Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

Who says Harry edwards even makes it. The guy is 200cm yet ginbey takes the best forward. What does that say about him. Hes a stop gap in my opinion.
Did you even watch our games? Edwards had a rough start to the year but was playing very, very well before he got injured.

I don't feel that banfield or our NGAs have shown enough to even be drafted .

Maybe walley if the afl let's us put him directly onto our Cat B list .

Banfield wouldn't even be looked at if he wasn't a F/S
Banfield has looked pretty good every time I've seen him. Plenty to work with, especially with the size he is.

Freo Chairman wants all first round , free agency compensations scrapped immediately...good luck haha .
Allen stays then or take pick 19 haha .

To do that just weeks prior to the trade/draft period would be ridiculous. Clubs have quite rightly made plans well in advance that would be thrown into chaos by making such an arbitrary change

Tbh, I think the changes being proposed for next year are arguably too soon - we haven’t seen the impact the changes to this years bidding system play out yet so surely it’s prudent to wait to see how that plays out.

Leave next year alone and implement any changes for 2027 when Tassie enter the draft.

The AFL too often make ill thought out changes to fix a problem they’ve created because they didn’t think through the ripple effects of previous changes. All they end up doing is create new problems without solving the existing ones they’re trying to fix

To do that just weeks prior to the trade/draft period would be ridiculous. Clubs have quite rightly made plans well in advance that would be thrown into chaos by making such an arbitrary change

Tbh, I think the changes being proposed for next year are arguably too soon - we haven’t seen the impact the changes to this years bidding system play out yet so surely it’s prudent to wait to see how that plays out.

Leave next year alone and implement any changes for 2027 when Tassie enter the draft.

The AFL too often make ill thought out changes to fix a problem they’ve created because they didn’t think through the ripple effects of previous changes. All they end up doing is create new problems without solving the existing ones they’re trying to fix
Nah, make the first round free of club tied and F/S players next year. I need Dougie Cochrane or Cody Walker in an Eagles guernsey.

Freo Chairman wants all first round , free agency compensations scrapped immediately...good luck haha .
Something the AFL would do though. They have form making gamechanging calls with zero notice after the trade/draft period or after lists have been lodged

Wants a uncompromised first round of draft , immediately but concedes 2026 needs to be .
Doubt this happens anytime soon .

I agree that the free agency system is a dog's breakfast and needs change. But if the problem we are trying to solve is a compromised draft then how about we address the elephant in the room which is the Northern academies? How many first round free agency compo picks are there every year? One or two? Pretty small potatoes compared to the compromise caused by the Northern academies. And at least with free agency all clubs are equally affected by the illogic of it over the long run. But nobody in the AFL industry or the media will bring it up the Northern academies other than Ross Lyon. The AFL have obviously made it clear that they will look very dimly upon it if anybody says anything publicly about it.

Did you even watch our games? Edwards had a rough start to the year but was playing very, very well before he got injured.
People say this and conveniently leave out that Ginbey was taking oppo's best forward most weeks. When Harry had to play on oppositions best forward he got bags kicked on him.

Personally, I think having to play Ginbey tall in order to sure up our defence goes some way in demonstrating that Harry (or any of our KPD's) are really getting it done at the moment.

Agree with all your points.
Freo Chairman making this play on WC, reeks of desperation and missing out on a Sunday sleep in with the missus?

Why would you make an outrageous statement to the media to upset your cross town rival who knows more about the inequality of the AFL as you do and is your best ally in getting things better for all WA?

Must have been told the AFL is seriously thinking of granting the wish and got the word the AFL is going to grant 2 extra rookie spots also and have jumped their plans on a player?
Or been told that WC are trading in 1 of their targets this season emphatically and ain't happy Jan?

People say this and conveniently leave out that Ginbey was taking oppo's best forward most weeks. When Harry had to play on oppositions best forward he got bags kicked on him.

Personally, I think having to play Ginbey tall in order to sure up our defence goes some way in demonstrating that Harry (or any of our KPD's) are really getting it done at the moment.
Sure mate, whatever you reckon :thumbsu:

I agree that the free agency system is a dog's breakfast and needs change. But if the problem we are trying to solve is a compromised draft then how about we address the elephant in the room which is the Northern academies? How many first round free agency compo picks are there every year? One or two? Pretty small potatoes compared to the compromise caused by the Northern academies. And at least with free agency all clubs are equally affected by the illogic of it over the long run. But nobody in the AFL industry or the media will bring it up the Northern academies other than Ross Lyon. The AFL have obviously made it clear that they will look very dimly upon it if anybody says anything publicly about it.
That Nepo babies comment was pure gold. So many people got so mad

I wonder if Freo would be saying this if Toby Whan had a great year?
To be fair it is a very low chance of coming in this year and 100% laying the ground work for next year where they have a top 5 prospect.

Blues would argue they would’ve moved money around or TDK ect.

"I think it's unfair that the first round of the draft will be pushed out so much that it will affect our first pick in the draft in round 2 after we traded all our first picks away." /Fremantle's completely transparent smooth-brained chairman.