List Mgmt. 2026 Trade and List Management Thread

Resigned myself to the fact that we won't.

We self sabotage too much and the AFL has no interest in small Melbourne based sides winning anything.

I have come to think I will never see us win an AFL flag again.

More drafted talent than we've ever had in our history and we cannot climb out of bottom 4.

Somewhere along the line we lost what made us strong. We require a cultural shift and who knows where or how that is going to happen.
Whilst i pretty much agree whole hartedly of your forecast, we really dont have that much talent, sheezel is an absolute ripper but outside of him any one else is simply speculative at the moment.

If wardlaw can stay on the park is our next big gain. Has the tools but his endurance is worrying.

Colby probably the next most exiting with foss rounding out our more prodigious prospects.

Of the older brigade ldu chooses when to go. X is a workhorse, paul curtis to big a gap between his best and worse and larkey a good 2nd banana that i sense we are never going to land a gun to let him flourush in that role.

More recently the addition of whitlock will be years to tell if he can match the faith that led for a long reach for him and lastly the jury well and truly out on zane....

It leaves a lot of shots to find their targets and then we still have the talent cliff after them where a good percentage of yhe starting 22 are made up of journeymen.

So effectivly zero depth to cover the inevitable injuries that stack up over the course of a season.

Compare that to brisnane that had zero trouble covering keidie coleman and linc mcarthy.

Whilst i pretty much agree whole hartedly of your forecast, we really dont have that much talent, sheezel is an absolute ripper but outside of him any one else is simply speculative at the moment.

If wardlaw can stay on the park is our next big gain. Has the tools but his endurance is worrying.

Colby probably the next most exiting with foss rounding out our more prodigious prospects.

Of the older brigade ldu chooses when to go. X is a workhorse, paul curtis to big a gap between his best and worse and larkey a good 2nd banana that i sense we are never going to land a gun to let him flourush in that role.

More recently the addition of whitlock will be years to tell if he can match the faith that led for a long reach for him and lastly the jury well and truly out on zane....

It leaves a lot of shots to find their targets and then we still have the talent cliff after them where a good percentage of yhe starting 22 are made up of journeymen.

So effectivly zero depth to cover the inevitable injuries that stack up over the course of a season.

Compare that to brisnane that had zero trouble covering keidie coleman and linc mcarthy.
Wow the future looks pretty bleak in your eyes then.

Out side of footy its pretty rosey but iam not kidding myself that we are contenders.

Maybe in 3 years if we have ridded our list of the likes of fisher and ccj types the outlook could be a bit more rosey but given we have the same blokes managing the trading thats far from a lock.

Out side of footy its pretty rosey but iam not kidding myself that we are contenders.

Maybe in 3 years if we have ridded our list of the likes of fisher and ccj types the outlook could be a bit more rosey but given we have the same blokes managing the trading thats far from a lock.
Well I'm happy everything outside of footy is rosey and I'm not trying to be funny I'm glad and the footy is a bonus if that is going well.

Mate,

We have LDU, Curtis, Sheezel, Larkey, Xerri, Wardlaw, McKercher, FOS, Duursma, Comben, George, Dawson and Goodness as probably potential AGraders.

With a support cast of; Hardeman, Goater, Simpkin MWhitlock, Powell, Parker, Archer, Zurhaar & Trembath.

With talents like: Hudson Harvey, Carey x 2, Lual Deng, Ayds McCartney, Harris, Marsden & Auber over the next few years.

This negative shit needs to end, it's currently a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Even we can't **** this up.

Mate,

We have LDU, Curtis, Sheezel, Larkey, Xerri, Wardlaw, McKercher, FOS, Duursma, Comben, George, Dawson and Goodness as probably potential AGraders.

With a support cast of; Hardeman, Goater, Simpkin MWhitlock, Powell, Parker, Archer, Zurhaar & Trembath.

With talents like: Hudson Harvey, Carey x 2, Lual Deng, Ayds McCartney, Harris, Marsden & Auber over the next few years.

This negative shit needs to end, it's currently a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Even we can't **** this up.
Your not from around here are you....

Resigned myself to the fact that we won't.

We self sabotage too much and the AFL has no interest in small Melbourne based sides winning anything.

I have come to think I will never see us win an AFL flag again.

More drafted talent than we've ever had in our history and we cannot climb out of bottom 4.

Somewhere along the line we lost what made us strong. We require a cultural shift and who knows where or how that is going to happen.
Have heard mutterings dogs had the league by the legal balls in some way in 2016.

Unless we can enforce some similar extortion we're little hope of shifting the playing field to favour us.

Can only compare it to ourselves.

Prior to Will Phillips our top 5 picks were
LDU
Ben Cunnington
Lachie Hansen
Daniel Wells.

Culture matters. When I left Australia North still had a clear identity as a hard-nosed, hard-working, elbows out, feisty fighting club. Not big. Not glamorous. Not sexy but not to be taken lightly. Observing from a distance I am not best placed to say where we stand in this regard right now but winning teams in any sport always have a clear identity. Collingwood and Geelong know who they are and never really lose sight of that. To me our shinboner bloodline should be a coaching focus. Work hard. Scrap for everything. Be a pain in the arse to play against. Be North.

Curtis basically averaged as many goals and goals assists as any ELITE medium/small forward in the AFL

The main distinguishing features were

1- his younger age

2- the massive gap between him and next best for tackles inside 50 (many of which genuinely hurt the victim)

Your not from around here are you....
I have been going to North games since I was in the womb (1982). I'm not at GK level, sure, but 1986-1999 I missed only a handful of games, inc travelling to Adelaide, Bris, Syd regularly. And attending every U19 game.

I've done my time/served my sentence/paid my jews.

Curtis basically averaged as many goals and goals assists as any ELITE medium/small forward in the AFL

1- his younger age

2- the massive gap between him and next best for tackles inside 50 (many of which genuinely hurt the victim)
Curtis is an absolute gun, if it weren't for Wardlaw, Sheezus, FOS, X and he, we're basically unwatchable.

Have we offered Zak butters 2 mil a year yet?

There's glass half full sure, but that take on Paul Curtis is wild. IMO he was the best forward of his size and type in the league outside of a short dip when shanghai'd by head office.

1- his younger age

He did and if he could lose the undisyplined stuff he would probably be elite.

Easy to whinge to town hall when you get rubbed out and give away 50s, more effective to not get rubbed out and give away 50s.

free agents
ADELAIDE

Mitch Hinge*
James Borlase*
Chayce Jones
Rory Laird
Lachie Sholl
Jordon Butts

BRISBANE
Zac Bailey
Darcy Gardiner
Ryan Lester
Lachie Neale
Dayne Zorko
Noah Answerth

CARLTON
Nick Haynes^
Nic Newman
Sam Walsh
Zac Williams^

COLLINGWOOD
Jack Crisp
Jeremy Howe
Tim Membrey*
Scott Pendlebury
Steele Sidebottom

ESSENDON
Jade Gresham^
Matt Guelfi
Liam McMahon*
Jaxon Prior*

FREMANTLE
Bailey Banfield*
Oscar McDonald*
Sam Sturt
Sam Switkowski
Patrick Voss*
Corey Wagner*

GEELONG
Mark Blicavs
Patrick Dangerfield
Jake Kolodjashnij
Jack Martin*
Mark O'Connor
Rhys Stanley

GOLD COAST
Oscar Adams*
Caleb Graham
Ben King
Max Knobel*
Lachie Weller
Jarrod Witts

GREATER WESTERN SYDNEY
Kieren Briggs
Stephen Coniglio
Toby Greene

HAWTHORN
Jack Gunston
Jarman Impey
Mitch Lewis
Harry Morrison
Ned Reeves

MELBOURNE
Tom Campbell*
Kade Chandler
Jai Culley*
Bayley Fritsch
Steven May
Tom McDonald
Jake Melksham
Christian Salem
Tom Sparrow

PORT ADELAIDE
Zak Butters
Darcy Byrne-Jones
Ollie Wines

RICHMOND
Nathan Broad
Tom Lynch
Toby Nankervis
Dion Prestia
Nick Vlastuin
Jack Ross
Ben Miller

ST KILDA
Jack Carroll*
Liam Stocker*

SYDNEY
Joel Amartey
Harry Cunningham
Joel Hamling*
Justin McInerney

WEST COAST
Tom Cole
Matt Flynn^
Bailey Williams

WESTERN BULLDOGS
Lachie Bramble*
Ryan Gardner*
Tom Liberatore
Lachie McNeil*
Rhylee West
Buku Khamis

With Dovastan added to the roster (which surely no one here could be upset with), we're suddenly very stacked at small/medium forward.

Pick three~ of the below list to keep and play regularly in season 2026. The rest are going to be spending a lot of time in the VFL;
  • Paul Curtis
  • Cam Zurhaar
  • Jacob Konstanty
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Zac Banch
  • Cooper Harvey
  • Robert Hansen Jr
  • River Stevens
  • LACHIE DOVASTAN

With Dovastan added to the roster (which surely no one here could be upset with), we're suddenly very stacked at small/medium forward.

Pick three~ of the below list to keep and play regularly in season 2026. The rest are going to be spending a lot of time in the VFL;
  • Paul Curtis
  • Cam Zurhaar
  • Jacob Konstanty
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Zac Banch
  • Cooper Harvey
  • Robert Hansen Jr
  • River Stevens
  • LACHIE DOVASTAN
He looks great but our biggest hole is backline.

We really, really need Jackson Archer to stay healthy.

And FOS/Hardeman need to cement themselves across HBF.

He did and if he could lose the undisyplined stuff he would probably be elite.

Easy to whinge to town hall when you get rubbed out and give away 50s, more effective to not get rubbed out and give away 50s.
He is elite. If he could avoid the odd free or 50m he'd be better yes. But your argument would be like arguing Toby Greene could be elite.

List Mgmt. 2026 Trade and List Management Thread