Recommitted Jordan Ridley [UFA 2029] - name was floated for a move to Brisbane in 2025, stayed

Can I ask a genuine question here to Essendon fans.

Why would you want to keep Ridley?

Availability is the best ability and Ridley and Parish have been in competition the last 3 years for who can miss more time via soft tissue injury.

If Brisbane or Dogs or whoever gets him and he stays fit he would go a long way in a flag push.

The Brisbane player on Cameron last Friday was shitting himself in the first quarter... Andrews and a fit Ridley would be formidable.

I think this is on the money.

You say, genuinely, why would we want to keep him.
Why would we accept that?

He is a significantly better player than that, still in a good age, under contract for 4 more years.

We don't want to trade him at all. Similarly to the Merrett situation (obvious caveat of captain v non-captain) but why would you trade a guy you want to keep, who is under contract for a long time, for a below average return? There is simply no logic to it.

Even if you go with the whole reset/rebuild angle, which we clearly are. You would take the perspective of "Ridley is certainly still young enough to potentially be relevant when we aim to be relevant" OR if you get overs offered for him, you look at it.

He's not keeping a young guy out of the side. He's not over 30 and no chance to be around when we aim to be decent again. There is no logic in accepting a very meh pick for him.

You say, genuinely, why would we want to keep him.
Why would we accept that?

He is a significantly better player than that, still in a good age, under contract for 4 more years.

We don't want to trade him at all. Similarly to the Merrett situation (obvious caveat of captain v non-captain) but why would you trade a guy you want to keep, who is under contract for a long time, for a below average return? There is simply no logic to it.

Even if you go with the whole reset/rebuild angle, which we clearly are. You would take the perspective of "Ridley is certainly still young enough to potentially be relevant when we aim to be relevant" OR if you get overs offered for him, you look at it.

He's not keeping a young guy out of the side. He's not over 30 and no chance to be around when we aim to be decent again. There is no logic in accepting a very meh pick for him.

I totally get all of that, however it would seem his mind is made up to leave.

I get keeping a player against their will occurs occasionally, but in other situations players do leave.

Essendon dont hold "all the cards". They hold some with the contract, but Ridley holds some as well.

I totally get all of that, however it would seem his mind is made up to leave.

I get keeping a player against their will occurs occasionally, but in other situations players do leave.

Essendon dont hold "all the cards". They hold some with the contract, but Ridley holds some as well.

But the other school of thought is - we should trade him because he doesn’t want to be here.

Okay - so, should we accept pick 58 for him? Simply because he wants out?

Obviously not. We also shouldn’t accept a late teens/early 20s pick for him simply because he “wants out”.

This also isn’t an uncontracted “ah well, take what you can get” or “he’s out of contract next year and we’ll just get him cheap/free then” situation. He’s got 4 more years. At some point, some onus has to be put on the player who signed that length deal. And he’s not about to pout and moan for 4 more years in the prime of his career.

I’m not opposed to trading him. But I see absolutely no point, or chance, of us trading him for less than he’s worth.

I see his value as a late first or early second. If we could get an end of first round pick for Starcevich or an early 20s pick for Ah Chee, I’d trade that for Ridley.

I've come around and would give the rort pick we get from West coast for Starce (ideally they get a end of first rounder that needs to be traded, thank you Swanny) plus something else (future 1 swapped with future 2?).

Doubt that gets Essendon to do it though and we all move on and forget this ever was suggested.

I've come around and would give the rort pick we get from West coast for Starce (ideally they get a end of first rounder that needs to be traded, thank you Swanny) plus something else (future 1 swapped with future 2?).

Doubt that gets Essendon to do it though and we all move on and forget this ever was suggested.

I just want the Riddler. Drapes needs a friend to start his new journey.

"Drapes"

Fetch Mean Girls GIF

Can I ask a genuine question here to Essendon fans.

Why would you want to keep Ridley?

Because this draft is crap. Why would you trade him for a player you will likely delist in 2 years anyway?

I mean he does get called Drapes.

Riddler is the one that’s uncommon

It’s a shame that you’re still on formal name terms with the Riddler. He’s been called that since junior footy days.

Bumping up Drapes pay so you get pick 4 + a future first & second sounds fair to me.

I’d imagine we’d pay some of Rids salary to get that Band 1 locked in so let’s call that part even.

I’m sure there’s some combination of expendable players and/or picks that works. Maybe even include a third team like WC (starcevitch)

Given Essendon need to cut/trade players to turn over the list I’d imagine future picks would be the preferred currency unless the player was really good in which case it’s probably just a 1 for 1 swap

I’d imagine we’d pay some of Rids salary to get that Band 1 locked in so let’s call that part even.

I’m sure there’s some combination of expendable players and/or picks that works. Maybe even include a third team like WC (starcevitch)

Given Essendon need to cut/trade players to turn over the list I’d imagine future picks would be the preferred currency unless the player was really good in which case it’s probably just a 1 for 1 swap

Absolutely. Bailey isn't keen to leave either so don't think a player will get it done, but with Ah Chee and Starce already set to go (and with Starce needing to be traded so WCE don't dilute their band 1 pick) I'm sure it could be done with picks id Essendon are keen.

Not sure about keen but is the pragmatic option.

Essendon has more players than list spots and a few young KPD wanting opportunities. Ridley wants a fresh start and potentially helps get band 1 for Draper over the line .

Just works for all involved if Brisbane make a fair offer (likely involving outgoing players for future assets)

Essendon has more players than list spots and a few young KPD wanting opportunities. Ridley wants a fresh start and potentially helps get band 1 for Draper over the line .

Just works for all involved if Brisbane make a fair offer (likely involving outgoing players for future assets)

Brisbane are always fair so will be fine.

We will make sure Essendon are well looked after. They’re my second team and 2 meter Peter is my favourite non lions player.

After the McGrath interview, makes me confident that we have swayed Ridley to stay. Speaks daily, business partners and was a stern he will be at Essendon.

Merrett is likely going,
Draper is gone
I just think Ridley might stay.

After the McGrath interview, makes me confident that we have swayed Ridley to stay. Speaks daily, business partners and was a stern he will be at Essendon.

Merrett is likely going,
Draper is gone
I just think Ridley might stay.

I reckon we might get him, if he’s keen. We will rort FA and give you band 1 compo for Draper in return for Riddler and you paying the equivalent gap in Riddlers contract that we paid to get band 1 for you.