Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

'Powerhouse destination Club'

I reckon when St Kilda’s massive outlays of stupid contracts explodes in their faces with Bassat as President, he’s going to need Seek for his next job.

On one hand, what the Saints are sooking about is the right move long term, however, the part that is annoying is that they're only having a sook cause they're not invited to the party.

I promise you it they have a few elite father sons in the next couple of seasons, you wouldn't hear even a squek from them.
Impossible for them to have any father sons. ;)

Voss 1st year was 2022. Ed missed all that season with injuries and was put on the Rookie List in 2023. He played 17 games that season.

Did he think he deserved another year on the Rookie list in 2024?

that's what I've been told, yes. or just another year in general - didn't specify whether rookie listed or not.

Few updates
Gold coast interest shifted from Blues/Curnow to Demons and Trak, seems easier to get a deal done at this stage and discussions progressing re Jamarra and GC. (3rd trade option for curnow right now)
Curnow management team working hard on cats and target is Holmes (diff management team) - curnow still likely to land at swans.
Interestingly - based on draft picks secured and compo……. West coast Pick 2 and even their future first in play.
Door is also slightly ajar on Butters depending upon picks blues secure.
Expect Blues to have 3 future firsts by end of trade period.
#Blu#Bluemour
Get this and butters I will be happy (assuming its only curnow of our core that we lose though) :p

Thank you yazz

Long Live Hail GIF

Few updates
Gold coast interest shifted from Blues/Curnow to Demons and Trak, seems easier to get a deal done at this stage and discussions progressing re Jamarra and GC. (3rd trade option for curnow right now)
Curnow management team working hard on cats and target is Holmes (diff management team) - curnow still likely to land at swans.
Interestingly - based on draft picks secured and compo……. West coast Pick 2 and even their future first in play.
Door is also slightly ajar on Butters depending upon picks blues secure.
Expect Blues to have 3 future firsts by end of trade period.

This is what I care about the most... especially if we somehow get a hold of WCE's...

My view is that Curnow is equivalent to 3000 draft points. And I am talking 3000 points after draft points have been pushed back

2 Coleman medals, key forward, game changer, 4-year contract, balanced out by age 29 and a poor 2025. I think 3000 points is about right to a team in/ near the window needing a key forward.

Geelong is absolutely out of the question. There is no way they can generate that type of currency.

Gold Coast I don't think can piss away existing academy players and upcoming draft. Its a possibility but looking more unlikely.

Which leaves the Swans. Crunching the numbers and a small amount of swans intel on how it could get done.

1st round Pick 9 2025 (estimated to be pushed back) Pick 15 = 973 points
1st round pick 2026 (rough valuation on ladder position and concessions) Pick 16 = 924 points
2nd round 2026 (rough valuation on ladder position and concessions) Pick 33 = 382 points

That would leave the deal approximately 700 points short. Equivalent of approx Pick 22.

For that price there may be a few some interest in movement for a few players. Will Hayward 26 Year old medium forward. The other player I would consider is Justin McInerney, 25 Year old outside mid who is hitting his straps, can run and kick and has some toughness.

Out Curnow

In Sydney 1st rounders 2025 and 2026
Sydney 2nd rounder 2026
Hayward or McInerney

Sets us up for both high quality drafting, including FS and academy and capital and inject quality role players.

So that backs up the picks only comment from yesterday. Securing Dean and Ison, having our picks ready for Cody, snagging the three of Chesser, Reidy and Buku will amount to a good period. Butters would just make it amazing, and WC future 1st which could be #1. It speaks to focus on youth and list balance this year, a bigger fish and Cody next year. Or Cody and Cochrane. But if something pops up that is big, we might look at it if it fits and works for us.

I’d fall off my bed if we end up with WC’s future first, which will be Pick 1 again. I will fall through the floor if that happens and the AFL don’t allow Port access to Cochran.

Imagine drafting Cochran and Walker next year.

Old mate Charlie ain't going to be happy, the Swans are the only logical choice, unless GWS shows interest.(they mightn't have the salary cap space)

Good.

Charlie’s unhappiness makes me happy.

Hard to care about him anymore when he’s literally used the club as a cash cow (while supporting him through his self inflicted injuries) and then he wants out with four years to run on his contract. He’s the most selfish player in the competition.

I’d fall off my bed if we end up with WC’s future first, which will be Pick 1 again. I will fall through the floor if that happens and the AFL don’t allow Port access to Cochran.

Imagine drafting Cochran and Walker next year.
I dont think WCE will finish bottom again - reckon * are a good chance of that

But if we do end up with their future first, and it is pick 1 id imagine we could end up with more than "just" cochrane and cody in the first round

I dont think WCE will finish bottom again - reckon * are a good chance of that

You know, good point about *. They did win 6 games this years but they are losing a lot of talent, probably including their captain. Not sure if that would be enough for WC to win enough games to leapfrog *, but it’s not impossible thinking about it.

But if we do end up with their future first, and it is pick 1 id imagine we could end up with more than "just" cochrane and cody in the first round

And this makes me happy.

Of course we need to get these future 1st first to see what is possible. Pretty excited about the trade period.

Sam McClure on the Tradies Podcast today said that “Chris Davies start at Carlton has been quite eye opening for people at Ikon Park … there’s been some heads turned by Chris’ ability to say things as they are and not beat around the bush” he goes on to say there have been a couple meetings have taken place where Davies has questioned why certain things are done that way and when the response was “well that’s how we’ve always done it” Davies response was “well some things are about to change”

Mitch Cleary also stated how close Davies and Butters are.

How do we have the capacity to get Holmes and Butters as well as 3 future firsts?

(I hope it’s true and we do but still how)