Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

No matter what? Are you sure about that?

So, if it means missing Walker because we have to use the draft capital as part of the trade?

If it means Walsh walks?

If the rest of the list still needs to be reset in key areas?

I'll just say this, as something to think about, we got Judd... where'd that get us? Sure we improved, but we didn't even make a prelim let alone come close to winning a flag...
Why is walsh walking if we get butters? The players have come out and said they are disappointed we didnt go after houston last year to add more talent to our list and is one of the main reasons there is so many problems at the footy club, they have all taken pay cuts to bring in top talent only problem we haven't brought any in

How are we going to lose walker? Butters would cost 3 first rounders could use pick 9 and 2 of Sydney's we could trade future picks for 2027 next year for walker

We played in 2 semis and pretty sure played 4 or 5 finals series in 6 years would of come very close to winning a flag is fev didnt leave for Brisbane

Do we know what number Zak has chosen?

Nick Duigan left a long time ago, I’m due for a new jumper.

Numbers GIF

Coaching, standards and culture more than list.

Not really, they're all important.

Replace Brisbane's list with WCE's and see if they win a flag...

Like I said, patience is required.

The way I see it,

2026 -> standards and culture building starts.
2027 -> next coach will be selected. Our coaching performance will start to improve if we get the right people in
2028 -> coaching, standards and culture starts to flourish
2029 -> list really beginning to gel
2030 -> finals contenders

Why is walsh walking if we get butters? The players have come out and said they are disappointed we didnt go after houston last year to add more talent to our list and is one of the main reasons there is so many problems at the footy club, they have all taken pay cuts to bring in top talent only problem we haven't brought any in

How are we going to lose walker? Butters would cost 3 first rounders could use pick 9 and 2 of Sydney's we could trade future picks for 2027 next year for walker

We played in 2 semis and pretty sure played 4 or 5 finals series in 6 years would of come very close to winning a flag is fev didnt leave for Brisbane
Because Carlton big bad very much!

Just hyperbolic nonsense most of it.

Not really, they're all important.

Replace Brisbane's list with WCE's and see if they win a flag...

Like I said, patience is required.

The way I see it,

2026 -> standards and culture building starts.
2027 -> next coach will be selected. Our coaching performance will start to improve if we get the right people in
2028 -> coaching, standards and culture starts to flourish
2029 -> list really beginning to gel
2030 -> finals contenders
And if we make finals next year what are you gonna do?

I've already gone over the reasons, go read my prev posts on the matter...

And "The players" you're talking about are who exactly? Doc?

Port dgaf about 1st rounders this year, why do you think they traded out last year? Their ambition is to get a hold of Cochrane in next year's draft... regardless of keeping/losing Butters, they will want to be able to get something to chase Cochrane...

If Butters nominates us, they will want F1's or tell us to **** off... they'll hold him to his contract, then match any bid next year.

We won a total of 2 finals games... so yeah, we weren't good enough.... even with peak Judd joining... the team around him wasn't ready and your hypothetical about Fev is just that... he was a ticking time bomb as evidenced by the fact Brisbane sacked him about 18 months after getting him...

And if we make finals next year what are you gonna do?

ok Hulk Hogan,

Here's what I'll do...

- asses what got us there. If it's off the back of the 30+ yr olds having one last hurrah, then nothing changes from my perspective.

- assess our finals performance... if it's another 60-0 like disaster LOL

IF we make the finals off the back of our youth and IF we put in a solid showing without heavy reliance on the 30+ brigade, then I might believe that we don't need to attack the draft as hard as I thought we would next year. But I won't be jumping the gun and saying we're in contention to win a flag until we are consistently putting up solid showings in finals.

However, while you have a very low standard, and set a very low bar of "making finals", I have a higher standard and ambition for this club... and that is to win a flag. Simply making finals doesn't cut it for me... it all depends on the journey to the finals and the players that get us there.

But don't worry, we can revisit this same time next year, I will be rather entertained with how you try to weasel your way out of being wrong :D

ok Hulk Hogan,

Here's what I'll do...

- asses what got us there. If it's off the back of the 30+ yr olds having one last hurrah, then nothing changes from my perspective.

IF we make the finals off the back of our youth and IF we put in a solid showing without heavy reliance on the 30+ brigade, then I might believe that we don't need to attack the draft as hard as I thought we would next year. But I won't be jumping the gun and saying we're in contention to win a flag until we are consistently putting up solid showings in finals.

However, while you have a very low standard, and set a very low bar of "making finals", I have a higher standard and ambition for this club... and that is to win a flag. Simply making finals doesn't cut it for me... it all depends on the journey to the finals and the players that get us there.

But don't worry, we can revisit this same time next year, I will be rather entertained with how you try to weasel your way out of being wrong :D
Who is our 30+ brigade?

I reckon CC deal talks transpire over the weekend. I’d be surprised to see Sydney not have a crack by Wednesday 7.30pm. Chris Keane seemed pretty transparent that they are going to.

Yeah, they would be insane to not have a crack. These opportunities rarely come along for FFs and CC is exactly what their team needs. They’ve got to be realistic though and be prepared to give something decent up to gain a star FF. Otherwise the opportunity will slip away.

Clarkson virtually invented modern footy, so there is that. Might struggle to do the same at Norf
Thats exactly my point. You can be the greatest coach in the world but if you don't have the list with the ability to execute plus the drive / leadership from the playing group you end up blowing bubbles.
Clarkson hasn't got the buy in from North / Voss has had albeit different but issues with this list in terms of availability / attitude / ability with us. Hence the changes being implemented being more list and football department rather than coach.

ok Hulk Hogan,

Here's what I'll do...

Your standard is to tank for pick 1 in 2026. That is the lowest standard there is.

Mind you every good player we have left will leave after doing so but that's never included in your calculations!

Absolutely disastrous s***.

Your standard is to tank for pick 1 in 2026. That is the lowest standard there is.

Mind you every good player we have left will leave after doing so but that's never included in your calculations!

Absolutely disastrous s***.

West Coast won 1 game and Starcevic and Robertson want to go there...

Can't see Voss staying post 2026, new coach, new direction, I doubt players will want to leave. Walsh could but that might happen regardless of 13th or 18th finish....

Much rather end up with pick 1 then remain in no man's land with a pack of pretenders, then end up bottoming out while Tassie have all the power at the draft for the next few years...

Anyway, like I said, we can revisit this end of next season..

Kosi Pickett livid about the state of change at Melbourne, wants out desperately. Poor bugger is locked into 9 year contract. Straight swap Charlie ?

May, gawn, petraca, lever, viney all aging out, Oliver has about 15 strikes and all of this was known when he signed the contract.

No sympathy

I reckon CC deal talks transpire over the weekend. I’d be surprised to see Sydney not have a crack by Wednesday 7.30pm. Chris Keane seemed pretty transparent that they are going to.
Wouldn’t surprise me Carlton have told Sydney the same as Essendon have told hawthorn. You’ve got one chance to give us your best offer