Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

I genuinely dont think we're going to be anywhere near as bad as some other posters are suggesting we will be. Id be pretty confident of saying we'll finish in the top 8 in 2026.
Agree. I reckon we’re 8-10. Going to take some time for the young guys to develop in the AFL, but maybe if we get those 22-28 year olds like GW was saying that it could put us in the upper part of that estimate.

Listening to the journos this evening, it seems:

Geelong are deluded and will get no where near our asking price.

Sydney are at least indicating they are somewhat serious but are yet to put forward anything of note. Their comments today if believed to be true are concerning that Hayward and other players are not moving. If they are trying to get players from other clubs involved, they’ll be average players who won’t move the needle. Hoping we hold Curnow if this is the case.

Don’t mind the Ainsworth potential acquisition if it comes relatively cheap but we need to separate that from the Curnow deal. You don’t trade a generational talent for 2-3 B graders.
If our B graders can hit a target consistently in the 50 all day, I’d take that over a flakey A-grader in curnow. But perhaps it makes him better?

Big call, I don't remember anyone calling Curnow a generational dick head 12 months ago.
Well he is now…things change and in hindsight you can see the way he played he wants out and he is not gonna do a Gibbs and have a good year … can you honestly see that happening .. he will sook it up …just his nature .. to be honest f him after we looked after him.

Cripps has never shown an ability to play as a forward. He's kicked a couple of bags from the midfield and is big so people think he can become a good forward. It's a lot different playing forward and beating a defender than drifting forward and out marking a jack steele like defensive mid.
Cripps once said a forward is just a failed mid

Reckon he could make it work up forward

What’s people’s issue with Paul

Always fund him insightful and talks well on Blue Abroad & SEN & has a good read on the game

A lot more articulate than most

He has got a few rumours wrong, so it's about how serious you take the suggestion.

Nothing personal about Paul, he seems a fine fellow, but about the credibility of his sources

Well he is now…things change and in hindsight you can see the way he played he wants out and he is not gonna do a Gibbs and have a good year … can you honestly see that happening .. he will sook it up …just his nature .. to be honest f him after we looked after him.
Sorry if I have missed you're opinion before but having just bagged Charlie out big time do you think we should be getting him out regardless of offer or standing our ground, prepared to keep him if no club wants to pay overs?

Just thinking about CC to Geelong.

Shannon Neale is a proud WA born KPF. Would WCE see him as a replacement for Oscar Allen? Would they use their 1st pick this year for him and a fringe player?

Geelong could get that pick and forward to Carlton and somehow mix and match some swaps with Chesser included in the deal to us, so we end up with 1st round WCE pick, Chesser and Geelong FF1 we give up CC.

Use WCE 1st pick + for Butters/Humphrey's.
Quick sugar fix for Geelong, give up a 23 year old forward for a 29yo and have Cameron 33yo, could net them a flag maybe?
Will need to find a new young key forward in the next few years which gives them time.
I still feel the biggest need is Marshall, good ruck man, good mark around the ground and is a competent forward.
If they managed Curnow and Marshall, that would be scary.

Problem is, we can't piss fart around... need to get that deal done so we can explore options with combining #10 + #11...

Preferably for a F1 from North or Melbourne...

If the plan with those picks would just be moving around the draft, there's no rush - draft picks can be traded even after the trade period ends, it's just player movements that need to be finalised.

They don’t have any. They’re desperately trying to keep their window open. Here’s a list of who’s going to be worse in 2026:

Mcstay
Elliott
Hill
Pendlebury
Sidebottom
Cameron
Cox - gone
Mihocek - gone
WHE - gone
Howe
Membrey
Mitchell

That’s a huge list
Imagine if Nick Daicos did a knee in pre-season

You might, if the B graders moonlight as A graders on occasion & u get decent first thrown in which helps u secure A grade draft talent.
Solid B graders that stand up when it counts, wins u flags.
Generational forward that has issues delivering when the pressure is on aren’t the key to success - we would have already been successful if that was the case.

Good solid footballers that can enact a well structured & thought out game style & allow others around them to play to there potential are a must.

It’s the old “Champion vs Champion Team” debate, we’ve had way to many C graders & stars with not much in between & the culture/style has never been much chop.
This term Generational Forward to describe CC creeping in is interesting.

To me generational players are those brilliant players that stand out above the rest and deliver consistently every week and in finals and big games. Players like Ablett senior, Tony Lockett, Chris Judd.

If I’m honest I don’t see Charlie in this group. Don’t get me wrong I think he’d be a big drawcard for a team like Sydney but I don’t think he’s done enough to be called a generational player, imho.

Sorry if I have missed you're opinion before but having just bagged Charlie out big time do you think we should be getting him out regardless of offer or standing our ground, prepared to keep him if no club wants to pay overs?
why do we need overs … just need a fair trade which I think we will get … if we get lowballed we keep him but going by his attitude this year I prefer him gone … our year was crap but made worse by players not wanting to be there or offered lots of money..

Swans Give pick 10 + 2026 1st + Logan Mcdonald
Receive Curnow

Eagles Give Pick 2 + Chesser
Eagles Receive Mcdonald + Swans pick 10

Carlton Give Curnow
Receive Pick 2 + 2026 1st + Chesser
(That is Robey/Dursma + 1/2 Walker+ Chesser)

I expect that is tbe deals essence, if it happens, Maybe Acres or Mcgovern sweetens the deal and the swans work in a 2nd/round pick
Be surprised is McDonald is part of the deal given they are already losing Buller to Pies. Not much depth there if he goes too.

This theory makes a lot of sense otherwise 👍

Tom Morris on trade radio speaking about Humphrey says clubs still believe he’s gettable due to Dimma being sympathetic to his family situation and why he would want to come back home.

Hirdy brought up Charlie trade with Humphrey and Tom said Dimma really likes the idea of Charlie being at the suns. So one to watch if things don’t work out with JUH.

Tom Morris on trade radio speaking about Humphrey says clubs still believe he’s gettable due to Dimma being sympathetic to his family situation and why he would want to come back home.

Hirdy brought up Charlie trade with Humphrey and Tom said Dimma really likes the idea of Charlie being at the suns. So one to watch if things don’t work out with JUH.

Surely would be borderline malpractice to pass on a potential trade for Charlie because you may have JUH incoming.

Maybe. Or maybe he'll realise that if he doesn't put in a really strong year, the clubs he wants to get to aren't going to give Carlton anything close to what it will take to get us to trade him. Whether he's staying for 4 years or trying to leave again in 1, there's gonna be some greater incentive for him to pull his finger out.

Why?

Im not as doom and gloom as most, imo we underperformed this year due to disunity and being unable to hand pressure in footy field, not on playing potential.

A few magnet changes and we could be back in contention again sooner than you think..

And people are quick to write off a good player on one bad year, heck that’s happened to Cripps a couple of times in years past too 🤔
His body is letting him down - it may be wishful thinking he can return to his glory days aside from a few good games here & there.

If he was on the cheap I’d be OK with it, maybe as part of a Swans salary dump.

I don’t see him as part of a value-adding Charlie deal.

It’s pretty clear the club his resetting the list beyond an immediate crack at the flag - investing in a younger group.

Swans would want to hang onto him anyway if they think their window is open.

Big call, I don't remember anyone calling Curnow a generational dick head 12 months ago.
I think we've been critiquing the forward line for a while without laying it all at the feet of Charlie, but I can look back at the GWS game leading into the finals in 2023, and the game basically being all about him winning the Coleman.

GWS basically made a ring around him and forced him to leap high and early to secure the ball. He's been easily rattled ever since.

He had a shot to become a smarter footballer that created opportunities for others and make the opposition think twice, but instead he's leaned heavily into thinking it all has to be on him and it's seemingly broken his body and his mind from all the related stress.

It's frustrating to see him avoid conversations around his maturity level - granted some of these have been framed by mug punters quite poorly - to the point where he's almost had to be dragged kicking and screaming to be a vaguely mature professional at a time in his career where his raw athleticism has failed him. It's only compounding the issue.

Surely would be borderline malpractice to pass on a potential trade for Charlie because you may have JUH incoming.
Interesting to hear JUH will need to rip his contract up and play for 400-500k next year, to play at the Suns. They have no intention of paying his 900k deal. And Bulldogs dont want to pay part of it for him to play at Suns.

So JUH needs to sacrifice half a million dollars to extend his AFL career. Good test to see how bad he wants it.