Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
Could be worse Coops, you could be an aints supporter, haha.
Arguably their club has a better recent record than ours if you were born in 93. Saints have had 2 grand final opportunities in the time where his peak sporting fandom would have been occurring.

The 'fix' is going to take 2-3 years because the biggest issues are in the highest paid area - they are the problem - they have created the player culture - no decent coach is going to cop this shyte - it will be a pretend farce until shop is cleaned.
It's why Cripps should not be captain going forward. Newman or Silvagni for me

Yes. Are we repeating the same problem?
I'm less concerned about the familial connection and more concerned about whether they are good players, or not.
JSOS is a decent player. We should not be actively looking to move a player like that on just to break some familial connection.
Same with any recently acquired f/s and upcoming ones. We also shouldn't be hanging onto them longer than necessary if they don't appear up to it.

Nothing wrong with getting a Ben Silvagni in for rubbish picks. Nothing wrong with cutting him once we've seen enough.

We've had a team led by Cripps who is busy with his business deals with players from other Clubs - his team leaders include a disgruntled Weitering who cant stand the loser mentality of too m,any team mates, having to be in meetings with an airhead like Charlie Curnow and sad faced Walsh who is reconsidering being a one club player

We've seen a best Clubman ditched

We've seen continuing investment into broken players like Fantasia/McGovern/Williams anjd a cast of battlers prettending to be small forwards

We've put new players into VFL unsupported by any developed players - no competition for spots and despite that - we've had to play 6 kids straight into seniors because of player unavailability

We've been undermined by a campaign of $1.7M for a TDK since the start of the year - which would blow up a lot of team harmony and effect not only TDK's performance but also the social fabric and interactions within the Club - instead of Carlton standing strong and making a statement by dropping blondie we've pretended he wants to play

We've seen major unavailability of important players all year ( again)

this Club is not united it is paper mache marketing slogan - and the ROT has infeced both management ( with a HOF who declared he was gone at the start of the yer, a retirin g CEO, an IDJOT President and his selfie, a bunch of coaches who have been wondering if they had a career left

and real tangled mess of Shyte.

we lost to Richmond in round one - giving up a 40 point lead...
we lost to Norfs FFS

we've been pantsed by Collingwood/Hawforn/Adelaide

the team has forgotten how to kick/run/tackle and even score from set shots

and TO TOP IT ALL OFF we have public news items about players having MEETINGS with teh CEO and laying down terms or whatever - as if this stuff is anyone's business.

All in all - enough is enough.

This is a comprehensive and unforgivable MESS
Time for a Snickers JAB

images (22).jpeg

I'm not opposed to relieving Cripps of the burden if it helps him get back to his best.
I like Newman. He's a good on field leader, but I just don't see him as captain material.
Jack? Absolutely, but what if he goes?
I feel it's fairly slim pickings after that. Walsh and Weiters are up there, but I'd prefer to move in a different direction. Ollie? Maybe down the track, but too soon IMO.

I must admit, for the first time in my life I've actually had the dark thoughts come in about "At what point do I say enough is enough and change clubs?" - As someone who has lived on the Gold Coast since 3 yrs old, and is a foundation member of that club, the continued disfunction of Carlton is disillusioning especially when the team I watch play live every 2nd week is suddenly on an exciting run does turn the head. Also, the rest of my family (Dad aside) go for the Crows - as we're originally from Adelaide. Family pull and them also coming out the other side looking exciting is significant reason.

As someone born in 93, so never seeing success with Carlton, the reasons for supporting Carlton are fairly low. The reasons to support the more natural teams that would make sense to someone like me are high. I haven't tipped and don't think I ever will, but such is the state of Carlton the intrusive thoughts are coming. At least the old timers have good memories of what the club used to be - something my Dad told me earlier this yr, "They were good when I started following them!" were his exact words - I don't have that connection. But changing clubs is broadly something I've always looked down on regardless of sport so don't think I'll ever change, but man it's hard work supporting Carlton...

I grew up in WA, but football wasn’t really a part of my DNA, neither of my parents were interested in sport. But my great grandmother lived to 106, and was a passionate eagles supporter, despite then only entering the comp when she was 88. Every year since she was in her mid-90s, they would send out a couple of players to her birthday party. I really loved them for that, but never really followed them as a team. The Dockers came in and really, who could support that inaugural jumper?

Moved to Melbourne in my 20s and resisted footy for a year or so, until I realised that if I followed along a bit, I’d be able to have a conversation with literally anyone. I lived and worked in Carlton, so my Carlton supporting co-workers told me there wasn’t another option, so I became a supporter when Judd came across.

Fast forward 18 years (yes really), I’ve now been living in Tasmania for 12 years. For the past few years I’ve been hoping that I get to see a bit of Carlton success before the Devils join the competition and I'm watching an expansion side struggle for a decade. My intention is still to remain a Carlton supporter, but that’ll be a tall order if they are both struggling.

It is ALL rumour/fact innit?

There will ZERO information for supporters to digest until some action(s) are taken - and even then - there will be continual below the surface workings out to be had...

it is so bad that you have to change pretty much everythign - which you cant so it will be bandaids over bandaids...

tough gig for anyone.

As a former Carlton premiership player reminded me "the members are the last to know and are the ones who suffer the greatest consequence. The fat cats dance off into the sunset, the players and coaches get paid and end up with cushy gigs but the member has to live with the repercussions or give up."

#1 factor in organisational success is continuity. Vos was dne as soon as Cook declared Carlton top4 ois teh benchmark- before the seaosns started. Meanwhile Harry Mckay declares "it doesn't matter if the team doesn't win a flag this year..." People celebrating Cripps' Brownlow win - and all that pointed to for me was how non team the whole midfield structure was.

Its mess mate - and it isn't easy to find experienced people who know what they are doing prepared to put in years of their life to gamble on an outcome that is up for debate according to W/L at any point in time.

You have to build real unity and players enjoying playing together with common purpose before you can move forward. That takes time and investment in the right players.

I'm less concerned about the familial connection and more concerned about whether they are good players, or not.
JSOS is a decent player. We should not be actively looking to move a player like that on just to break some familial connection.
Same with any recently acquired f/s and upcoming ones. We also shouldn't be hanging onto them longer than necessary if they don't appear up to it.

Nothing wrong with getting a Ben Silvagni in for rubbish picks. Nothing wrong with cutting him once we've seen enough.
HOF looking good. Reckon if he keeps his trajectory he’s better than JSOS in a season or two

As much as I've advocated for it, you have to cross Silvagni off that list now. Can you imagine how poor it would look, and how poorly it would be received within the playing group, if he went shopping himself to Collingwood and then got offered the captaincy? Would look like it was given to him to convince him to stay, rather than it being earned. The media would run with that, he'd be under massive external pressure as a result, and his standing and authority with the playing group would start on very shaky ground.

Newman's probably a little lucky to be getting a contract given his age and the recent injury, he'd be a very short-term captaincy option if we went that way - 2 years maybe?

We're really short on suitable candidates to take over from Cripps.

Weiters and Walsh have their own form and fitness issues respectively to manage first, and I'm not convinced either of them are going to be able to get the most out of this group. Charlie is in the leadership group and the idea of him captainint the side is laughable, which says it all.

Haynes same deal as Newman, too old and his position in the 22 can't really be that assured.

Doc's gone, Saad isn't a leader in that sense, neither is Williams and his body needs to be his focus. Gov and Fantasia are on borrowed time. Acres is flirting with being squeezed. Hewett would probably do OK, but the midfield needs to move past him pretty quick so that seems a poor choice. Pitto...nup.

Weiters, Walsh, Cerra or stay with Cripps...they're the only viable options I see at the moment and I don't love any of them. I think Olli Hollands could make for a really good captain in time, but has plenty more developing to do first before that can be entertained.

Maybe we need to take a close look at Adelaide's situation. Recruited Dawson at the end of 2021, by the start of 2023 he was named captain. Looking outside the club might be the best approach.

Anyone other player meeting with an opposition coach while still contracted and a month remaining in the season would be ripped to shreds around here and on the socials.

I'm not particularly agitated about his manager shopping him around, or even Jack leaving, but the idea that he actually met with an opposition coach in the middle of the season doesn't sit well with me.
Just show how fractured the playing group is now under the leadership of Cripps and cco and Voss and co. oh well...FOFF Silvagni.

Question now is when did it happen. Pre- or post- meeting with Wright reported yesterday. Regardless, really don't like the idea of a player during the season having a medical and a meeting with the coach of a rival club.