Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI

I reckon he’d cost a fortune in salary.
I like Blue_Fusion suggestion to go after McInerney from Sydney. A good player who we could pay slight overs for and get for no trade capital.
We are going to have alot of salary cap room though Williams and saad out of contract by the end of next year.
Some reports saying we already have 2.5 million to spend, next year it could be close to 4
I like the idea of going after bailey Brisbane won't be able to match but yes you are going to spend about 1.4 on him, then I'd also like to go after Jordan buts who he is also a restricted free agent could possibly get them 2 with out using a draft pick which would allow us to get Walker and possibly a Humphrey in or someone else in a position of need we could trade for

The issue isn’t so much that we had a bunch of players on big dollar contracts.

The issue is that we had a bunch of players on big dollar contracts who didn’t perform to the level needed for players on that kind of money.

Butters performs at an elite level. Have to see how we go in 2026, but if it feels we’re on track for a tilt in 27-30, you go for those players who can be the difference (and have shown that level consistently). He is an absolute jet and, ultimately, the best midfields still win the flags.

The issue isn’t so much that we had a bunch of players on big dollar contracts.

The issue is that we had a bunch of players on big dollar contracts who didn’t perform to the level needed for players on that kind of money.

Butters performs at an elite level. Have to see how we go in 2026, but if it feels we’re on track for a tilt in 27-30, you go for those players who can be the difference (and have shown that level consistently). He is an absolute jet and, ultimately, the best midfields still win the flags.
AGree, when say 50% of your salary cap has weak years or not winning games, how can you improve?

Only with great drafting, luck etc.

Outputs of our top 6-7 players was well down in 2025.

Ben King?

Yes 👍
Just had a bit of a search.

B.King - RFA 2026
J.Amartey - RFA 2026
M.Lewis - UFA 2026
P.Voss - UFA 2026

King would cost plenty but we’d have plenty available in our cap.
Could GC afford to match ?

Amartey would be gettable as backup for Harry.

Lewis and Voss would only need to agree to terms with us to cross as UFA’s.

All 4 players could be snared for zero trade cost using our available salary cap next year …

We are going to have alot of salary cap room though Williams and saad out of contract by the end of next year.
Some reports saying we already have 2.5 million to spend, next year it could be close to 4
I like the idea of going after bailey Brisbane won't be able to match but yes you are going to spend about 1.4 on him, then I'd also like to go after Jordan buts who he is also a restricted free agent could possibly get them 2 with out using a draft pick which would allow us to get Walker and possibly a Humphrey in or someone else in a position of need we could trade for
Jordan Butts would be a reasonable pick up but expect a few clubs to offer decent $ to attract him in free agency.

Father played for Carlton as well.

I like Blue_Fusion suggestion to go after McInerney from Sydney. A good player who we could pay slight overs for and get for no trade capital.
With sadd and Williams also coming out of contract we are going to have some serious cap space to burn, and bailey would be a ripper option and can play 1 out in the forward line and run through the midfield and absolutely dominate

Nope. Our fans are the most vile in the league as we eat our own. The others rage against the machine, we target the boys wearing our guernsey. Massive difference.

Be part of the solution.
Richmond. By the length of the straight.
Jack had issues with Bolton, then with Teague, then with Voss.... what's the common denominator?
I'm backing Vossy but the other two?
He's never been happy about anything; it's an entitled attitude. Whatever you say doesn't change that. Anyway, he's not worth having an argument over , he's gone now, thankfully.
Not entitled. He just demanded success. Club couldn't deliver.
I feel a bit for Jack.

Bloke was unfortunately born in the wrong timeline.

Serg played in 4, won 2.
Sos, we all know how good and blessed he was in his era.

Jack got the raw end of this timeline
Entitled, sure, injured, heaps, as good as his dad and grandad, no way, groomed to join Carlton, absolutely, expected to play consistent finals, sure, was our club crap before and during his tenure, absolutely, gave his all when fit, yes from me.

All this would do most peoples heads in.

Was never going to win a flag with his club he loved, realised only few years left, cashed in.

Right or wrong for him and his family only he will know.

Wish him well, but he was not the reason why we are where we are at.

The silvagni family name regardless of recent times will always mean a great deal to me.

I don't understand how people can forget what they did for the club. It's forever etched in my mind.

Saad and Williams, who will be OOC in 12 months, probably combine what a yearly salary for Bailey would cost. We could definitely go for Bailey just based off that. And that’s not even mentioning what the club have saved this year by TDK/JSOS/Curnow/Doc all being off the books.

Sam Walsh’s extension can easily be covered as well.

Don’t get why anyone would even be thinking about Butters.

The way we are positioning ourselves the last thing we would want to do is spend a huge amount of resources on a gun mid.
We have mids covered moving forward, we need to be looking at bringing in more A/High B grade talent not Guns.

Improve the list, not look for a gun, incremental improvements not a “quick fix”

With sadd and Williams also coming out of contract we are going to have some serious cap space to burn, and bailey would be a ripper option and can play 1 out in the forward line and run through the midfield and absolutely dominate

Essendon are prepping a massive offer for him though... I think we've seen the last of the massive contract offers at Carlton tbh... or at least, not for a long time.

Don’t get why anyone would even be thinking about Butters.

The way we are positioning ourselves the last thing we would want to do is spend a huge amount of resources on a gun mid.
We have mids covered moving forward, we need to be looking at bringing in more A/High B grade talent not Guns.

Improve the list, not look for a gun, incremental improvements not a “quick fix”
Depends who we are after. Robey is more of a forward half player who can play spurts through the middle. Someone like Josh Lindsay or Sam Cumming are much more outside players that damage more with speed and ball use. Butters is a rare player that can damage both on the inside and outside.

I’m more perplexed about the Zac Bailey recruitment. I firmly believe you don’t pay $1.3 mil a year for a cherry-on-top player. He’s great, but I also believe he’s the sort of player that is great in a high performing team. He’s so good at Brisbane because he doesn’t have to be the main man

re going for KPF, while I agree we need depth in that area, we don't need anyone special, just another solid option.

Harry is still here for the next 5 years and I liked what I saw from HOK playing forward last season, Kemp is another solid option.

Look at Brisbane's midfield:

Neale
McLuggage
W.Ashcroft
L.Ashcroft
Dunkley

Then they have Bailey, Rayner, Marshall, Berry all going through there too...

Compare that to ours:

Cripps
Hewett
Walsh
Cerra
Lord

Then we have Smith, we just brought in Chesser and Ainsworth, Acres, Ollie, Binns, Campos...

Yes, Walker coming in helps, but he won't be lining up for us till 2027...

This is why I say we need to chase McInerny. Will improve our midfield, won't cost the farm. He's quick and he's a clean user... so fills a need.

Ison coming in will help as well because we need to build strong fwd/mid options.

Cripps is getting too old now to be the full time contested beast he once was. But add him to our forward line he could be a tough match up still.

With a midfield of:

Walker
Smith
Robey?
Walsh
McInerny

and support from Chesser, Ainsworth, Ison, Cripps, Campos...

We'll be a lot more deadly come 2028. We could even chase Rowel as FA end of 27... and/or go after Humphrey eventually...

re going for KPF, while I agree we need depth in that area, we don't need anyone special, just another solid option.

Harry is still here for the next 5 years and I liked what I saw from HOK playing forward last season, Kemp is another solid option.

Look at Brisbane's midfield:

Neale
McLuggage
W.Ashcroft
L.Ashcroft
Dunkley

Then they have Bailey, Rayner, Marshall, Berry all going through there too...

Compare that to ours:

Cripps
Hewett
Walsh
Cerra
Lord

Then we have Smith, we just brought in Chesser and Ainsworth, Acres, Ollie, Binns, Campos...

Yes, Walker coming in helps, but he won't be lining up for us till 2027...

This is why I say we need to chase McInerny. Will improve our midfield, won't cost the farm. He's quick and he's a clean user... so fills a need.

Ison coming in will help as well because we need to build strong fwd/mid options.

Cripps is getting too old now to be the full time contested beast he once was. But add him to our forward line he could be a tough match up still.

With a midfield of:

Walker
Smith
Robey?
Walsh
McInerny

and support from Chesser, Ainsworth, Ison, Cripps, Campos...

We'll be a lot more deadly come 2028. We could even chase Rowel as FA end of 27... and/or go after Humphrey eventually...
Am I misreading this or are you wanting to acquire McInerny to play on ball? He's a Wing/HHF?

Nope. Our fans are the most vile in the league as we eat our own. The others rage against the machine, we target the boys wearing our guernsey. Massive difference.

Be part of the solution.
Agree wholeheartedly, Cook alluded to it when he first came in.

Just need to look at filth in the game day threads and the complete peanuts I witness week in and week out when things aren’t going great.

Carlton supporters absolutely need to learn to not get so high or so low and be more in between

Agree wholeheartedly, Cook alluded to it when he first came in.

Just need to look at filth in the game day threads and the complete peanuts I witness week in and week out when things aren’t going great.

Carlton supporters absolutely need to learn to not get so high or so low and be more in between
Same here. Personally blame a lot of this on the Soccer/EPL influence amongst our fan base. A lot of the prominent content creators for the Blues are mad Soccer nuffies and want the coach sacked every 10 minutes as soon as theres a bit of hardship. Genuinely despise listening to some of them, peak of toxicity amongst fans.

Depends who we are after. Robey is more of a forward half player who can play spurts through the middle. Someone like Josh Lindsay or Sam Cumming are much more outside players that damage more with speed and ball use. Butters is a rare player that can damage both on the inside and outside.

I’m more perplexed about the Zac Bailey recruitment. I firmly believe you don’t pay $1.3 mil a year for a cherry-on-top player. He’s great, but I also believe he’s the sort of player that is great in a high performing team. He’s so good at Brisbane because he doesn’t have to be the main man
Wouldn't be the main man in our midfield either can play as a dangerous small forward that is a proven goal kicked and can go in the middle and dominate. Don't get me wrong would love butters but bailey is more dynamic imo and would be cheaper aswell

Butters would be the wrong move for Carlton.
Robey, Dean and Ison this year,
Walker next year.
Are there any KPF FA’s on the horizon ?
We should have a truckload of cap space available in the next few years …

How are we landing Robey?

Aside from trading out some of our future first rounders?

And why would tigers/bombers do that?

Wouldn't be the main man in our midfield either can play as a dangerous small forward that is a proven goal kicked and can go in the middle and dominate. Don't get me wrong would love butters but bailey is more dynamic imo and would be cheaper aswell
So we’d be paying a bloke $1.3 mil (possibly more) a year to not be the main man in our midfield at some point? If butters comes in, he would be our best mid

How are we landing Robey?

Aside from trading out some of our future first rounders?

And why would tigers/bombers do that?
I imagine it would be 9 + 11, and Sydney’s 2027 first for 3 or 4 + some later picks this year to match bids. Both the bombers and tigers have expressed interest in moving back down the draft

Agree ... target the Guns when we have our Act together and are in a Premiership window.
Now is a massive waste. Voss & Co have a lot of progress to make before reaching that level

Hmm? ... some may say you don't make it to a Premiership window without Guns.

The decision to get An A grade player really comes down to the club's internal expectations. If they believe all the pieces bar a couple are there, then the big price will be paid.
Last thing you want though is bring in a Butters then the backline has aged out and needs rebuilding, with no picks to make it happen effectively.