List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

melbourne says hi re Mac Andrew

that said - im a member of "the only academies which should be allowed are Gold Coast and GWS - and the minute they take a father son - the academy is gone" school
The academies are great and the proof is in the pudding that they actually work in creating elite talent and is a huge advantage to the AFL in a growing market, they will never give that up. AFL in Brisbane is booming, helped by the fact so many Victorians have relocated to QLD post Covid and that it is now established in the school system. If your looking at the greater good of the game and expanding its market then they are a good thing for the competition.

The thing with Collingwood and Nick Daicos is they actually finished 2nd last that year. If they hadn't already traded out their pick the previous year for points, they actually finished low enough to take Daicos with their natural selection.

Darcy Moore they used a top 10 pick on under a different system. Didnt really get a discount on him at all.

Josh Daicos they took with a pick in the 50s. If anyone bid on him below 30 highly doubt they match. Clubs had their chance. He just happens to have worked out really well.

So the whole unfair father son rules helped pies win a flag is garbage. A lot of luck and good timing yes. But if you really look at it they haven't been given that much of a legup.

Regarding Will Ashcroft I have no issue with Lions being able to get him while on top of the ladder. The issue is they shouldn't have had enough currency for Dunkley and Fletcher too. Will should have wiped them from 2 drafts. Would still be unders but fine with that. Him being at the Lions is good for the game.
They still miss on other players if the rules were what they are going to be next season. Maynard pick for example would’ve been eaten up with the Moore pick. They done so much trading in that 2020/2021 period I don’t even know who that future first ended up netting them. Quaynor is the other gift they got who was a star during their premiership.
They won a premiership by less than a goal. Advantages like these play a massive role

Ashcroft is the prime example of the whole thing being a joke. Sure they should be able to get Ashcroft but that means they probably don’t get Fletcher and obviously miss on Dunkley.

After all is said and done, what would be a good outcome from losing TDK, Curnow, and SOS?

Are high end picks even worth it? Do any players even want to come here?

Someone give me some hope! :laughing:

The academies are great and the proof is in the pudding that they actually work in creating elite talent and is a huge advantage to the AFL in a growing market, they will never give that up. AFL in Brisbane is booming, helped by the fact so many Victorians have relocated to QLD post Covid and that it is now established in the school system. If your looking at the greater good of the game and expanding its market then they are a good thing for the competition.
but taking top 10 father sons and 1st round academies is too much - i watched the suns and lions academies teams beat the hell out of the vic metro under 16 girls team this year. the work is done in qld - footy is entrenched

The funny thing is, they will only get better in QLD! This is something that the AFL have seen firsthand since covid, why, because they now know that weather means more people participate in outdoor sports in QLD. The amount of junior everything is off the charts, the same thing is happening in NSW for the same reasons. The private girl's system in NSW (which is 10-fold on Vic), has its own AFL comp which feeds the AFL systems, they even have private coaching from ex AFL players/coaches.

Hey guys, what is the deal with Charlie curnow?? Is he staying or leaving?? Near impossible to see geelong getting a deal done. Is it looking Sydney or GCS??

Cheers

Be interesting to see the impact of a 5 person bench on list management approaches; reckon two ruckman will become a bit of a norm now you can rest one on the bench without gutting rotations.

I'm happy to give up a couple of 1st rounders to get Cody.
My main concerns are the concessions Tassie will be getting.
No 1....how do we get Arli?
No 2....how do we keep Moo?
Arli we hide from now knowing what the deal is.
Moo we have to get better as a team. BUT as a young bloke moving back to Tassie from Melbourne would be hard. Unless they pay him crazy money.

Arli we hide from now knowing what the deal is.
Moo we have to get better as a team. BUT as a young bloke moving back to Tassie from Melbourne would be hard. Unless they pay him crazy money.
I'd love to see him trialed as a mid, gives me Josh Dunkley vibes and could take over from Georgie.
Also would like to see him in the leadership group, has it in spades

PS... i'd take Hobart over Melb any day in the current climate

I'm happy to give up a couple of 1st rounders to get Cody.
My main concerns are the concessions Tassie will be getting.
No 1....how do we get Arli?
No 2....how do we keep Moo?

Arli is 2029 draft. Tassie will have #5 + #9 (likely #1 too as surely WC will be finishing above them by then).

They will have to trade that #5 pick too.

We're not going to have a 2 win year in 2027 come on...

All FA will cost overs unless you're in the flag contention spot. There's nothing that can be done about that.

Just need to make the right choices. But it is doable.
If we give up Charlie and others who "dont want to be there" for a pack of magic beans a-la 2013-14 times we could certainly be looking at something similar to that in 2 years.

I don't think it'll get to that stage.

Unlike back then, we actually already have a solid young crop coming through:

Cowan, Jagga, HOK, HOF, Ollie, Moir

Then there's Cody, Dean, Ison all coming through this year and next.

Tassie and West Coast will be walkovers, we will win minimum 6 games in 2027 but likely more.

I suppose, like almost everything we speculate about on here, time will tell...

I don't think it'll get to that stage.

Unlike back then, we actually already have a solid young crop coming through:

Cowan, Jagga, HOK, HOF, Ollie, Moir

Then there's Cody, Dean, Ison all coming through this year and next.

Tassie and West Coast will be walkovers, we will win minimum 6 games in 2027 but likely more.

I suppose, like almost everything we speculate about on here, time will tell...
Yeah I want to be getting max value for Charlie if he does go, I said value of 3 first rounders or no go.

That and we need to hang onto Weiters, Walsh, Harry and Cripps. I agree it doesn't look as grim as 2015, but at the same time we wouldn't of expected being a mid range team 2013 with a side that wasnt that old to being total dogshit in 2 years.

Ideally we keep the experienced stars around a bit and marry them up with a new crop coming through, pretty much all the top sides end up being a mix of that.

Also from your list above while I have hopes for HOK and Moir they are still fairly unknown and could end up being absolutely nothing and delisted in 2 years. Ollie will be a good solid long term player, and Cowan I think even better than that. Jagga should be a gun, but still hasn't played a game yet

If we are to lose charlie I hope we get some key position depth , doesn't have to be a super just afl standard depth. A body miochek type would be nice to compliment Harry.

I think with the way sone of the tall intercept defenders are going like Harris Andrews etc we need that extra height to bring ball to ground.

I heard them say Hok would be played up front & I rate him highly but more as a ruckman.

Isn't this a carltons supporters favourite time of the year !!! LOL 😆 😆 😆 😆

If we are to lose charlie I hope we get some key position depth , doesn't have to be a super just afl standard depth. A body miochek type would be nice to compliment Harry.

I think with the way sone of the tall intercept defenders are going like Harris Andrews etc we need that extra height to bring ball to ground.

I heard them say Hok would be played up front & I rate him highly but more as a ruckman.

Isn't this a carltons supporters favourite time of the year !!! LOL 😆 😆 😆 😆
we have a tall intercepting defender in our VFL team. However, I believe that Haynes is doing a very good job at present.