- Apr 5, 2015
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
Who?Leek Aleer would love it.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Who?Leek Aleer would love it.
Mack attack!!Sounds about right, now do Geelong supporters
No we have a good young ruck who will take couple more years.Stanley is cooked and apart from Conway all the rest are part time rucks at best this is going to be a liability moving forward
"fOcUs oN yoUr oWn rUCk dIvIsIon! The 2025 grand finalists will be fine!"
Wtf are you on about? cats usually pay overs, Cameron got matched….Good to see clubs playing hardball back at Geelong. They've been getting away with so many unfair trades over the years.![]()
You only payed overs there because he was matched and you had to. You've picked up Dangerfield, Smith, Bowes + 7 all for unders, and grabbed high risk/high reward guys like Stengle for very cheap. Your entire trade strategy for years has been to avoid paying overs unless absolutely necessary to get an extremely good player (Cameron).Wtf are you on about? cats usually pay overs, Cameron got matched….
And? The cats havent had a decent pick in the draft for 20 years whilst the saints are loaded with them and can’t develop them, pretty sure that means one club does it better….You only payed overs there because he was matched and you had to. You've picked up Dangerfield, Smith, Bowes + 7 all for unders, and grabbed high risk/high reward guys like Stengle for very cheap. Your entire trade strategy for years has been to avoid paying overs unless absolutely necessary to get an extremely good player (Cameron).
I'm not taking shots at Geelong mate. I just think it's silly to say that Geelong always overpay when the opposite is obviously the case.And? The cats havent had a decent pick in the draft for 20 years whilst the saints are loaded with them and can’t develop them, pretty sure that means one club does it better….
Who Conway you might get 10 games out of him next yearNo we have a good young ruck who will take couple more years.

Lighten up bud. Don't take it so personally. Try some humour pills.In all seriousness, what's the point of a post like this? You're making up a scenario that never happened so that you can get a snide quip in purely to rile other people up. Mackie said on day one he wasn't confident that this trade would happen because Marshall was contracted but since Marshall wanted to move Geelong would engage, the Saints always said they weren't going to trade Marshall though and that's exactly how it panned out. Geelong made reasonable offers from their perspective, but from the Saints' side those offers understandably weren't good enough and so they came to an impasse. Shit happens and it's all fine, neither side did anything wrong here. Hopefully this trade period might teach players that taking the longer term deals isn't always their best option.
It does give him a chance if his body plays ball. But with his foot injury we are probably looking more at the 2nd half of the season for Conway.Who Conway you might get 10 games out of him next year![]()
Mack attack!!
Who Conway you might get 10 games out of him next year![]()
Agree, he will be very good. 2026 might be too soon but has huge potential in 2027/28.Mitch Edwards looks like he could be a good player. Was Freo NGA kid, they were filthy we got him.
Modern day Ruck, was close to debuting this year. Very good shot for 2026 now Marshall hasn’t happened.
Agree, he will be very good. 2026 might be too soon but has huge potential in 2027/28.
He’s older than I thought and you’re right, he could be good to go. Fingers crossed, 206cm!He was ready to debut in 2025, Coaches said he wasn’t far off playing.
He absolutely will be good to go 2026.
Herald Sun even did article on him
Agree.Marshall would have been nice to get but I respect the way Lyon played this. He treated it as a game of footy. Why give the opposition a leg up? The Saints will need to beat the Cats to improve next year. If they traded Marshall that task becomes more difficult. A bunch of draft picks don’t make that easier.
I’ve watched Edwards and he’s got a real mongrel about him and heaps of talent. He’s obviously been injured and is a couple of pre seasons behind Conway in development. Not ready for AFL (he’d break against mature rucks) but will be in a couple of years.He looks miles of it. Even in the VFL, when Conway returned, you could actually see the difference in natural talent between the two players.
Edwards is incredibly skinny and raw. He may get a game but there's no way he remains in the team against mature 100kg rucks.
He looks much more likely to become a utility opposed to a number one ruckman in the AFL.
I'm not sure where the Edwards hype comes from to be honest. Expected a bit more from him this season in the reserves but was largely underwhelming averaging 9 touches, 2 marks, 12 hitouts and 0.2 goals across 10 games. So more than enough matches to work himself into it as the year went on.
Marshall was a required player and Geelong don't pay massive overs. It appears that you're the one who is reading this wrong.It’s pretty clear Mackie got this one wrong. The wait til the last minute strategy that has worked for him in the past wasn’t the way to go here.
Marshall was a required player and Geelong don't pay massive overs. It appears that you're the one who is reading this wrong.