Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Agree to all of that. Geelong and Mackie can GAGF, and good luck to him dealing with SOS in the Marshall trade.

Swans in the box seat. They know the lay of the land, and what Carlton need both this year and next with the father son nominations. They'd also be fully aware that we're serious about acquiring a quality player in the deal.

A future 1st would likely go a long way in acquiring Cody along with our own. It also potentially unlocks other future picks for trades if we wanted to go down that path.

My prediction is that at the end of the trade period, it'll look like this:

Charlie, 2026 3rd >> Swans >> 2025 1st, 2026 1st, Hayward >> Carlton

I don't reckon Florent will be part of the deal. Any potential trade for him would be separate to the Charlie one if we're at all interested. Swans get our future 3rd back to 'soften the blow' so their supporter base doesn't feel they've been ripped off in the deal. At the end of the day, after all the haggling, I think there'll be a fair bit of goodwill from both sides in the final trade scenario.

Unlike the slimy used car salesman from Sleepy Hollow.
So you're trading a generational talent for two picks to allow us to get draftees that we would get regardless (Dean, Ison and Cody) and Hayward. And you are sending back a 3rd rounder in a strong draft for fun.
How about we get Dean, Ison and Cody anyway, keep Curnow and our 3rd rounder. Get the Hayward equivalent in Ainsworth for much cheaper and then have a long hard look in the mirror that we considered the first option.

Agree to all of that. Geelong and Mackie can GAGF, and good luck to him dealing with SOS in the Marshall trade.

Swans in the box seat. They know the lay of the land, and what Carlton need both this year and next with the father son nominations. They'd also be fully aware that we're serious about acquiring a quality player in the deal.

A future 1st would likely go a long way in acquiring Cody along with our own. It also potentially unlocks other future picks for trades if we wanted to go down that path.

My prediction is that at the end of the trade period, it'll look like this:

Charlie, 2026 3rd >> Swans >> 2025 1st, 2026 1st, Hayward >> Carlton

I don't reckon Florent will be part of the deal. Any potential trade for him would be separate to the Charlie one if we're at all interested. Swans get our future 3rd back to 'soften the blow' so their supporter base doesn't feel they've been ripped off in the deal. At the end of the day, after all the haggling, I think there'll be a fair bit of goodwill from both sides in the final trade scenario.

Unlike the slimy used car salesman from Sleepy Hollow.

Problem is, we can't piss fart around... need to get that deal done so we can explore options with combining #10 + #11...

Preferably for a F1 from North or Melbourne...

Swans Give pick 10 + 2026 1st + Logan Mcdonald
Receive Curnow

Eagles Give Pick 2 + Chesser
Eagles Receive Mcdonald + Swans pick 10

Carlton Give Curnow
Receive Pick 2 + 2026 1st + Chesser
(That is Robey/Dursma + 1/2 Walker+ Chesser)

I expect that is tbe deals essence, if it happens, Maybe Acres or Mcgovern sweetens the deal and the swans work in a 2nd/round pick

So you're trading a generational talent for two picks to allow us to get draftees that we would get regardless (Dean, Ison and Cody) and Hayward. And you are sending back a 3rd rounder in a strong draft for fun.
How about we get Dean, Ison and Cody anyway, keep Curnow and our 3rd rounder. Get the Hayward equivalent in Ainsworth for much cheaper and then have a long hard look in the mirror that we considered the first option.

He's a generational dick head who has turned his back on this club...

After all we've done to stick by him, despite his numerous showings of stupidity, offered him the long term deal he wanted... now he decides he wants to bail? **** off then.

You really think if we don't trade him, he's going to suddenly come good? The guy was checked out in May - shopping himself around through his manager... he comes back, he's going to **** around again then request a trade again next year... with even less value to his name.

As for the return... the picks we get aren't "just to match bids"... such a flawed way of looking at it...

Let's have a look at your argument:

• We're going to get Walker regardless
    • Are we? How do you see us obtaining a second 1st rounder next year, a Jimmae special?
  • We're going to use Swans 1st to match the Dean bid
    • Now we're not... we won't be stupid enough to accept that offer without speaking to numerous clubs about moving up the order in this year's draft or potentially get another 1st rounder for next year's generational draft
    • That 1st from the Swans will be combined with the TDK pick to ensure we can either get a player before any Dean bid OR get an additional kid in next year's 1st round...
  • Get Ainsworth, the Hayward equivalent
    • How are they equivalent? Position they play? They both in fact, offer a different dynamic and adding both would be a pretty good change to our forward structure...

Receive Curnow

Carlton Give Curnow

I expect that is tbe deals essence, if it happens, Maybe Acres or Mcgovern sweetens the deal and the swans work in a 2nd/round pick

Why do WC want McDonald? I know he's from WA, but they have an abundance of options as KPFs... despite losing Allan...

Receive Curnow

Carlton Give Curnow

Swans would more out of that exchange after giving up McDonald, while we'd want more players.

For one - Papley ain’t what he used to be & is surely the wrong age profile for us.
Why?

Im not as doom and gloom as most, imo we underperformed this year due to disunity and being unable to hand pressure in footy field, not on playing potential.

A few magnet changes and we could be back in contention again sooner than you think..

And people are quick to write off a good player on one bad year, heck that’s happened to Cripps a couple of times in years past too 🤔

He’s not and will never be a forward he’s an inside mid or he retires.
Cripps has never shown an ability to play as a forward. He's kicked a couple of bags from the midfield and is big so people think he can become a good forward. It's a lot different playing forward and beating a defender than drifting forward and out marking a jack steele like defensive mid.

He's a generational dick head who has turned his back on this club...

After all we've done to stick by him, despite his numerous showings of stupidity, offered him the long term deal he wanted... now he decides he wants to bail? **** off then.

You really think if we don't trade him, he's going to suddenly come good? The guy was checked out in May - shopping himself around through his manager... he comes back, he's going to **** around again then request a trade again next year... with even less value to his name.

As for the return... the picks we get aren't "just to match bids"... such a flawed way of looking at it...

Let's have a look at your argument:

• We're going to get Walker regardless
    • Are we? How do you see us obtaining a second 1st rounder next year, a Jimmae special?
  • We're going to use Swans 1st to match the Dean bid
    • Now we're not... we won't be stupid enough to accept that offer without speaking to numerous clubs about moving up the order in this year's draft or potentially get another 1st rounder for next year's generational draft
    • That 1st from the Swans will be combined with the TDK pick to ensure we can either get a player before any Dean bid OR get an additional kid in next year's 1st round...
  • Get Ainsworth, the Hayward equivalent
    • How are they equivalent? Position they play? They both in fact, offer a different dynamic and adding both would be a pretty good change to our forward structure...
Big call, I don't remember anyone calling Curnow a generational dick head 12 months ago.

Cripps has never shown an ability to play as a forward. He's kicked a couple of bags from the midfield and is big so people think he can become a good forward. It's a lot different playing forward and beating a defender than drifting forward and out marking a jack steele like defensive mid.
I agree with you a million times over!

What people forget is that Cripps was always a midfielder as a junior. It was just because he had that amazing growth spurt as a teenager that he ended up looking like a key position forward.

If the growth had have happened earlier, he probably would have been trialled as a forward at junior levels. But because it happened late, they went with the flow and left him as an onballer.

It has been awesome for us overall, because it has given us a near unique (with the Bont) onballer. But it means he has no forward craft on which to fall back.

Receive Curnow

Carlton Give Curnow

We would make out like absolute bandits in this, I love it

I wish Curnow was handling this trade period with the poise and class of Clayton Oliver 😞

You know what annoys me most about the Curnow situation is a vibe that Carlton aren't a "cool club" like Geelong with his best mate Baz and crew. Swanning around like they're such original rockstars, very unique, no one understands how hard it is to be a famous footballer, so ironic.
I blame Chris Scott for the arrogance and too cool for school attitude at the kitties.

His perpetual dismissive attitude towards the media and other clubs because Geelong are above reproach and if they do make a mistake the reply is “everyone does too” without a hint of remorse has permeated through out the entire organisation.

The only reasons why the media never go hard at them is because a lot of the prominent media are club supporters or they don’t want to upset those at headquarters who are Geelong people.

Oh well thats what success can breed I guess but also “pride comes before a fall”!!

You don’t trade a generational talent for 2-3 B graders.
You might, if the B graders moonlight as A graders on occasion & u get decent first thrown in which helps u secure A grade draft talent.
Solid B graders that stand up when it counts, wins u flags.
Generational forward that has issues delivering when the pressure is on aren’t the key to success - we would have already been successful if that was the case.

Good solid footballers that can enact a well structured & thought out game style & allow others around them to play to there potential are a must.

It’s the old “Champion vs Champion Team” debate, we’ve had way to many C graders & stars with not much in between & the culture/style has never been much chop.

I genuinely dont think we're going to be anywhere near as bad as some other posters are suggesting we will be. Id be pretty confident of saying we'll finish in the top 8 in 2026.
Disclaimer, i really enjoy your view points as its often a little different to the majority. They are probably more down the line but I havent always agreed with you.

So i'm curious why you think this, because I'm of the same opinion.