Preview 2025 Preliminary Final: Geelong v Hawthorn, 19 September 2025, 7.40pm @ MCG

Barrass for Jezza, surely.
I cant see that happening. Cameron would work him up the ground and catch him out running back towards goal . Gotta be Battle.
I'm more concerned about their hard runners , Holmes, Smith , Myers . Weddle and CJ are our main runners .
I'm very confidant in our forward line to match up against their defence though .

I cant see that happening. Cameron would work him up the ground and catch him out running back towards goal . Gotta be Battle.
I'm more concerned about their hard runners , Holmes, Smith , Myers . Weddle and CJ are our main runners .
I'm very confidant in our forward line to match up against their defence though .
Old mate Dempsey needs massive pressure. Does what he wants

I think if Lord Meek goes Bunta on Friday night we will be well on the way to winning.

I'm hearing Stanley is looking doubtful which means his Lordship would be up a against a Blivacs / SDK ruck duo which he will lick his lips at.

We all know that Geelong aren't Adelaide, they won't beat themselves.

Our only path to victory is to go absolute full throttle. HOK ball turned up to 11.

Just got to nail those shots on goal, we won't get many chances against the Cats backline.

My heart can't handle another close match against Geelong...but if it isn't close I'm concerned it could be a bit one-sided the wrong way.

But, we have a level of energy and drive that I am loving. It's creating opportunities, and whilst we're not always taking those opportunities, we need to create them against teams as consistently good as Geelong.

Need the footy smarts of Ginni and Gunners, so hoping like hell they both get up.

Old mate Dempsey needs massive pressure. Does what he wants

Weddle is one of the few players in the competition who can challenge him for aerial ability, speed and endurance.

Ollie loves to charge forward expecting his team to win the ball (and he's damn good at it). But he really hasn't come across a prospect like Weddle which requires him to be defensively accountable.

Going to be a key matchup for the game.

I would run Butler on Dempsey. It seems to be something he's preparing for. Defensive but not exactly on the inside, pushing forward and kicking goals - Dempsey doesn't do much defensive running so he can be made to pay.

The vital thing is that we get it forward and keep it out of their front half. If this game goes anything like the GWS one we're no chance. They're too efficient, no matter how good our defense it.

I think we're in with a good chance, but the midfield battle will be key.

I don't think it's worth having one man assigned to Cameron. He goes all around the ground and has potential to pull his opponent way out of position, and tbh it's a difficult matchup for any of them. If I was going to pick one it'd be Battle, but ought to be done by committee imo.

Cats will be a way different proposition to Adelaide, their speed and size and the wider MCG will mean it might just become a running game for us. I'm more willing to kick to packs against them compared to Adelaide. Cats dwell on teams going short up the corridor, always looking to cut off angles.
I'm not even against going 4 talls again if we want to play that game, but they need to all be fit

If there's any doubt about Ginni is it worth bringing back Punky for one last go around as the sub?? I can see why they want a CJ-esque player but he's been running around like a headless chook the last couple of weeks.

It might be because I never expected Hawthorn to reach a preliminary Final this year, but I have a feeling that this is close to a free hit as you'll ever get. The Cats will be feeling the pressure. The Hawks also will feel the weight of expectation, but I feel like they have outperformed their expected finishing position already, so this is bonus football for me.