I don't want Judd at essendon.....

Gumby's marking is outstanding have you seen him play other than in the senoirs? He is also a lovely kick IMO, and has good agility. THe kid will be a superstar.

Lance, no problem mate ;)

Yes I remember that Carey took a number of years to become the player he was destined to be, and that is the norm for kpp's, until they get some body strength and confidence. But with Carey, he was a little bit like Federer. Always had the weapons, just couldn't put it together all a once. It just took time.

I'm just not sure that Gumby has the weapons. Yes he moves fairly well for a big bloke but his kicking is ok, marking ok, athleticism ok, which leads me to think he may be only ok. I'm happy to be wrong though. A lot of people rate him highly so maybe I', (and a few of my Essendon supporter mates), are missing something. What has he shown (other than being drafted at 2) that has you thinking he's our future?

As for Judd, I would probably be happy if we just leave him alone. Who knows what his groin is really like. Maybe he has actually played his most dynamic footy, and for what it may cost to secure him, that may threaten our future.

Do yourself a favour and try and watch the 2006 Champs...he pretty much dominated every game and was easily the best KPP out of the '06 draft at his age. You forget that he had an interrupted preseason and a hamstring injury that took 6 weeks to get over...thats a pretty interrupted season.

Aside from Westhoff, he's been the most impressive KPP that has played this year. Keep in mind someone like Westhoff is almost 21 I think which is a good 2-3 years older than Gumby, its not like Westhoff was playing TAC/Colts he was playing senior footy in the SANFL. Gumby was dominating matches in the WAFL at 18.

Not sure that Gumby has the weapons? Well he's a giant (197cm), great mark, fantastic kick and has a beep of 14 something...I'd say he's got all the tools not only that what impressed me the most out of his handful of games was that he knew how, when and where to lead in a forward line consisting of Lucas and Lloyd whilst not getting in the way of the aforementioned

Smyth, I'm happy to be wrong and eat my words. Sounds like you've seen a lot more of Gumby than me. Maybe I'm just afraid he'll turn in to another K Bradley, big, with nothing else.

If he really is this good I look forward to seeing his progress.

I would not like to see a deal with pick 6+Gumby/Ryder and a 6 or so million dollar contract (for 5 years) go through due to:
  1. The loss of the talent potentially severely weakening our future spine
  2. Judds injury cloud
  3. Loss of more talent due to the salary cap in a few years.

My thoughts as well. :thumbsu:

Gumbelton can't get traded and wont to say you don't want Judd at Essendon is saying screw the best player in the comp A) his a midfielder B) he has pace C) his proven!!! what is not to like about this bloke even if we get 4 quality years off him its worth it..

who's to say our pick 6 player will even make the grade, or Jetta continues to improve and Ryder really pulls his finger out and plays 250 games...

The honour role of pick 6 clearly shows the superstar's it has produced at the draft table, by the EFC not willing to give up a player of this ilk
along with some mid-tier maybe's is a diservice to it's members:mad::mad:...

pick 6 2007: Mitch Thorpe Hawks
pick 6 2006: Beau Dowler Hawks
pick 6 2005: Tom Williams Dogs
pick 6 2004: Kepler Bradley Dons
pick 6 2003: Steven Salopek Port
pick 6 2002: Ashley Sampi Eagles
pick 6 2001: Dylan Smith Roo's
pick 6 2000: Damian Cupido Lions

The beckham of the AFL is avaliable and we dont want him!! wake the f@#! up, this is an importunity of a life time and anyone bagging matty loyld is a complete waste of space.... shame on matty for wanting the best player on his team so we can win more fricken games and finally get some decent service, can you imagine FLETCHER passes to JUDD long ball to LUCAS matty LOYLD on the lead 20m out.. I sure can cause when the heat is on all those blokes will stand up and be counted

Suitable: Pick 6, Leroy Jetta or Adam McPhee, our 20+ pick, and trade kepler bradley to dog's for another 20+ pick and the deal is done.. but no let's make one of our rivals stronger and turn our back on millions upon millions of success the Judd brand will bring us along with filling our superstar role left vacant by Jimmy

I dont want the club to go after Judd. I reckon the cost is likely to be too much and as much as some people would like to think I doubt he is going to single-handedly drag the club into premiership contention next year.

I doubt Essendon will be serious flag contenders until 2009-2010 at least and this would require across the board improvement from the likes of Gumbleton, Paddy, Jetta, Houli, Reimers, Nash, Hislop, Laycock, Stanton etc. If the clubs premiership window was open right now and it already had a squad that could go a long way in finals then maybe.

Right now the club is still in rebuilding mode and should not be looking to trade away its top draft pick. That is aside from the fact at the moment the club does not know how bad Judd's injury is. Can he get back to being the player he was before this year?

As for the Gumby/Wayne Carey debate Carey took a few years before he became a superstar. He didnt break out until 1993 and I think he came on the scene 1989/90?? KPPs usually take longer to develop so 2-3 years time would be when to judge if Gumby is a success or not.

Personally, I think we're nuts if we don't throw whatever we can at the Eagles to get Judd.

Chris Judd is the best possible example of exactly what we have needed for a few years!

A strong, skillfull, fast, and still young midfielder! One that is also capable of turning a game himself. A guy who would have a MASSIVE effect on our young midfielders.

Gumbleton and Ryder are BOTH unproven. Both may a) turn out to be duds, or b) turn out to be great players and then want to return home to Perth in a few years time anyway.

At which point Essendon will be kicking themselves for not getting Judd when we could have.

Hanging on to young unproven players is a gamble.

Judd is not so much of a gamble. The guy is a rare superstar.

The other very important (imo) thing about Judd is that you can pretty much expect he'll play out the rest of his career (and remember he's only 24) at whichever club he goes to.

It's a pretty big prize if you think about it.

Would I like Chris Judd to play the remainder of his career at Essendon?

****ing oath I would.

Ryder and Gumby are our standout young talls. If we trade them we'll be hurting our future big time!

Last year we drafted a full squardon of midfielders and we can afford to trade 1 or 2 of them maybe along with Bradley/Johns and a top pick for Judd without hurting our future.

If we have to give up Ryder or Gumby I'd leave Judd and take a chance on someone like Prismall and continue to give our recent midfield draftees experience.

I think somewhere in the not too distant future some of our young mids will need to be traded anyway as we might struggle to give tham all a regular game. Move a couple of them on now if we can get Judd as it won't screw up what we've been trying to build in the last couple of years

We can't afford to trade either Gumby or Ryder. These two will turn out to be very importaint players quite possibly more importaint than what Judd would be.

No, you're after the best player in the comp and not the 3rd.

Judd is the best midfielder in the comp but Brown is the best footballer.

Great CHF > Great Midfielder every day of the week and twice on sundays.

I hope he gets some serious goalkicking practice over the pre season then.:p

lol good call i'd still take buddy kicking 2-11 one week and then 7-2 then next not so much his actually scoring that lifts the team more the fact that he is willing to take his oppostion on and often beats them.

Essendon has had a long history of developing brilliant KPP and I don't need to list them here now. Getting Judd won't solve all your problems but it will give you instant success delivering to your forward line and really I think would be the best fit of all clubs he could join.

WCE can't develop a KPP for crackers as we have tried for 20+ years and only a few backs could really fit that desciption of being dominant like Brennan, Jackovich and McKenna. Give us Ryder and Gumby and possibly Jetta and we will see you guys in the GF next year. :D

Gumbelton can't get traded and wont to say you don't want Judd at Essendon is saying screw the best player in the comp A) his a midfielder B) he has pace C) his proven!!! what is not to like about this bloke even if we get 4 quality years off him its worth it..

who's to say our pick 6 player will even make the grade, or Jetta continues to improve and Ryder really pulls his finger out and plays 250 games...

The honour role of pick 6 clearly shows the superstar's it has produced at the draft table, by the EFC not willing to give up a player of this ilk
along with some mid-tier maybe's is a diservice to it's members:mad::mad:...

The beckham of the AFL is avaliable and we dont want him!! wake the f@#! up, this is an importunity of a life time and anyone bagging matty loyld is a complete waste of space.... shame on matty for wanting the best player on his team so we can win more fricken games and finally get some decent service, can you imagine FLETCHER passes to JUDD long ball to LUCAS matty LOYLD on the lead 20m out.. I sure can cause when the heat is on all those blokes will stand up and be counted

Suitable: Pick 6, Leroy Jetta or Adam McPhee, our 20+ pick, and trade kepler bradley to dog's for another 20+ pick and the deal is done.. but no let's make one of our rivals stronger and turn our back on millions upon millions of success the Judd brand will bring us along with filling our superstar role left vacant by Jimmy

Thats exactly the sort/kind of deal we have to offer WC,but I'd even chuck in one more of our draft picks...if it meant getting him to Windy Hill.

We have got to get him.

There is no way I want to see Gumby/Ryder or Jetta used as trade bait for Judd(one of the reasons why I don't want Judd wearing the Red and black gurnsey).
The only way we will land Judd is by handing over Gumby + a draft pick(or Ryder/Jetta), absurd!! :thumbsd::mad:

I would like Judd in a Bomber jumper.

Bradley + 6th draft pick

Below is a list of the number 6 picks for the past few years, apart from Sampi and Salopek I can't see any good players, yes I'm ignoring Cupido for he was a let down at bomberland.

yeah Judd is exactly what we need. I don't want to lose Ryder or Gumby though. We don't want to solve one problem and in the process create another. In areas where we have surpluses of players we should be looking at keeping the best that we have.

i say we give them pick 6 and Bradley, with also maybe a sweetner suchas as MJ or CJ or Heff

You gotta be stupid to not want Judd.
he's done everything possible in footy and will continue to do more.

its the trades we give that have people wondering and worrying.