Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Think about this...

If we finish bottom 4 next year, Walsh gives us pick #5 as fa compo.

If Walsh wants a trade, he won't be going to a cellar dweller, it'll be Geelong/Hawks/Pies etc.

They won't have a pick even close to #5 to offer us... so what maximum do you think they'd give?

I'd take pick #5 next year over 1 mid-late 1st + a 2027 1st.
U match the bid and force a trade.

We should keep Charlie for another season. His value will increase as clubs get more desperate just like they did with Gibbs.
It really does depend on what the club think he'll do next year. Let's face it virtually none of us here know what he's really like and he would respond to not getting traded.

Does he play for his mates and do the best he can? Or does he sook it up?

I have a feeling that whatever he decides at the start of the year won't last all the way through.

If he comes in with the best intentions and then things get hard, I reckon he might drop his head.

It hasn’t been mentioned before but we could pay Charlie’s salary for a year or two to get a better return. We have seen the buyer receive a great deal when Geelong got 7 for taking salary, so why not give salary and get a great return?

At the end of the day, Charlie is an amazing footballer on his day but he’s isn’t exactly clutch or overly committed to us.

Where the club is at right now, smart money is to cash in on max value now.
Yes it hurts but u don’t get something for nothing & to get the biggest return for a gun player is to trade them when they still have great footy to play & be heavily contracted.
It's a balance, isn't it? I think this is our best opportunity to cash in on Charlie.

I think doing the trade next year would mean less of a return (see Petracca).

However, I also don't want us to panic sell (which we don't seem to be doing) and get unders for him.

Also don't want to be held to ransom by D'orazio. Rather get nothing than let him have a win.

I would have Chesser rated about what we paid for L Young/got for SPS.

You reckon it'll be more than a 50s pick?

A bit more, I think. We shopped SPS, and I don't think the Dogs had any desire to hold Young. Seems we've approached Chesser and WC would prefer to keep him - so whatever comparisons we want to draw on ability and age and injury and whatever else, there's a significant difference when it comes to the seller's motivation/position.

He's depreciated from his draft year, but not to the same extent as those other two. Reckon it'll be the Brissy second rounder, or maybe a pick swap involving earlier picks.

People who keep banging on about getting replacement star with the exits, I'm not sure I see the need if we're suring up enough positions in terms of fundamental play, plus there's potentially Shiel via DFA.

With the permutations I've mentioned previously, would people be happy with this sort of line-up?

FB: Khamis Dean Carroll
HB: Cowan Weitering Saad
C: Walsh Cerra Chesser
HF: Dattoli Kemp Shiel
FF: Hayward McKay Williams

R: O'Keeffe Cripps Hewett

INT: Haynes, O.Hollands, Robey, Smith
SUB: Moir

The rest:

FB: O'Farrell (inj) Duffy Newman
HB: Wilson Le.Young Charleson
C: Cottrell Lord L.Camporeale
HF: Fogarty Marsh/Reeves Motlop
FF: Evans Reidy Durdin

R: Pittonet B.Camporeale Ison

INT: Monahan, Gresham, Lo.Young, Binns?
SUB: White/Clark?

EDIT: Didn't realise Treloar got a 1 year deal...

To be fair, it's the pick that makes most sense for them, they're the only side in that top 10 lacking key defensive depth
Howard, Jack, Wilkie, Tauru? I reckon they're fine there. Someone who displaces Stocker makes more sense if they go a defensive pick, but they need forward and midfield reinforcements more.

It's a balance, isn't it? I think this is our best opportunity to cash in on Charlie.

I think doing the trade next year would mean less of a return (see Petracca).

However, I also don't want us to panic sell (which we don't seem to be doing) and get unders for him.

Also don't want to be held to ransom by D'orazio. Rather get nothing than let him have a win.

If you want to hurt that D'Orazio scumbag and fix the player 'kulcha' - you actually refuse any deal and make curnow play VFL - for starters.

QED.

Over the remainder of the contract, which is exactly what I'm stating. A player moving on doesn't affect what they've been paid so far, or how what they will be going forward. So Charlie wouldn't need to pay us back what's he's been paid if he left in the back half of a front ended deal. And Collingwood couldn't trade their back ended deal players to avoid the expensive part of the contracts.
But they should pay back over the average paid annual wage should they initiate a trade/want away.

Hence the back-ended contracts are harder to get off the books (or part paid by the original club if traded). E.g. Oliver gets paid $1.4M from now on, so he either takes a clip personally, trading club takes the full contract wage or MFC part pays to make whole the amount owed.

Players that are front-loaded can renegotiate at their new club so have double-dipped if they rip & run mid-contract.

Think about this...

If we finish bottom 4 next year, Walsh gives us pick #5 as fa compo.

If Walsh wants a trade, he won't be going to a cellar dweller, it'll be Geelong/Hawks/Pies etc.

They won't have a pick even close to #5 to offer us... so what maximum do you think they'd give?

I'd take pick #5 next year over 1 mid-late 1st + a 2027 1st.
Compo may only come into play after pick#10 as part of the F/S > draft changes. Teams out of the finals to have a pick before compo.

I would have Chesser rated about what we paid for L Young/got for SPS.

You reckon it'll be more than a 50s pick?

I don't think he'll cost more than a late 3rd rounder.

Has been hit with injuries, but the games he has played, he hasn't done much to impress.

There was talk about his work ethic not being great when he got to the club too...

Potential is there and we'd be banking on a fresh start to and a kick up the back side to unlock that.