Review Round 23, 2025 - Fremantle vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Fremantle?

I liked Marshall’s game.

As a third gamer I thought he is still learning the pace but played some really aggressive footy taking the game on and complimented it with some great skills. He has a lot of really nice traits.

With our injuries we may have to rely on all of our rorts this year to win the flag.

He was brilliant in last years Coates GF setting up goals with exquisite passes into the forward line, was unlucky not to pip Ashcroft for best on ground.

Have been hopeful of him showing what he can do at AFL level, this game will build his confidence.

Berry out, Jaspa to the wing and Beecken into the backline for me. If Kai is available then Bruce is the sub.

Our wings are really young already and Berry was playing such a crucial role that I think we need a bit of experience there. Jaspa will kill it wherever he goes, really like his ability to float back from the wing as well

As if you'd know anything about that sorta thing. Really.

Don't know if your comment to Haso was serious but I'm adhd and he described it perfectly. When i'm busy i can multi task and get a billion things done. When there's not a lot on i can't get myself motivated and i get nothing done.

The team does seem to be following that pattern.

It was his left shoulder. Now I'm struggling to recall which shoulder he had all the reco's on. Which I thought was his left shoulder as well.
If memory serves - and I sure wouldn't bet my lefty on it - I think he's had work on both over the times. It's a bit of toss up as to which one is actually his "good" one.

Brayshaw never really struck me as dirty before - and maybe it was a shove out of frustration - but he's on my list now.

Fages said in the presser that it's his other shoulder (not the one that was injured in the past) he said it didn't look good, but he said it could also be something that you can make it work for the season and get it fixed at the end of the season if it's not too bad

Bradshaw gets away with murder since the Gaff incident and its no coincidence that he sports a black eye for half the H&A season gives it out as good as he gets it back... good football player but a grub at heart quickly becoming the heir to Sam Mitchell as a player......bloody good footballer who is as dirty as they come.

Did anyone see what happened to Morris to get that down field free that got a goal?

There was a crowd ohhh when it happened and not a lot of crowd objection to the free.

Morris was getting slamed the entire game. Good on him for continuing to present and not retaliate.

Goal celebration for Ah Chee was interesting, everyone got to him. Wonder if that’s a sign he’s staying. Or leaving. Who knows
The way the players got around him had a bit of the Daniher farewell about it. Starce on the other hand looked very happy after the game. I reckon some decisions have been made...Starce to stay and Ah Chee to go.

I've been a bit of a petulant child over the ashcrofts getting all the glory and jaspa being left in the back ground. Comparing them unfavourably to jaspa

Now jaspa is getting his just accolades I've discovered the ashcrofts are quite good at this footy thing.

Berry out, Jaspa to the wing and Beecken into the backline for me. If Kai is available then Bruce is the sub.

Our wings are really young already and Berry was playing such a crucial role that I think we need a bit of experience there. Jaspa will kill it wherever he goes, really like his ability to float back from the wing as well
I saw Berry at end sending Fyfe off. He did look sore but did not have a sling on and his shoulder was back in. Hopefully a good sign. Fingers crossed. I think he is our most improved player over the last 4 years. Super consistent now.

Nah, I've been a hippy supporter for long time, but he's had little impact last month or so, missing next week's match and then the weeks break will do him the world of good.
Funny you say that because (except for goal kicking) he has had the most posessions, marks & inside 50s of all our forwards of late. But, impressions and expectations from plenty is that he should be kicking goals which would be great but not his primary role.Without him clearing a path for Logan to move into, Logan job would be considerably harder. It would be a different game we play for sure.
Lets find out how bad the calf is later in the week. He could be out for the remainder of the season. Either Henry or Ty in (depending on how Ty plays this weekend) but imagine how slow our forward line will be with Hippy out & Henry in? Hawks will have a field day bringing the ball out of their defensive 50. :huh:

Funny you say that because (except for goal kicking) he has had the most posessions, marks & inside 50s of all our forwards of late. But, impressions and expectations from plenty is that he should be kicking goals which would be great but not his primary role.Without him clearing a path for Logan to move into, Logan job would be considerably harder. It would be a different game we play for sure.
Lets find out how bad the calf is later in the week. He could be out for the remainder of the season. Either Henry or Ty in (depending on how Ty plays this weekend) but imagine how slow our forward line will be with Hippy out & Henry in? Hawks will have a field day bringing the ball out of their defensive 50. :huh:
The knock on Hippy is more how he misses the shots on goal and doesn't clunk marks. He's playing his role but just needs to stop kicking out on the full from 30 out 😂

Maybe everytone gets their wish for the remainder of the season now depending on his damage. Fingers crossed it’s not too severe.
He’s not the only one who miss’s from 30 out but he is the one who cops the most s**t. ;)

Maybe everytone gets their wish for the remainder of the season now depending on his damage. Fingers crossed it’s not too severe.
He’s not the only one who miss’s from 30 out but he is the one who cops the most s**t. ;)
I don't think there's many that have wanted him dropped but we've always wanted him to do better. He's the only one who manages to kick shots on goal out on the full consistently

The only one? Really? Cam maybe? Bailey a few times? Think they are all guilty of it really but Hippy is the one we like to slam.

Ok Mr Hipwood...

Review Round 23, 2025 - Fremantle vs. Brisbane Lions