Opinion AFL 2025 Round 22 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

A slippery round for some of the top sides. Several faltered badly and a couple of others narrowly escaped costly losses. Let’s go wrapping…

Hawks v Pies, Thursday night: Entirely predictable. Sure I’m using the benefit of hindsight, but Collingwood’s form was awful going in. This was their fourth loss in five weeks, and the sole win was against the side coming third last. Geez, I hope they have a nice easy assignment to get back on track next week… On the other side of the fence it was an awesome win for the Hawks. Turned up to a game with genuine finals ramifications, smelt blood in the water, then absolutely feasted on their gettable opponents. Very good.

Cats v Bombers, Friday night: It’s a marker of how well your club is going if you wake up on a Saturday morning, check the result from the night before and think to yourself “hmm, only 7 goals. Not bad! Not bad at all…” Such is life for Dons fans, most of whom were expecting this to be a lot worse. The barely out of second-gear Cats have cruised their way into second on the ladder now. No idea how they keeping doing it.

1754819269411.jpeg

Tigers v Saints, Saturday arvo: Not even the weekly Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera masterclass could make this game attractive to watch. At least it had an exciting close finish I guess.

Lions v Swans, Saturday twilight: This was a dreadful stumble. With games against the Dockers and Hawks to come, Brisbane could ill afford a home loss to a side sitting 10th (albeit an in-form one). All year I’ve been saying the Lions are the best team in it when they’re in the right mood, but it’s getting hard to ignore their inconsistency now. They’ve got more than a few key pieces missing too. Top 4 might just about be gone, and even the finals are no guarantee.

Blues v Suns, Saturday night: I know they got the skids late in the game, but overall this was another professional “did what they had to” win from the Suns. It’s a game they dead set would have lost in years gone by. Think a lot of folks are forgetting about this side sitting down in 6th. If their postponed game was played tomorrow they would likely win it and leapfrog their way into third. Having a great year.

Port v Dockers, Saturday night: A close shave for the Dockers. They’ve had a few of those recently, but importantly they’ve won them. That’s going to be invaluable when the ladder is sorted at the end of Round 24. Could easily have been nowhere near finals if they hadn’t held their nerve multiple times.

1754819280683.jpeg

Giants v North, Sunday arvo: Not much to see here. The Giants couldn’t afford to lose and they didn’t. The real test comes next week on the Gold Coast. Meanwhile some bright signs for North with the debuts of Trembath and Payne.

Demons v Dogs, Sunday twilight: What an EPIC. The game of the round and then some. At three quarter time the Dogs season was on life support against a very brave Dees outfit, but in a pulsating final quarter they found their way out of jail. Still a genuine chance to sneak into the finals. This was a great game to watch.

Eagles v Crows, Sunday twilight: Goodness. I think most people saw this fixture and thought it shaped as a terribly boring blowout to finish the round. Nobody saw the Eagles leading deep into the final term, of that I’m certain. Might have been against lowly opposition but it’s an important sign for the Crows that they can lift when things aren’t going their way - something they’ve done a few times this year to be fair. A rare positive sign in a long dark season for the Eagles, too.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 22!

I learnt that the prevailing narrative of the bottom 9 teams are so much worse than the top 9 teams has been challenged.
Good call mate. We almost beat you up there earlier this year. Then Callum Ward going down with an ACL inspired your boys in last qtr.

A slippery round for some of the top sides. Several faltered badly and a couple of others narrowly escaped costly losses. Let’s go wrapping…

Hawks v Pies, Thursday night: Entirely predictable. Sure I’m using the benefit of hindsight, but Collingwood’s form was awful going in. This was their fourth loss in five weeks, and the sole win was against the side coming third last. Geez, I hope they have a nice easy assignment to get back on track next week… On the other side of the fence it was an awesome win for the Hawks. Turned up to a game with genuine finals ramifications, smelt blood in the water, then absolutely feasted on their gettable opponents. Very good.

Cats v Bombers, Friday night: It’s a marker of how well your club is going if you wake up on a Saturday morning, check the result from the night before and think to yourself “hmm, only 7 goals. Not bad! Not bad at all…” Such is life for Dons fans, most of whom were expecting this to be a lot worse. The barely out of second-gear Cats have cruised their way into second on the ladder now. No idea how they keeping doing it.

View attachment 2391733

Tigers v Saints, Saturday arvo: Not even the weekly Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera masterclass could make this game attractive to watch. At least it had an exciting close finish I guess.

Lions v Swans, Saturday twilight: This was a dreadful stumble. With games against the Dockers and Hawks to come, Brisbane could ill afford a home loss to a side sitting 10th (albeit an in-form one). All year I’ve been saying the Lions are the best team in it when they’re in the right mood, but it’s getting hard to ignore their inconsistency now. They’ve got more than a few key pieces missing too. Top 4 might just about be gone, and even the finals are no guarantee.

Blues v Suns, Saturday night: I know they got the skids late in the game, but overall this was another professional “did what they had to” win from the Suns. It’s a game they dead set would have lost in years gone by. Think a lot of folks are forgetting about this side sitting down in 6th. If their postponed game was played tomorrow they would likely win it and leapfrog their way into third. Having a great year.

Port v Dockers, Saturday night: A close shave for the Dockers. They’ve had a few of those recently, but importantly they’ve won them. That’s going to be invaluable when the ladder is sorted at the end of Round 24. Could easily have been nowhere near finals if they hadn’t held their nerve multiple times.

View attachment 2391734

Giants v North, Sunday arvo: Not much to see here. The Giants couldn’t afford to lose and they didn’t. The real test comes next week on the Gold Coast. Meanwhile some bright signs for North with the debuts of Trembath and Payne.

Demons v Dogs, Sunday twilight: What an EPIC. The game of the round and then some. At three quarter time the Dogs season was on life support against a very brave Dees outfit, but in a pulsating final quarter they found their way out of jail. Still a genuine chance to sneak into the finals. This was a great game to watch.

Eagles v Crows, Sunday twilight: Goodness. I think most people saw this fixture and thought it shaped as a terribly boring blowout to finish the round. Nobody saw the Eagles leading deep into the final term, of that I’m certain. Might have been against lowly opposition but it’s an important sign for the Crows that they can lift when things aren’t going their way - something they’ve done a few times this year to be fair. A rare positive sign in a long dark season for the Eagles, too.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 22!
I went to our game against Pies a few weeks ago. An honourable 6 goal loss by our boys. Nick Daicos was incredible. 42 possessions, 3 goals and another 3 or 4 goal assists pretty much the difference. Guess in hindsight it kinda glossed over Pies current plight out of form.

Liked: Hawthorn the form team of the competition, in the box seat for the 2025 premiership.

Learnt: Umpires are blind not able to tell whats more or less 15 meters

Hated: Nothing yet
Lost two of your last five games - not even in the top five form teams currently in the eight.

Liked: Winning, Dogs v Dees game, Great effort by the Eagles, Pies getting thrashed.

Learnt: It won't be the last time the Blues meet with Voss in the next 12 months, don't get carried away with their comeback, where were they for the previous 3 Qtrs? A very disorganised team.

Hated: White shorts for a home game, when did shorts socks come into style (or no style)? Short socks should be banned. Shiel push was very dangerous, Crows getting up.

Liked:
We keep finding ways to win.
No team is invincible.

Learnt:
Brisbane might be more worried than I thought they would be after this week for their upcoming trip to Perth.

Hated:
Free kick differentials. We cop some really skewed counts. Average differential this round - excluding our game - was two. Ours was SEVENTEEN. Umps went crazy in our game. Other games seemed a lot more decently umpired. I know the count doesn’t have to be even but in a round where the counts were fairly even, our outlier was even more glaring.

Liked: Possessing a winnning record, going 7-2 since Adelaide gave us belt to ass earlier in the season & disprupting the season once again, Melbourne taking it to the death with the Dogs & Fremantle being in the top 4

Hated: Not much really except for the overhype of the Blues finally deciding that they want to play footy in the last vs Suns

Learned: Brisbane premiership credientials looking shaky, Fremantle will decide the top 4/8

LOVED- pies and brizzy dropping the game, another twist and turn in the ladder.

LEARNT- Freo are making up the numbers.
MRP is just all over the place..it's a lucky dip every week

HATED- umps in the power v freo game

LOVED- pies and brizzy dropping the game, another twist and turn in the ladder.

LEARNT- Freo are making up the numbers.
MRP is just all over the place..it's a lucky dip every week

HATED- umps in the power v freo game
You're right, we're happy to be making up the numbers. So happy that for some reason in 11 of the last 12 weeks the players have joined arms at the end and sang a happy song.

Loved: Dockers banking 4 points in a game they would have dropped

Learnt: Eagles are a better side without Harley
Its squeaky bum time for all top 9 sides

Hated: Melbourne didnt execute the new coach bounce
What are you trying to imply here. That the best young talent in decades can’t even get a game for the wooden spooners?

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 22 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated