Autopsy 2025 Preliminary Final: Hawks get rolled

Read Titus OReillys wrap on the game and he pretty much nailed it with a comment that we looked great when we had the ball, but the Cats big bodies in the midfield just didn't let us have it in the second half.

Dodgy umpiring aside this was the deciding factor, their midfielders (especially Dangerflop) just flat out bullied our mids around the contest. It was like Year 10s vs Year 7s in the middle.

Until we can match the Cats in this area we will be up against it as odds are we will usually have to go through the Cats to win a premiership over the next 5 years.

I wonder if we'll have a change in strategy with our S&C team.

For the longest time the biggest difference philosophically between the Hawks from the Clarko era to now and the Cats from the Bomber era to now is that physical size.

We've had a preference for slighter frames to help run out games. This advantage was nullified as we've basically played 6 elimination finals in a row (mostly away from home).
Cats have had a preference for stronger bodies to help in the clinches. When the Cats can afford to rest players throughout the year it pays off big time.

I wonder if we'll have a change in strategy with our S&C team.

For the longest time the biggest difference philosophically between the Hawks from the Clarko era to now and the Cats from the Bomber era to now is that physical size.

We've had a preference for slighter frames to help run out games. This advantage was nullified as we've basically played 6 elimination finals in a row (mostly away from home).
Cats have had a preference for stronger bodies to help in the clinches. When the Cats can afford to rest players throughout the year it pays off big time.
I always thought our preference for lighter framed, endurance players is a great strategy if you played very game during the year on the wide expanses of the MCG on a sunny day. And when it works it looks amazing (Hok Ball).

But the Cats strategy of having bigger bodies let's them bank the wins away from home on shit decks like Engine Stadium, etc and during winter when it is cold and wet.

I always thought our preference for lighter framed, endurance players is a great strategy if you played very game during the year on the wide expanses of the MCG on a sunny day. And when it works it looks amazing (Hok Ball).

But the Cats strategy of having bigger bodies let's them bank the wins away from home on shit decks like Engine Stadium, etc and during winter when it is cold and wet.

I think apart from our Premiership run, only the Tigers favoured lighter frame + running power. Only Martin was that powerhouse brute in the middle, with the rest of the players using their pace as a strength.

The Brisbane Lions were massive units collectively, especially in the guts. Same with the current Lions outfit. Rayner, Dunkley, Neale (not the tallest but very stocky).
The Pies have always rolled in big bodies through the middle.

This advantage was nullified as we've basically played 6 elimination finals in a row (mostly away from home).

Made me think of this song:

When the Cats can afford to rest players throughout the year it pays off big time.

A week off, a Qualifying final, a week off and then a Prelim is a dream for that list.

It's what we have to do next year. Top 4 is still the best position to launch an assault on the flag.

Would help every older player on our list too - Barrass, Gunston, even Sic, Amon and co.

I think apart from our Premiership run, only the Tigers favoured lighter frame + running power. Only Martin was that powerhouse brute in the middle, with the rest of the players using their pace as a strength.

The Brisbane Lions were massive units collectively, especially in the guts. Same with the current Lions outfit. Rayner, Dunkley, Neale (not the tallest but very stocky).
& the Swans always been thick bois

The guys just a beast and is clearly one of the best players going round. We would’ve had some jabbed up guys on the weekend like Ginni also.

I think the thing with Danger was best summed up by someone else in here is that he’s like Novak. He’s already one of the best of all time but he enhances his stat lines with shit like diving and flopping around and people rightfully question it.
If you watch the game again, after Watson's miracle goal, watto went to the centre bounce Danglerflop iediately grabs him by the jumper from behind allowing Watto's opponent to grab the ball. 3 minutes later Amon hardly touched Danglerflop no where near as inhibiting as his hold on Watson, and the free was paid faster than a human being can put a whistle in their mouth.

Let it go mate. Watto kicked a snag of a lifetime but after that was awful. Got a lot to learn.

I haven't watched the replay but did this happen in the second quarter? I noticed Watson have a long conversation in the second quarter with an umpire, probably went for 15 seconds.

Also no.12 umpire paid 6 free kicks in a row to Geelong at one stage.

I haven't watched the replay but did this happen in the second quarter? I noticed Watson have a long conversation in the second quarter with an umpire, probably went for 15 seconds.

Also no.12 umpire paid 6 free kicks in a row to Geelong at one stage.
Indeed it was.

Dangerflog kept driving his big head towards our players legs. Weddle, mass and I think Amon didn't know wtf was going on. He also dropped the ball on more one occasion but nothing come of it. Reckon next time chols rucking , Meek stands next to that flog and just pile drives him head first into the turf!!

Yeah always feels like when we play Geelong we’re getting destroyed by the umpires. They just skirt the rules well but it always feels so inconsistent against them

Dangerflog kept driving his big head towards our players legs. Weddle, mass and I think Amon didn't know wtf was going on. He also dropped the ball on more one occasion but nothing come of it. Reckon next time chols rucking , Meek stands next to that flog and just pile drives him head first into the turf!!

The highlight package they show on the Sunday footy show the first 2 “just wanted it more” was clips of him doing a big seal dive on the ball and taking legs out. Sicily and someone else both went to ground

He did it in the Easter Monday game too. Knowing he can get away with it against Hawthorn he'll keep doing it.

Melbourne as well had some big units in the middle (Trac, Oliver) in their recent mini run.

It's not just the midfield as well, I always felt the Cats players looked maybe a couple of centimetres taller and a couple of kilos heavier than us over the last 15 years.

I think CJ is a classic example of this in action. On a clear day at the MCG in the regular season he can be a weapon but in a tight contested finals against a hardened, powerful unit like the Cats he is up against it as he really struggles to enforce himself physically.

You just can't expect a guy weighing 80kg dripping wet to compete against 90kg+ players, especially in a final.

Yeah always feels like when we play Geelong we’re getting destroyed by the umpires. They just skirt the rules well but it always feels so inconsistent against them
It's always the same three factors when we play Geelong

1. Geelong getting every 50/50 call in their favour
2. Hawks players making uncharecistic skill errors
3. Geelong bigger bodies grinding us down by the end of the game

Makes watching these matches super rough TBH.

Compared to say when ever we play the Pies in which I always feel we are 80% chance to win regardless of our ladder position.

The Umps get distracted by the cannonball attack on the footy they forget that according to the rules you can't take the players legs out. They can piss and moan about it if he ever gets pulled up on it but for some reason he's never had to alter the way he plays because he gets more leeway than alot of other players. I counted 1 free kick that was there out of the 4-5 he received and he definitely uses this to his advantage knowing he gets away with it.

I still believe had McGuinness played it would have made a difference. The type of role he was made to play as a tagger. Same height as Danger not as big strong but has a turn of speed which allows him to negate Butters/Daicos type of players.

Autopsy 2025 Preliminary Final: Hawks get rolled