Training Saints preseason 2026

However, walk into any pet shot today and the resident galah - typo Punter?

Look, you make some very pertinent points, I'm just not sure Jack Footballer is ready to hear them.
I can assume though, that if your argument about making the finals series a top 10 because there's soon to be a 19th team that Tassie will eventuate.

However, walk into any pet shot today and the resident galah - typo Punter?

Look, you make some very pertinent points, I'm just not sure Jack Footballer is ready to hear them.
I can assume though, that if your argument about making the finals series a top 10 because there's soon to be a 19th team that Tassie will eventuate.
Indeed a typo. Working to fix it.

I have an instinctive reaction to "just bloody kick the thing" types.

I have no particular desire to see a Tasmanian team because more teams equals smaller chance of premierships, and I've waited long enough already. But I think they're coming at some stage, along with a 20th team if we're being real.

The running stuff bores me mate.

I want to see King and Pou on the track. I want to see structure, Skills and a gameplan that is drilled in to perfection.

I want to see the physical evolution of the likes of Travaglia Tauru Dodson Caminiti Hall etc.

I want to see the immediate impact of JSOS TDK Ryan and Flanders etc.

Does NAS go up another level?
Who goes with him?

Who is the next Hall?

Will we finally see the evolution of Owens as a player?

I have so many questions I need answers to.

In my eyes, this might be our biggest summer of work since Hawthorn belted us in the 08 prelim and we turned into one of the games greatest ever defensive machines in the summer that followed with a side finishing runner up in the next 2 seasons.
I’m probably most interested in the guys you’ve mentioned too. The other one I’d add is Henry. He never got going last year. Don’t ask me where he fits in but he does add something when he’s up and running.

Henry at his best is electric. That game were we almost beat Brisbane in Brisbane last year was an incredible performance.

The last two seasons we've built momentum towards the end of the footy year for no reason. We get excited over "possibilities" and "potentiality" in the off season, and then watch us burn it all to shite again and again.
I will preface the following by saying that I think this whole wildcard thing is a bit farcical.
However, if we're coming home with the wind at our back like the last two seasons, then at least we might see that momentum produce something 🤷🏼‍♂️
Is anyone really going to be pissed off if we win a couple of extra games after finishing 9th or 10th?

No more plodders please, couldnt get into the north team and for good reason
I might be wrong, but we have a 'Will' training with us today- is the only non listed player there.

I don't know what he looks like from a bar of soap, but theres a possibility that it's him.

Flanders is our only recruit training today, no surprises but he's got number 3. He's giving me Stuv vibes for some reason. Needs shorter shorts though, he's making Lance's shorts look like Cappers short shorts and Lance is the king of long shorts.

Clark and King are here doing rehab, nothing says welcome back to training more than that.

The big important reports, thats what I'm here for 🤣

Watch us finish 7th next year, and get knocked out in a wildcard, playing Geelong at Cardinia park.

The old timers on here can help me, but wasn't their a season where we came home like a steam train but just missed out on finals. My old man reckoned if we had made finals that year, we would have won the flag. I think it was in the Plugger era.

I guess, that is one good thing about it.

My brother and I were saying there weee only nine teams that could make tye eight with about two months to go. It’s hard to keep supporters of the bottom nine engaged when that’s the case. The AFL want to keep more supporters interested for longer.
At the very least they’ve people talking about footy six weeks before Christmas. Anything that keeps the AFL in the news is a good thing.
The best remedy for that is to create equalisation throughout the fixture draft fa etc etc etc
Keep the top eight churning.

That's who was in no.55 today
Interesting. 🤔

He is definitely unfulfilled potential. Better games were as a tagger/run with roles under Clarko.

Flipside, he couldn’t break into the side with any consistency in what is a dire North Melbourne throughout his entire tenure.

The old timers on here can help me, but wasn't their a season where we came home like a steam train but just missed out on finals. My old man reckoned if we had made finals that year, we would have won the flag. I think it was in the Plugger era.

I guess, that is one good thing about it.
Was the 1978 season - we had a powerful team that season and we came storming home. Just missed the finals but beat the eventual premiers, runners up and another finalist on that run.

Interesting. 🤔

He is definitely unfulfilled potential. Better games were as a tagger/run with roles under Clarko.

Flipside, he couldn’t break into the side with any consistency in what is a dire North Melbourne throughout his entire tenure.
Does he have speed and can he defend? Could maybe be a handy back pocket option for the oppo small forwards. Don't know much about him because I never watch North games.

Was the 1978 season - we had a powerful team that season and we came storming home. Just missed the finals but beat the eventual premiers, runners up and another finalist on that run.
We beat the Blues in the last round by 40 points and would have played them again in the first final if we'd made it.
I think we lost about six games in a row in the middle of the year.

Does he have speed and can he defend? Could maybe be a handy back pocket option for the oppo small forwards. Don't know much about him because I never watch North games.
No I don’t think so.

He is a pure inside midfielder type.

All sorts of opinions on the north board thread.

would give Will Phillips a year instead of Ryan Byrnes

Training Saints preseason 2026