Moved Thread Sympathy for Carlolton and Essendope fans

.Yeah Carlton fans were ****ing awful on the way back to my car lol some were shoving me and yelling in my face "UP THE BLUES", just a bunch of campaigners trying to start a fight. The whole fanbase were just shit as to us just walking to the car
I've never really had that a footy game before, like I've always felt like footy fans are good with being respectful of the oppo supporter but not you guys on that night.

Even Collingwood fans didn't give me any grief after the game, more so in conversation for the week afterwards
I've experienced the same thing with Tigers supporters after finals losses to them, so I feel for you.

Ferocious, unsporting and just plain awful so many of them.

I mean, that's extremely shit behavior and most normal sane Blues fans should condemn it. I'd say you got unlucky running into a rabble of uber flogs.
The shoving happened only once tbf, but the yelling and waving in my face happened multiple times on the way back to the car.

I also had a Dees mate that went out afterwards to Richmond to drink his sorrows away and he just had to leave because the blues fans were getting into him a bit too much
And I've heard other stories from that same night on Bigfooty and Reddit.
I'm a bloke in my 20s , for some reason people do want to starts fights at this time as well (I've never been in one and am not planning on it)

There were 96k people there so it's still a minority of the fans. But I just never had it that bad before, and I've gone to a lot of game in my life and I've seen the Dees lose a lot more than we've won, and I never really had Oppo fans give it me like that , especially on multiple occasions on the same night

The shoving happened only once tbf, but the yelling and waving in my face happened multiple times on the way back to the car.

I also had a Dees mate that went out afterwards to Richmond to drink his sorrows away and he just had to leave because the blues fans were getting into him a bit too much

And I've heard other stories from that same night on Bigfooty and Reddit.

There were 96k people there so it's still a minority of the fans. But I just never had it that bad before, and I've gone to a lot of game in my life and I've seen the Dees lose a lot more than we've won, and I never really had Oppo fans give it me like that , especially on multiple occasions on the same night
They were that overcome with euphoria they didn't know what to do. Winning 2 finals in 1 year! It was like the drought was finally over. It was. For 7 days anyway

Hahaha I know you're taking the piss a bit but its kinda true that a drought breaking finals win will get anyone rowdy

But when we won 2 finals at the MCG in 2018, that was probably the most fun I've had as a footy fan and not once did I really think to give it to the oppo fans

And then what happened?
Andy Maher knocked himself out with a raging erection 28 minutes into a prelim and woke up 2 hours later and asked "How much did we win by in the end?" Kouta and The Dominator just shook their heads slowly and said "Not now mate, get some rest, we've got a $1200 dollar flight home to catch. At least it cant get any worse next week.."

And did it get worse the following week?

Do some research pal
There is more heart and soul in Fremantle football history than most of these so called clubs

My dad was a founding member of the club
Helped raise the money by approaching small businesses around Freo to get them started

Grass roots club
How many do you get to your games most weeks ?
Just coz it’s old don’t mean it’s great
Here here. Some say the same about the Eagles or any non merger interstate club. As if being 120 instead of 40 years old somehow makes you more of a real club. We've had plenty of history and heritage to look back on.

I was blown away by how magnanimous the majority of you guys were in 2018. That was tailor made to drop your nut sacks on our foreheads for eternity but the overwhelming vibe was respect on an epic GF. If anything opposition supporters got more satisfaction. :tearsofjoy:

That footage of Carlton "supporters" spitting on their own players a while back, makes it hard to feel sorry for them on any level.
Richmond levels of depravity really.

Bombers supporters, obviously no sympathy for them either, but at least they draw a line in their vitriol for the players.

For a slight moment in rd 23 2022 I felt sorry for the young Carlton supporters who got up and left when Elliot kicked the first of his 2 last quarter goals to cut the margin to 11 points.

They clearly weren't old enough to remember the glory days and there pessimism could see what was about to unfold.

For a slight moment in rd 23 2022 I felt sorry for the young Carlton supporters who got up and left when Elliot kicked the first of his 2 last quarter goals to cut the margin to 11 points.

They clearly weren't old enough to remember the glory days and there pessimism could see what was about to unfold.
Nup. I remember walking past Carlton supporters ranging from 4-74 at the G that day and the euphoria of what just transpired overrode any empathy. Sitting with 2 of the dickheads who were elbowing me in the ribs all game until the last quarter probably played a part. Biblical, epic, never to be forgotten afternoon

Don't get me wrong I certainly didn't feel sorry for the older brigade. But these were 20 somethings who were just a tad young to remember 90's let alone the 70's and 80's. They have only known misery and have been left so pessimistic that they couldn't bare to watch them unravel. I certainly do enjoy the fact that Carlton have been shit for so long still.

I was blown away by how magnanimous the majority of you guys were in 2018. That was tailor made to drop your nut sacks on our foreheads for eternity but the overwhelming vibe was respect on an epic GF. If anything opposition supporters got more satisfaction. :tearsofjoy:
Yeah I respected Collingwood too back then. Respect Bucks as a player and coach and now in the media, mostly, though he should've stayed at Brisbane. I know you won't agree, but the way the current Collingwood get treated has not endeared me. But putting that aside, I there isn't that heated rivalry you've developed over the years with Carlton in particular, but several other big Vic clubs. Most Pies fans seemed pretty gracious in defeat I think.

Why did they leave while the Blues were still in front?

One time I went to Pies vs Eagles at Etihad with my mum. There was an obnoxious Pies fan constantly abusing Eagles fans. Have to say I really wanted us to win to shut him up, and needless to say he did pipe down as we got on top. They're a minority, but the vocal minority stand out.

I think they're (carlton) allowed on the disappointment couch jannissary and zackah

One Of Us GIF

i’m sure the moment in 25 years when we get our 17th premiership, hell will have no fury like a scorned essendon fan

we must be approaching the point now where no current player has a living memory of a Blues flag (and Fitzroy for that matter). Unless you grew up in a rabid Blues household you’d probably need to be born in 1991 or earlier, and not many of those left.

Moved Thread Sympathy for Carlolton and Essendope fans