Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Hey man, we’re used to sucking. We’re damn good at it, too.

You guys wanna make the leap and keep blowing chance after chance here.
If they don’t get Merrett, they will likely lose worpel, cj and serong. Most clubs around them have improved. Do hawks make the 8 next season? Can they waste a year of “contention”. Who will want to go there next season if they don’t make the 8.

much more risk in not coughing up more and getting Merrett than not.

How about you stop replying then, not that hard or you have some medical issues or something that prohibits you from doing that? In that case you probably shouldn't be posting on the internet. Nobody is putting a gun to your head, and I'm replying to the general gist/content of a post that I disagree with, couldn't care less about the poster.

You mentioned Pick 3 in the original post as if a side that finished in the Top 4 can get their hands on a pick that high easily, without doing what I've mentioned multiple times on my previous posts and continue bleating about having nothing to do with what you wrote.

what picks a club has access to is completely and utterly irrelevant.

It is a statement of fact that Pick 3 on its own is worth more than the entire offer hawthorn has put together for Merrett.

So the suggestion that Carltons offer for Judd, is in any way shape or form near the same as Hawthorns offer for Merrett is utterly absurd.

It’s 2 mid to late firsts though and probably a player like Mackenzie or Ward. Youre absolutely doing that from Hawthorns POV even if Merrett has one year left in him.

We’re in the business of winning flags. Pick 12, 15 and Mackenzie for 2 shots at a flag, and likely favourites (your estimate of Merretts elite years). I’d be breaking someone’s hand off for that.
Mate you'd be breaking someone's hand off to finish 15th.

Yeah and like I said on that thread I don't agree with it and happy that the Blues have turned it down, not just because of his age but also injury concerns. It's overs but I can understand why the Geelong recruitment staff have done so. It's not often you get quality players seeking you out so there's value in making the effort of at least presenting a respectable offer to get the deal done. Curnow knows Geelong have been fair dinkum at getting him to the club and it was Carlton who were the stumbling block in that process, not Geelong being stingy.
Which is exactly what I highlighted. You put the best trade offer that you could on the table, it wasn’t enough but it was the best you could do. Hawthorn haven’t done that.

It’s 2 mid to late firsts though and probably a player like Mackenzie or Ward. Youre absolutely doing that from Hawthorns POV even if Merrett has one year left in him.

We’re in the business of winning flags. Pick 12, 15 and Mackenzie for 2 shots at a flag, and likely favourites (your estimate of Merretts elite years). I’d be breaking someone’s hand off for that.
Wow, really?

Brisbane would be favourites regardless (back to back and adding Allen, Draper and the best mid in the draft) .Geelong, adding Worpel and Marshall would still be ahead in favouritism too. Gold Coast with Petracca? Others in the mix too. Merrett improves us and gets us closer for 1- 2 years but he is not moving the needle in a massive way or making us close to sure things for a flag. Giving up 3 firsts (and in many ways the future) for a 1-2 season shot seems silly to me. Fair enough if we had the age profile of a Collingwood or Geelong but we were the youngest list in the comp 2 seasons ago, are now mid range and are still on the way up. Our oldest good mid (aside from Merrett) will be 24.

Ok so it's not the fact the meeting happens. You don't have a problem with that?

You just want to pretend they don't happen? It's ok if the meetings are kept secret so fans can live in the fantasy world that this doesn't happen?

I think that's a very childish stance.
It’s childish to let it play out in the media/public to try and make the situation untenable. No other club conducts business like this, it’s unprofessional. The meetings are fine, putting pressure on the club through outside sources is not.

Current Narrative Outcome

Essendon: fracturing between pride and panic.

Hawthorn: unified, amused, and narratively dominant.

Neutrals: drifting towards “Hawks offered plenty; Essendon look irrational”
Bombers - in control and ruthless.
Hawks - panicking Mitchell pushing club to get deal done at all costs.
Neutrals - hawks fans think they are getting every superstar but haven’t landed anyone.

that certainly is the narrative i think you believe is true.

It’s childish to let it play out in the media/public to try and make the situation untenable. No other club conducts business like this, it’s unprofessional. The meetings are fine, putting pressure on the club through outside sources is not.
Maybe you should hold the media accountable for what they discuss instead of somehow trying to blame them for reporting on Mitchell's meetings but none of the other clubs or coaches that have met with players during the recruitment process?

Or do you think it's hawthorn that decides what the footy media talk about?

How did the Hawks have no plan B mid to bring in? Instead the hawks are being reamed in negotiations by…Essendon.

Bombers - in control and ruthless.
Hawks - panicking Mitchell pushing club to get deal done at all costs.
Neutrals - hawks fans think they are getting every superstar but haven’t landed anyone.
If the pres is on the phone to the captain every day and the captain is still asking to be traded out then that is not a club that is "in control and ruthless"

Wow, really?

Brisbane would be favourites regardless (back to back and adding Allen, Draper and the best mid in the draft) .Geelong, adding Worpel and Marshall would still be ahead in favouritism too. Gold Coast with Petracca? Others in the mix too. Merrett improves us and gets us closer for 1- 2 years but he is not moving the needle in a massive way or making us close to sure things for a flag. Giving up 3 firsts (and in many ways the future) for a 1-2 season shot seems silly to me. Fair enough if we had the age profile of a Collingwood or Geelong but we were the youngest list in the comp 2 seasons ago, are now mid range and are still on the way up. Our oldest good mid (aside from Merrett) will be 24.
You have some good young players but I’d say your most important players are still the ones who are ageing and I think Mitchell knows that too.

Your best shot at a flag with Barrass, Sicily, Amon, Impey etc is in the next 2 years, after which I think you’ll regress a little while the next generation catches up.

That package to put yourself right in the conversation id be doing every time.

Hawks really dropped the ball here, tis a shame.

Future wantaway stars like Butters, Reid, Walsh etc aren't going to trust the hawks to honour their end of the bargain.

And sure they'll survive - just as cockroaches do after nuclear fallout - but the cultural damage will insidiously corrode within.
Incest sucks.

Which is exactly what I highlighted. You put the best trade offer that you could on the table, it wasn’t enough but it was the best you could do. Hawthorn haven’t done that.

Fair enough if bombers knock the trade back. But Hawks can't force a player to accept to go to Essendon. Your captain and best player wants out for a reason. Players just don't want to go there right now.

If we push Lewis there, he picks up the phone and just tells his manager find me somewhere better. So we end up dealing with say Pies or Dees over a pick.

It's naive to think 'gloves off' bombers haven't tried to use all that cap $$ to try flesh a player out of Hawks. You should be questioning your footy operations (well Welsh I guess is all things) if not.

If Merrett leaves, i think it will affect the playing group mentally. And Essendon likely fall in a heap on field and finish bottom 4.

If he stays and gets on with it, it could inspire the group into showing something on field.
They could inspire themselves to finish where do you believe?

Best part of this is the afl will give us 2 games against the bombers next year, so essentially a 2-0 head start on the season. Too bad the Oscar Allen thing didn’t blow up later in the year and we got west coast twice. A 4 head start puts us in prime position for top 4

If Merrett leaves, i think it will affect the playing group mentally. And Essendon likely fall in a heap on field, and finish bottom 4.

If he stays and gets on with it, it could inspire the group into showing something on field.

Or… could be a good “Ewing theory” candidate where Zac while a great player didn’t contribute much to team success at Essendon in terms of vibes

Fair enough if bombers knock the trade back. But Hawks can't force a player to accept to go to Essendon. Your captain and best player wants out for a reason. Players just don't want to go there right now.

If we push Lewis there, he picks up the phone and just tells his manager find me somewhere better. So we end up dealing with say Pies or Dees over a pick.

It's naive to think 'gloves off' bombers haven't tried to use all that cap $$ to try flesh a player out of Hawks. You should be questioning your footy operations (well Welsh I guess is all things) if not.
Yep. Hawks can't write up contract offers on Essendon's behalf. Essendon actually have to participate in recruiting good players from Hawthorn.

Otherwise the only players that will agree to going over are players that are on the fringe and not guaranteed game time in 2026

If they don’t get Merrett, they will likely lose worpel, cj and serong. Most clubs around them have improved. Do hawks make the 8 next season? Can they waste a year of “contention”. Who will want to go there next season if they don’t make the 8.

much more risk in not coughing up more and getting Merrett than not
Losing Worpel and CJ is arguably a big win.
Serong will be a loss to.Box Hill