Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Should we have matched St.Kilda's offer for a player who has not been available to play as often as he's been available to play over ten years?I'd say if anybody should be ashamed , it should be Jack. I do however, understand that he was offered a contract beyond his worth, so from that perspective I can understand it—nothing to do with the club at all.

Everything I've read was that Jack was offered the "beyond his worth contract" well after he'd announced he was leaving. At that stage it looked like the Pies or Bulldogs and their offers were very similar to ours.

So no, we shouldn't have matched Saints offer but we had matched the others and he still left. I'm not so sure it's Jack that should be ashamed here, there's something not right with this club.

If we traded CC for picks only WTF we doing with our 2026 salary cap?

Buku Khamis, you're the next contestant on who wants to be a millionaire!

If we trade CC for picks only, then Nick Austin is the dumbest list manager in the history of the sport.

Basically, I don’t expect it to be picks only.

Everything I've read was that Jack was offered the "beyond his worth contract" well after he'd announced he was leaving. At that stage it looked like the Pies or Bulldogs and their offers were very similar to ours.

So no, we shouldn't have matched Saints offer but we had matched the others and he still left. I'm not so sure it's Jack that should be ashamed here, there's something not right with this club.
Nah stuff em both
If you’re not with us , you’re against us
It’s the emblem not the players
Looking forward to hating the Stains even more than before and Charlie?
With this carry on if true and it looks like it is. ‘ Off Ya Pop ‘…!!

Little wonder we struggled thus year with a so called ‘Leader’ looking at other options during the year

Clear out all this crap and we’ll be better for it

Maybe not next year but going forward we will be 💪💙

Depends what the picks are, if they are early picks, not a bad outcome, a couple more top five picks is better than fringe players.
Walter would be a good get, but l expect Sydney to get it done possibly with another club involved.

I think picks for someone like CC isn’t maximising his worth. You can identify a 18 year old kid(s) you want to draft, but will their talent translate to the AFL. It’s a risk. I’d be happier with one or (preferably) two good 22-24 year olds and a pick.

If we trade CC for picks only, then Nick Austin is the dumbest list manager in the history of the sport.

Basically, I don’t expect it to be picks only.
Wright will have involvement in such a monumental decision. I don’t get how Austin has become a huge whipping boy around here.

Most don’t realise just how much draft capital is needed to get Cody Walker next year, and some chance we will need nearly as much for Dean this year.

The changes to the DVI and discount could cost us an extra two first round picks over two years. The days of multi picks matching a father son or academy pick are gone.

We are entering a five year window where we have multiple superb prospects tied to us. To match them is going to take the lion’s share if our draft capital. We are going to have to be very creative and possibly have to make considerable sacrifice to gain our premium kids. As mentioned elsewhere 2029 has Arli Walker a future gun and potentially a Judd and a Scotland depending on progression and preference.

We cannot pass on Cody to get decent high profile trades. It would be like Collingwood passing on Daicos or The Dogs passing on Darcy. The same will absolutely apply for Arli. The previous year has key forward prospect Lukas Koutoufides so banking picks may not be practical.

In a couple of very compromised drafts, Austin and his team have to future proof our key position group (defence covered, will need a KPF tyro), upgrade our pace and ball movement, upgrade our forward mix and lock down a viable ruck division.

Austin and team have done a spectacular job in recent years acquiring many long term best 22 players with very limited draft hands Smith the jewel in the crown hopefully, but Lord, Moir, O’Farrell, Cowan, Ollie H, Carroll, O’Keeffe, the Campo twins, hopefully Motlop and Evans, and more speculatively Wilson, White, Young, Charleson and the Irish lads may yet surprise if given development time. Harry Dean, Jack Ison and next Year Cody are locks, with some chance Gresham and Clark could add to the mix. There are close to a full field of playing numbers in that group. There are a dozen current staples to add to that list, admittedly three are likely to retire in the next couple of years, and a couple of solid depth types at very least. Add three or more trades Chesser, Reidy, Khamis as pieces to partly fill a couple of our gaps and the future could conceivably brighten up very quickly.

The massive key that is turned by the names above is that they are dedicated to the cause. The term young core has emanated from the club in recent times. Even Voss renowned for leaning on the old boys club at Brisbane and now here has changed his tune. He has bought in to a future vision. It remains to be seen if he can become the coach to get us where we want to go, but it seems our off field leaders are finally focussed on a shared vision for an enhanced future.

Back to what I quoted. There is a scenario that leaves us with ONLY picks. If Charlie does not buy in when he is the obvious focal point of our game and such a critical player, then his presence will become counter productive. Yes, we want quality to replace him, but removing him may become a priority if some of the rumblings are true. Having, say three prominent picks to use this draft and/or next has considerable benefit to the club. The club is posturing for a quality player coming back, but may settle for a significant draft hand in a pivotal time for the club.

I think picks for someone like CC isn’t maximising his worth. You can identify a 18 year old kid(s) you want to draft, but will their talent translate to the AFL. It’s a risk. I’d be happier with one or (preferably) two good 22-24 year olds and a pick.
lt may still play out that way most likely opportunity to achieve this would be with Gold Coast.
I still think Sydney is most likely involving another club, there may be a player attached to that, not sure anyone knows with certainty right now.

Wright will have involvement in such a monumental decision. I don’t get how Austin has become a huge whipping boy around here.

My second line about basically not expecting the trade to be picks only was to say I think Nick Austin is a much better list manager than to only trade CC for picks.

Most don’t realise just how much draft capital is needed to get Cody Walker next year, and some chance we will need nearly as much for Dean this year.

The changes to the DVI and discount could cost us an extra two first round picks over two years. The days of multi picks matching a father son or academy pick are gone.

We are entering a five year window where we have multiple superb prospects tied to us. To match them is going to take the lion’s share if our draft capital. We are going to have to be very creative and possibly have to make considerable sacrifice to gain our premium kids. As mentioned elsewhere 2029 has Arli Walker a future gun and potentially a Judd and a Scotland depending on progression and preference.

We cannot pass on Cody to get decent high profile trades. It would be like Collingwood passing on Daicos or The Dogs passing on Darcy. The same will absolutely apply for Arli. The previous year has key forward prospect Lukas Koutoufides so banking picks may not be practical.

In a couple of very compromised drafts, Austin and his team have to future proof our key position group (defence covered, will need a KPF tyro), upgrade our pace and ball movement, upgrade our forward mix and lock down a viable ruck division.

Austin and team have done a spectacular job in recent years acquiring many long term best 22 players with very limited draft hands Smith the jewel in the crown hopefully, but Lord, Moir, O’Farrell, Cowan, Ollie H, Carroll, O’Keeffe, the Campo twins, hopefully Motlop and Evans, and more speculatively Wilson, White, Young, Charleson and the Irish lads may yet surprise if given development time. Harry Dean, Jack Ison and next Year Cody are locks, with some chance Gresham and Clark could add to the mix. There are close to a full field of playing numbers in that group. There are a dozen current staples to add to that list, admittedly three are likely to retire in the next couple of years, and a couple of solid depth types at very least. Add three or more trades Chesser, Reidy, Khamis as pieces to partly fill a couple of our gaps and the future could conceivably brighten up very quickly.

The massive key that is turned by the names above is that they are dedicated to the cause. The term young core has emanated from the club in recent times. Even Voss renowned for leaning on the old boys club at Brisbane and now here has changed his tune. He has bought in to a future vision. It remains to be seen if he can become the coach to get us where we want to go, but it seems our off field leaders are finally focussed on a shared vision for an enhanced future.

Back to what I quoted. There is a scenario that leaves us with ONLY picks. If Charlie does not buy in when he is the obvious focal point of our game and such a critical player, then his presence will become counter productive. Yes, we want quality to replace him, but removing him may become a priority if some of the rumblings are true. Having, say three prominent picks to use this draft and/or next has considerable benefit to the club. The club is posturing for a quality player coming back, but may settle for a significant draft hand in a pivotal time for the club.

Okay, fair enough mate. Very good post.

You don't understand how Austin has become a whipping boy after managing to fail setting us up for a long premiership tilt with a core of Cripps, Curnow, McKay, Weitering, Walsh, Docherty, Newman, JSOS and TDK already there when he arrived?

In an AFL landscape dominated by quality small forwards and goal kicking mids we still have the a group of

Durdin, Motlop, Williams, Fantasia, Evans, White, Young and Cottrell as ours...

Austin has made some good picks but his overall build of the list has been a disaster.

Does anyone think west coast or essendon will give up their future 1st those 2 will be bottom 2 next yr. I really want multiple top 10 picks next yr
Not just for Cody but a couple of live picks would be awesome
Not sure about futures which clearly we need but I think the eagles will be involved in the Charlie trade.Just a hunch.

lt may still play out that way most likely opportunity to achieve this would be with Gold Coast.
I still think Sydney is most likely involving another club, there may be a player attached to that, not sure anyone knows with certainty right now.

I almost fell off my chair. You posted this half an hour ago. :p

You don't understand how Austin has become a whipping boy after managing to fail setting us up for a long premiership tilt with a core of Cripps, Curnow, McKay, Weitering, Walsh, Docherty, Newman, JSOS and TDK already there when he arrived?

In an AFL landscape dominated by quality small forwards and goal kicking mids we still have the a group of

Durdin, Motlop, Williams, Fantasia, Evans, White, Young and Cottrell as ours...

Austin has made some good picks but his overall build of the list has been a disaster.
I dunno, I reckon he's done much better than SOS did.

If you want to believe that the St.Kilda offer suddenly came out of nowhere, no worries, I don't, and even if it did, Jack leaving the club can say more about him than it does the club. You don't need to believe that, but I certainly do.

If we traded CC for picks only WTF we doing with our 2026 salary cap?

Buku Khamis, you're the next contestant on who wants to be a millionaire!
Pay it forward!

Increase our top end payments, so we have future cap relief, instead of for the now!

Re-Sign Walsh then target free agents

Bailey
King
Byrne-Jones
Butters
McInerney

Serong
Rowell
Ash
Green
Comben
Weightman

The difference between us and St.Kilda is that we wouldn't be that stupid as to pay him that much.
TDK getting paid as much as Gawn and Grundy combined is wild.

Fitness staff mishandling his injuries. Wright coming in and letting the players know the gravy train is over. I just don't see what Voss could have done considering how easy he has been on Charlie, even when his standards dropped.

The last one is the fans. We called out a lot of conditional stuff last season.

These are possibilities, not facts.
Great insight Soap all I want to know is what has pissed him off this badly.It can’t just be the coach.

Ed Curnow is also really unhappy with the club - have spoken to people who have spoken directly to him about it. They didn't say what his specific grievances were, just that Ed is completely off them. So it seems maybe the whole Curnow family has been turned? Charlie could feel slighted on his brothers behalf, along with other points mentioned.

meh

Also pissed off that the club is no longer drinking Charlie's bathwater?

So potentially similar to what people have been saying about JSOS going off the club due to SOS lol

According to foxsports Curnow approached the cats as early as May - a bit early in the season to blame the fans for going off him (suggested in ODNs post) - also a couple of months before JSOS even received a contract offer…

Seems to me this may be more of a business decision. As the brothers move from Football to business they want to make sure the Geelong community is on board. I wouldn't read much more in to it than that TBH. Let's get the best possible deal that sets us up for success, even though is is hard to let go of the emotional ties we have to some players. Charlie can light up the Carlton crowd in a mercurial instant.