Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

What do you mean you're 'sick of big fish hunting'?? When is the last time we've signed a 'big fish'? Judd 20 years ago??

I'd say going after Daniher & Lachie Neale has won Brisbane two premierships...

role players get you to the Top 8 but don't win you flags.

I'll take top 8, thanks :(

At least - let's get there and stay there and then start worrying about taking the next step.

It’s not really clear with Charlie to me, with Elijah it’s crystal clear what happened….i mean missing 4 weeks then 12 weeks is clear as day, next one is goneski
With EH, there’s disappointment and then there’s the “burning of bridges”that was spouted.

All sounds very dramatic and non-supportive if you allude to the Pres & Coach being scorched.
He’s still around the players
Was welcomed back by Vossy to the VFL
Q. Is what bridges are downed..
Poor arse support systems IMO if it’s just numbers stacking up vs more personal erosion of relationships.

Re: Charlie, there hasn’t been any definite reasons other than “desperate” being constantly mentioned..
Call it out media / manager.

In fairness Clayton Oliver already behaves like a Collingwood player

Regarding the player who may unlock a trade.

I was thinking that if Sydney doesn't want to trade their names, but are willing to give a lot of picks, the question is who, from outside Sydney, might we be targeting?
That’s the angle I’ve been looking at it from, obtaining a 1st round pick for a player we lined up for a trade from another club…

Ed retired at the end of 2023. His 24 and 25 and down on 22/23. Without Ed the club didn't have anyone to keep him in check and motivated.
Seems like someone who can achieve anything IF he wants it, otherwise happy to go through the motions knowing that his natural ability will keep him in the top half of anything he tries.
It's why he's kick 3 goals in 10 minutes then coast the rest of the game.

I would rather geelong and west coast future 1st in a better draft, I don't rate this yrs draft at all we would end up with top 2 pick we can use before walker bid we could end up with
Malady or Neoclesous along with Walker

When did the bromance with Bailey Smith begin?

through their manager Robbie D'Orazio who put them into a teeny-bopper, cat p*** tasting vodka brand that they all shamelessly flog on their socials

Barry's Drink owned by Business partner Robert D'Orazio, Bailey Smith, Nick & Josh Daicos & Charlie

With EH, there’s disappointment and then there’s the “burning of bridges”that was spouted.

All sounds very dramatic and non-supportive if you allude to the Pres & Coach being scorched.
He’s still around the players
Was welcomed back by Vossy to the VFL
Q. Is what bridges are downed..
Poor arse support systems IMO if it’s just numbers stacking up vs more personal erosion of relationships.

Re: Charlie, there hasn’t been any definite reasons other than “desperate” being constantly mentioned..
Call it out media / manager.
An extra 300k per year would make me desperate too

I think we can all understand why the club is disappointed in EH without going into it.

The ONE question I think we're all entitled to know is WHY is Curnow so 'off' the club? It's the one piece that seemingly no journo wants to learn. He's adored by his teammates & the fan base. He was put into the leadership group and was/is a respected, loved & valued member of the team. Why the sudden 180 degree change in behaviour & attitude??

Voss and the footy dept had one job - keep this guy healthy & happy and we'll get 70 goals a year from him for the next five years, merch & memberships will be as strong as ever - from the outside looking in - they've f****d it up royally.

I want to know why there is a blowup between the club & Charlie and how its happened.

(have been told by one close associate of Charlie that Voss is a poor relationship coach and never speaks to Charlie. IF that happens to be true it's a disgrace we've got the point where Charlie is now 'desperate' to get out.)
Why? Because it can’t be CC’s fault?

Think about the final game in 22 when we lost to Collingwood. Curnow plays on in last quarter when we are leading instead of taking his full 30 seconds. Every AFL player knows what to do in this situation. But apparently not CC.

Did he humbly promise his teammates not to do it again or continue to do it time and time again in coming years? Anyone that watches Carlton knows the answer to that.

To the stage where Voss and Cripps ripped him in front of others and he sooked it up.

I would not have Voss as coach so not going to stick up for him but blaming him as not good at relationships when literally every other player talks about his skill in this area is just CC being CC.

An extra 300k per year would make me desperate too

Yeah, that's something that hasn't been aired that much. I'm led to believe Charlie is on about $900k a year which has been heavily front-ended - so in his world he's playing the next few years for 'unders' relative to what he's seeing his mates like TDK go and earn...

Initially I was thinking is this a ploy to scare the the footy club into renegotiating his current deal? It's a classic D'Orazio play.

The longer it's drawn out however suggests there's a bit in the whole trying to get a fatter contract.

Why? Because it can’t be CC’s fault?

Think about the final game in 22 when we lost to Collingwood. Curnow plays on in last quarter when we are leading instead of taking his full 30 seconds. Every AFL player knows what to do in this situation. But apparently not CC.

Did he humbly promise his teammates not to do it again or continue to do it time and time again in coming years? Anyone that watches Carlton knows the answer to that.

To the stage where Voss and Cripps ripped him in front of others and he sooked it up.

I would not have Voss as coach so not going to stick up for him but blaming him as not good at relationships when literally every other player talks about his skill in this area is just CC being CC.

I’ll never forget that play on around the corner in that game, literally cost us the game. Take 30 seconds and that game was over. He’s done it 10 times since.

I think the whole club has given Charlie a lot of leeway on and off the field over the years. Just put it down to Charlie being Charlie but he’s cost us as well at times.

He’s a bit of a space cadet let’s be serious !

Only club I could see Nick leaving for would be Tassie as the Gaz-type recruit on a squillion dollars. Step out of his surname's shadow and do something few have done. Then he could come back to them to finish his career - again, like Gaz. Only move that I could see maintaining his reputation.

I’ll never forget that play on around the corner in that game, literally cost us the game. Take 30 seconds and that game was over. He’s done it 10 times since.

I think the whole club has given Charlie a lot of leeway on and off the field over the years. Just put it down to Charlie being Charlie but he’s cost us as well at times.

He’s a bit of a space cadet let’s be serious !

To be fair, we've benefited from his 'good' more than we have suffered from his 'bad'.

revenge for not winning the B&F this year
Nah - just hasn't seen his name in the papers for a day.

Collingwood have 2 players under 25 with more than 50 games experience - Daicos is one - there is no way they would even think of trading him,

Daicos would never walk away from the big club and all the financial & media opportunities that come with playing for Collingwood as a Daicos

This is simply his management making sure he is being talked about.