Welcome Welcome to Adelaide - Callum Ah Chee, Pick 1 PSD 2025

What will happen to Callum Ah Chee?

Lol. No way. We are back to back premiers. Have good draft capital and made a stand at your silly club paying unders. We are obviously prepared to lose him for nothing. It shows that Crows don't want to pay for players that want to come there. Hurts you at future negotiations as clubs will do to you what you did to us.
Northern special clubs like yours don’t earn premierships the way others do with the amount of concessions you receive. Also means you and your club administration have no concept of trade value for clubs like ours with zero consession

Can see both sides here.

Ah Chee is a very classy player who had an all time 2024 finals series. Great team-player who is versatile. Should have 4-5 good years left. Crucially for a side that has started its window in contention, he has poise and really steps up in big moments (all of his goals in the 2024 prelim were crucial and never missing). Crows have offered him a fairly generous contract so they rate him. McVee was traded for pick 23.

And yet.

He is not a midfielder which the crows need more than a flanker / winger. He is out of contract. He is 28yo. McVee is not relevant, every club has its own decision to make.

If I'm being honest I'm surprised the Lions didn't settle for something with a pick 2 plus something else. I'll be interested to hear exactly what the best and final was, because if another club likely to finish lower than top 4 was involved then that should have unlocked it.

I suspect one crucial difference was that in the past a future third hard currency as it was worth a bit re points and discount for any side with an academy match. And as of 2026 that's different. Perhaps clubs will adjust their expectations.

There might also be an element of the Lions wary they will increasingly have players targeted and need to not be seen as rolling over too easily.

Anyway I have loved Cal as a player and wish him well. Clearly he will end up at Adelaide.

You can see both sides because you are going to defend your shit stain club -- there isn't two sides here - Completely unreasonable to hold out for a first round pick for an uncontracted 28 year old who has never finished top ten in your B&F

Gift wrapped multiple generational midfielders costing you chicken feed while in the midst of three consecutive grand finals and suddenly this hand out club thinks it can demand whatever it wants - You know so well how the point system works because of how many ****ing players you've had wrapped up that you can just go and throw multiple pick 30s around and build a team

Meanwhile Adelaide have only ever matched a bid for a player in the first round once, 95% of the time we've drafted players we've had to actually use the picks that they've fallen at

You can see both sides because you are going to defend your shit stain club -- there isn't two sides here - Completely unreasonable to hold out for a first round pick for an uncontracted 28 year old who has never finished top ten in your B&F

Gift wrapped multiple generational midfielders costing you chicken feed while in the midst of three consecutive grand finals and suddenly this hand out club thinks it can demand whatever it wants - You know so well how the point system works because of how many ****ing players you've had wrapped up that you can just go and throw multiple pick 30s around and build a team

Meanwhile Adelaide have only ever matched a bid for a player in the first round once, 95% of the time we've drafted players we've had to actually use the picks that they've fallen at
Adelaide have one of the biggest supporter bases in the country.

By far the bigger of the 2 clubs in an Aussie rules state, meaning you should have the pick of the players wanting to return home.

The reality is if the crows were better-run this millennium there would have been a lot more success there. You are not north or st Kilda.

But make sure to be livid. It is Bigfooty after all.

By far the bigger of the 2 clubs in an Aussie rules state, meaning you should have the pick of the players wanting to return home.

The reality is if the crows were better-run this millennium there would have been a lot more success there. You are not north or st Kilda.

We’ve recruited more local guns back to the club than Port though?

In the last five years we have brought Dawson, Rankine and ANB back to the club.

Port have brought back JHF and Lukosius.

We’ve recruited more local guns back to the club than Port though?

In the last five years we have brought Dawson, Rankine and ANB back to the club.

Port have brought back JHF and Lukosius.
Yep i'd rather your haul.

That's what I was trying to say (perhaps poorly worded) you have good access to returning SA players

Brisbane asked for (according to Tom Morris)

Future 2nd plus upgrading 23 to 16

or

2026 future 2nd and 2027 future 2nd
Tbh I would’ve been content with the latter.

Surprised then that they didn’t accept our F2 and F3. It’s not that much different when you consider 2027 will be Tassie affected.

You don't have any issues bringing players home, because you get first dibs at ****ing drafting them, you don't need to bring them home.

You don't see the inequity?

Can see both sides here.

Ah Chee is a very classy player who had an all time 2024 finals series. Great team-player who is versatile. Should have 4-5 good years left. Crucially for a side that has started its window in contention, he has poise and really steps up in big moments (all of his goals in the 2024 prelim were crucial and never missing). Crows have offered him a fairly generous contract so they rate him. McVee was traded for pick 23.

And yet.

He is not a midfielder which the crows need more than a flanker / winger. He is out of contract. He is 28yo. McVee is not relevant, every club has its own decision to make.

If I'm being honest I'm surprised the Lions didn't settle for something with a pick 2 plus something else. I'll be interested to hear exactly what the best and final was, because if another club likely to finish lower than top 4 was involved then that should have unlocked it.

I suspect one crucial difference was that in the past a future third hard currency as it was worth a bit re points and discount for any side with an academy match. And as of 2026 that's different. Perhaps clubs will adjust their expectations.

There might also be an element of the Lions wary they will increasingly have players targeted and need to not be seen as rolling over too easily.

Anyway I have loved Cal as a player and wish him well. Clearly he will end up at Adelaide.
I agree with all you've said plus the biggest knock on Brisbane not taking an offer most footy fans would say was not insulting is that Fages bid him farewell at the B&F. Now, he leaves with a bad taste, Brisbane get zilch and he'll still end up at the Crows

You don't have any issues bringing players home, because you get first dibs at ****ing drafting them, you don't need to bring them home.

You don't see the inequity?
The smug condescension from these Brisbane supporters coming in to brag about their club being unreasonable, all the while ignoring the concessions they're afforded because they're an eXpAnSiOn cLuB. 🙄

Like someone oblivious to having vulgar breath, they cannot smell the stench of their own privilege.

Higher junior Aussie rules participation than SA. Time for the handouts to end.
They're fake auskick numbers but even so why should a club get an advantage.

There's always been an insincerity about those clubs. The swans would always pump their bloods culture meanwhile they were getting an extra million in the cap. When the afl couldn't hide that any longer with buddy franklin signing, they found another back door with the academies. A totally corrupt competition.

This really just puts into perspective how much the draft has been compromised. When you get top 5 draft prospects for picks in the 30s and 40s, does a draft pick actually mean anything anymore?

You have GC throwing away first rounders like confetti these past 5 years. Sydney know they have academy picks in the pipeline so they can trade 3 first rounders for Curnow. Brisbane are about to get their 3rd top 5 pick in 4 years and have played in the last 3 GFs, of course 2nd and 3rd rounders mean nothing to them other than points.

The AFL has right royally ****ed it.
Probably not justin reid's job as he has to strike deals, but I'd love the chairman to put this narrative out there for the greater good

So why would rival clubs not draft him?​

The first and main reason is the salary cap. Ah Chee is a highly talented player and while the details of Adelaide's contract offer are not public, it is a deal that would be much more lucrative than other players in the pre-season draft.

As a previously listed player, Ah Chee can set the financial terms of his contract when he nominates for the draft, meaning he could demand a salary and tenure that he knows Adelaide could satisfy, but other clubs are unlikely to.

Clubs take years to plan with their salary cap and it would take a significant change of strategy to be able to squeeze Ah Chee's contract under the cap with just a few weeks' notice.

"There are mechanisms for Adelaide to turn what was a five-year deal into short-term contract and pay him through the roof on a two-year deal," AFL.com.au's Riley Beveridge said on Deadline Day Live. "They could pay him through the roof for those two years, and no one else would be willing to do that.

Twomey pretty adamant he gets to the Crows, saying that Cal won't meet with any other clubs between now and the PSD and has been clear he wants to get to the Crows.
I'd imagine that info has come directly from Williams.
I can understand clubs holding firm on contracted players in order to get fair value, but uncontracted ones? When PSD is available? So you won't accept a 2nd and 3rd but are happy for him to leave for free and the other club doesn't have to use any collateral to get the player seems silly and negligent.

Makes sense if he was going to a bottom 4 club but they are helping a top 8 club get a player they want for free by not accepting their offer

Lol. No way. We are back to back premiers. Have good draft capital and made a stand at your silly club paying unders. We are obviously prepared to lose him for nothing. It shows that Crows don't want to pay for players that want to come there. Hurts you at future negotiations as clubs will do to you what you did to us.

You must be a highly regarded person on the Lions board, because you're certainly highly regarded here.

Twomey pretty adamant he gets to the Crows, saying that Cal won't meet with any other clubs between now and the PSD and has been clear he wants to get to the Crows.
I'd imagine that info has come directly from Williams.
There are a number of ways the Ah Chee camp can make it as difficult as anything for the other clubs thinking of taking him in the PSD, this is but one. I have no doubt they will unearth others too

Reckon Dom will wake up in a cold sweat tonight thinking “oh god what have I done.”

That post trade clarity gonna hit hard.

He isn't the genius many think he is. He has just been gifted great concessions.

It was a fair offer we had in the table and unlike the Qld / NSW teams we have to value our draft round picks. Everyone appears to think it was a fair offer. Brisbane over cooked it.

Unfortunately there will be a media story every week between now and the pre season draft about some Ah Chee rumour but that will all be forgotten come round one when he lines up with us.

Welcome Welcome to Adelaide - Callum Ah Chee, Pick 1 PSD 2025