns from this and puts much more thought into how they celebrate the 50th anniversary of the 1977 flag.
First and most important thing is to pick a time slot that is actually favourable to supporters wanting to attend. Thursday nights are good for the tv networks but shit if you live in the country or interstate, have an early start or have a young family.
A Saturday day or night game would be ideal. Not that fussed about FTA television, would prefer it to be on TV but it shouldn't be the deciding factor in picking a time slot. Make it about the players and supporters. The club can film lots of content themselves and put it on their website/instagram/YouTube.
The club was pretty ordinary in how it celebrated the 150th anniversary and we all know that last night should of been better.

In respect to timing, for any event, they always ask patrons to arrive at least 15 min earlier than scheduled start time of event/act/speech etc. Nothing wrong with that. It’s the norm.

I get what you're saying, but I genuinely think that the club just ran late last night.

As I said, once the on-field celebrations started I very much enjoyed them! Teared up in my seat a couple times, and thought the package was good.

But it was definitely rushed, and the game started a few minutes late.

So I think for whatever reason they did run late.

I loved seeing so much Shinboner royalty all in the one place, at the same time, and a much better performance from the team, effort wise, pity about injuries, but couldn't really give a continental about the crowd numbers, leave that for the clickbaiters to reheat the old soup again.

The dogs have this as their official logo for the year. We don't have the 100 years as ours.

I thought last night once the actual ceremony started was quite good. Got emotional when they got to Jason McCartney and the Krakours.

The way they had the premiership cups was great, great to see Bob Ansett out there and get his recognition, can anyone explain why Sonja was? I assume JB declined and so did Scanlon but would have been ok to have Ansett alone for all he has done.

But agree with others, I am glad we don't play many Thursday night games. Getting there was a nightmare, getting home was a nightmare and now I'm at work after a loss and 4 hours sleep. Love watching Thursday night footy at home with a glass of red. Being there can get in the bin.
It was very nice that JB did the voiceover for the videos.

Thought it was a great touch. He probably got asked to be out there and said no but offered to do that.

Can anyone explain why Sonja was out there? I like her, shes a North person. So far her tenure has been unremarkable.

Thought it was a great touch. He probably got asked to be out there and said no but offered to do that.

Can anyone explain why Sonja was out there? I like her, shes a North person. So far her tenure has been unremarkable.
Not being a smart arse or looking for an argument but she was the president for one of the five cups that was celebrated last night.

I have more issues with Shannon Grant being chosen when we had so many great people from that flag team available and present. We can’t not have Carey there and it meant a lot to supporters, but the Grant choice was a bit off for me.

James Brayshaw is in Bali right now.

Impossible to know if it was pre-booked or not.

It's perfectly reasonable for the current president of the club to be involved and present for these sort of celebrations. But we should have seen more former presidents out there too. Euge had to be there. JB should have been there. etc.

Not being a smart arse or looking for an argument but she was the president for one of the five cups that was celebrated last night.

I have more issues with Shannon Grant being chosen when we had so many great people from that flag team available and present. We can’t not have Carey there and it meant a lot to supporters, but the Grant choice was a bit off for me.

Yep thats the only reason I could think of with the other two not being with us now. Should have been introduced as such.

Shagga won the North Smith in 99 but I do see your point.

100 years in the VFL/AFL. Meh. The club’s 150th was the missed opportunity.

I was at the Dogs 100 night earlier this year. It was also very underwhelming to attend - this stuff doesn’t go that well at the stadium so maybe playing to TV cameras works better - but North had more old players plus Pagan and Ansett representing the admin side. And comparing the two nights overall it was better to be in a smaller very pro-North crowd than a big opposition crowd. Dogs made money, lost the game, and there was no home game atmosphere at all, before or during the game.
Yeah I can't recall being part of such a large (relatively) pro-North crowd. Missed the women's Grand Finals.
20k us, 5k them. Pagan's rev-up was a ripper. At the ground it felt great. It's ultimately about footy yeah?
We showed plenty.

The dogs have this as their official logo for the year. We don't have the 100 years as ours.

I thought last night once the actual ceremony started was quite good. Got emotional when they got to Jason McCartney and the Krakours.

The way they had the premiership cups was great, great to see Bob Ansett out there and get his recognition, can anyone explain why Sonja was? I assume JB declined and so did Scanlon but would have been ok to have Ansett alone for all he has done.

But agree with others, I am glad we don't play many Thursday night games. Getting there was a nightmare, getting home was a nightmare and now I'm at work after a loss and 4 hours sleep. Love watching Thursday night footy at home with a glass of red. Being there can get in the bin.

We have an elephant though

Yeah I can't recall being part of such a large (relatively) pro-North crowd. Missed the women's Grand Finals.
20k us, 5k them. Pagan's rev-up was a ripper. At the ground it felt great. It's ultimately about footy yeah?
We showed plenty.
The pro-North women’s finals crowds were something else. And being in the crowd last night was great.

What an anti climax last night was.

1. Thursday night, against a low drawing club, not even school holidays.

2. Limited function for 500 people and “micro” celebrations in separate rooms.

3. Back to Thursday night, no chance to prepare or relax to get there early … school, work etc. Does not create any atmosphere as most people are rushed or couldn’t be arsed.

4. Meant there was no opportunity for decent pre game function either … a breakfast etc.

5. No separate large function to celebrate 100 years, 100 years FFS, just parading a few people around.

6. Sound system at the ground for North games means you couldn’t hear half of what was being said anyway.

7. Promotion sorely lacking, had ample opportunity to lock this in well before the floating draw so it could be circled on the calendar.

8. Having all of these North greats in town, what an opportunity playing a Saturday night to have them at training Thursday, at the Captains run, and really having them engage with the group. Instead rush job, in and out and players with days off now because of the AFLPA.

9. All so it could be on free to air and we could embarrassingly have 25k show up and deliver no atmosphere.

I actually feel deflated after attending last night, they’ve botched this monumentally and it can’t be undone.

How many of us would have gone to a sit down Palladium function to celebrate 100 years of this footy club.

You’d have packed the joint out, a Sat arvo game with the function afterwards.

Stories shared. History passed down. Relationships built.

Instead a facade of connection. We are losing the heartbeat of this club.

Look at the power of the WA trip and the involvement of the past players over the course of a week.

It means everything and with our fractured past after the Carey debacle we need it more than any club.
Perfect illustration of no matter what you do - you'll never please everyone. This thread is testament to that.

To be in the same house as all those legends was sensational but more importantly it showed what the Club means to them.

It was particularly great to see the Krakouer brothers - what a story of resilience - just like this Club.

Would another night or slot been better? - probably.

But if anyone thinks this Club has any genuine sway with the league on fixturing you may want to think again. They've never cared about the NMFC - and I wouldn't want it any other way.

Was it understated? - probably.

But that's our Club in a nutshell.

If people want big bands and sky rockets - that's not this Club - never has been. You only have to look at our history.

People can always please themselves.

I would have loved a separate function, but reading that, the blokes attended seemed happy enough, so who am I to complain?

Seeing Schimma's comments, doesn't seem like any surprises with Kekovich.

Before my time but doesn't Keka have form with missing team functions and celebrations?

Heard he missed the team photo after our premiership or something?

100 Year Limp Celebrations