Preview Prelim Final 25 - Geelong V Hawthorn Fri 19th Sept 2025 740pm @ MCG

Love your confidence, but very little basis for that margin, that result.
They have won 2 interstate finals, and play at their HG, have oodles of confidence, speed and fitness, and thrive on being underdogs.
We have played 1 one game in 4 weeks by the time we meet Hawks, albeit a brilliant 1 game.
This’ll be very nail-biting, like most Hawks Cats games

I think they'll be well beaten. Granted they've improved, but so have we, with added players and tagging machines for pressure. Their wins were soft kills against poor opposition- nowhere near our calibre if we're on.
They have two of their prime movers under an injury cloud, where we are rested, trained and in good nick (the positive side of a break).We did have to fight to get away from Brisbane- Umps won't be doing that again.
We'll be too good, hard, fast and classy for them, that's the reality- sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.

Yes, watched that, all the reasons why, then a bit amused at the end when Lloyd said Geelong by a point. LOL.
And more BS about why the AFL should have fined Bailey, because poor Kenny's 20k lighter, get over it morons.

I have a funny feeling Shannon Neale is going to truly announce himself in this game. He got well and truly beaten by Harris Andrews, but never gave up. The reward comes here.
Hawks dont have a tall backline so this is a huge one for him to dominate with his reach id we kick it to advantage

Just got to kept the tackle pressure up. We had the same number of tackles in a half Hawks did all game last week. Don't give them space to run.

Start Danger in the middle. Clamp Newcombe. Put a man in front of Gunston. Run Weddle off his feet. Clamp Watson.

Nervous but reckon we've got this.

I've been waiting a while for a Hawks v Cats final where we are on fairly equal terms mouth watering prospect I'd have loved this to have been the GF.

There’s been no massive blow outs so far in this final series, which is good for footy.

Cats and Hawk games are normally thrillers. I totally suspect this game will anyone’s going into the 4th QTR.

Old dogs can be taught new tricks after all, thank god!

Kennett was interviewed about this game recently and thankfully he has learned his lesson. Told everyone he was going to “lay low this game”. Gave nothing away at all!

Lots of great match ups! Dangerfield is our biggest concern, he always stands up against the Hawks…. Even when he is injured, you just send him forward to kick goals on us. He is an absolute weapon for you and nightmare for us!

You just have to respect the Cats season after season, your record speaks for it self.

Anyway all that respect is on hold Friday night, it will be a ripper of a game….. Go get those Cats … Hawkas!

I love your confidence.. but i just feel sick in the stomach as its our biggest rival in Hawthorn. Yes we are the better team than them, but I still feel sick as its Hawthorn
Geelong is a better team but so was Adelaide. It still depends on which team turns up to play. We can hope Scott has them primed to play like they did against Brisbane but it's not a given. But if we don't turn up we don't have any excuses.

Love your confidence, but very little basis for that margin, that result.
They have won 2 interstate finals, and play at their HG, have oodles of confidence, speed and fitness, and thrive on being underdogs.
We have played 1 one game in 4 weeks by the time we meet Hawks, albeit a brilliant 1 game.
This’ll be very nail-biting, like most Hawks Cats games

We play the Hawks 10 times, we win 7/10 imo, but this is a one off cut-throat final, anything can happen. I’m confident, but I’m aware that Hawthorn can very well topple us Friday night, they have weapons and are full of confidence after 2 good finals wins.

The GFC needs to get a restraining order on this deranged weirdo.

He's probably been drinking.... again

It’s almost as good as Brad Scott’s…. “Opposition supporters are jealous of bomber supporters”. Dude your team has been irrelevant for the last 25 years, 🤣🤣🤣

I claim at the time EFC recruited Brad Scott, they got him confused with his brother Chris Scott.

Not sure how they got the two confused one brother wins premierships the other kills football clubs. First north and now Bombers.

* edit: Apologies not game related. Please delete if you see fit.

The form line through Brisbane is very strong. Even going back to that Swans game, was a powerful performance. I am not convinced that Collingwood-Adelaide form line is strong.

The challenge will be Hawthorn’s ball use is the opposite of Brisbane, Brisbane go direct, whereas Hawthorn change the angle and go wider. They will be able to pull apart our structure more.

The most dangerous part of this game will be the first quarter. Get to quarter time close and we will be too good.

We have a lot more star power and that will tell the longer the game goes on.

Losing this game will be as big a fumble as the prelim last year. Won't happpen. One hand on the cup
It'd be considerably worse than last year. Last year we lost to the premiers in a coin-toss, after leading them.

Losing to 8th-placed Hawthorn (despite ladder position meaning less this season) would be a huge banana-peel moment for the footy club.

Personally, I feel like the boys simply wont allow this one to slip away. After last season, these guys all know the drill, and they know what's required.

But stranger things have happened on a footy field...