dudeintheswamp
- Apr 16, 2022
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
He can call his memoir "Lost On A Wing"For Viney's heroics?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
He can call his memoir "Lost On A Wing"For Viney's heroics?
I reckon Nas was comfortably BOG well before the last minute, then the last minute upgraded it to one of the best individual performances I’ve seen. Viney was good sure, but you’d have to have your eyes painted on to give anyone other than Nas the 3. The worst Brownlow votes in history IMOTo be honest, the voting in this match wasn't even the worst assignment of Brownlow votes in the past two years. The Jack Higgins goal with 11 secs left against Blues had Cripps with 3 votes, when all he did was play one good quarter (the third). People get votes for the most random matches, and Viney was by far the best player on the ground, until the final minute. It will go down in history as meme votes, but Viney actually deserved recognition for what he had done throughout the entire match.
Viney actually deserved recognition for what he had done throughout the entire match.
A bloody good read, thanks mateI guess I should probably put a few early thoughts down. As always, Joffaboy has done most of the heavy lifting so there's not a heap to be said really. Side note: not sure what those African witch doctors did to Joff but since that trip how good has the post quality been?
Its hard to comment too much after a couple of short sessions designed to blow the cobwebs out. They really have just been easing back in nicely.
I always take note of who is training with the 1-4 year players in the first few sessions. Its obviously unfair to interstate players or ones with families on holidays but I always think its a really big sign for who to look out for.
With that in mind, its important to realise that Nas, Windy and Mitchito are no longer 1-4 year players, still first on last off type of guys. Wood, Stocker, Henry and Sharman the other notables. We've got a few doing rehab like King, Higgins, Clark, I don't stick my head in the gym so there may well be others. Flanders older but new to the club.
Flanders gave me Stuv vibes with the way he looks in that number 3, not sure if it was because of the long shorts or his puffed out chest, just something about him. From what I saw he's a smooth mover with neat skills, very very excited about what he brings. Scared me a little when he went over to the rehab guys on the other side of the oval, ran some laps afterwards and looked fine - no doubt will be cotton wooled for a while.
Much has been said about how ripped Wilson is, he is in incredible shape and its a testament to his professionalism and drive. One thing that hasn't been said a lot of how smooth he is looking, he's always been quick but its like he's found an extra step off the mark to sneak through gaps. Watching him glide across the turf is a thing of beauty.
The other guy heading up the runs after each session is Travaglia. He exudes confidence and leadership, clearly a very hard worker and focused. His kicking in the first few sessions has still been a bit iffy at times, if he can clean that up he'll be a scary prospect. Our running afterwards seems to have backed off a tiny bit, I wonder if we've changed the set up after last year.
The other one who always looks iffy by foot at training is Hugh Boxshall. Its nothing new for him, when game time starts though its like he's an experienced 200 gamer great by foot... its strange to say the least.
One guy who I just love watching train is Said. He is just so clean and tidy with his skills especially by foot. He's yet to even put an a-grade VFL match together so who knows if he can at least push for selection - but I do think he has 'something', his ceiling is Chad Warner - not that he's even shown us that.
Liam Henry and Mason Wood had to be yelled at to calm it down, both having fun (being competitive) and going hard at a loose ball. Gave me a chuckle, Henry looks like a different person. Looks less worried, gliding on top of the grass, not hampered by his knee - he wasn't doing as much as the others but I saw some good signs there.
On Wednesday he swapped jumpers with Collard. I dont know what it is, but certain jumper numbers just fit well and look like they belong. 4 on Henry, 23 on Collard and while we are at it 37 on Keels just looked right for some reason. Its like last year, 42 on Heath just never seemed to fit, I feel the same about Keeler and 17. Strange analysis I know...
On Keels, he's definitely filled out. He's not ripped by any means, but, as evidenced by them running together, he's now broader than Caminiti across the shoulders. Some players like Hugo, Windy and Darcy have proper definition, that not Keels - but his chest and shoulders are noticeably larger.
Hugo, the bloke is a ball of muscle from top to bottom. His core and legs are solid as, if that makes sense. The guys scares me, he's got proper terminator vibes.
While I mention that, its hard to explain, but the boys look really strong in their glutes. That was never going to come out right... but they arent just top heavy, they look strong all over. Ima stop this train of though, its not coming out right.
Joey (Jonah), Billy (no, not Will Phillips, soory) and (I think) Bailey McKenzie have trained with us. I quite like that Billy kid, clean and compact, I seriously doubt any of the 3 would be in line for an AFL spot though.
Windy, Nas and Hall are looking a million dollars. I'm really impressed by Marcus, he's on the cusp of stepping up to a-grade quality in my opinion. He's worked and continues to work on his deficiencies and he's improved out of sight.
Interesting little nickname that Missy has given Nas, not sure if Marquee will catch on but I like it. His running isn't at that elite midfielder level, but he's still middle of the pack - worth going to training just to watch him kick a footy though.
Armstrong sporting an impressive mo, the nude nut and mo is a classy look! He's very raw, can't really comment much, he has a slightly awkward running style like his knees don't go high enough or something.
Mattaes looks in amazing shape, I still see a Bont ceiling for him - I'd love to see him just dominate the arcs the way Bont does. A bit like Keeler in a way, he doesn't look as ripped as some of the others, but he looks strong all over and not a kid anymore. Early days, but I reckon he might have improved his balance between manic and solid trainer which his body probably needs.
One of his biggest weaknesses in the midfield was hitting the contest at speed with the right timing - thats going to be his major challenge this year especially with the change in ruck rules. I really hope he will be in our leadership group, future captain.
I still like Carroll, hard to see who he displaces, but a quick left footer with size is like a unicorn in footballing terms. Its really hard to do a best 23 when guys like him are probably in the 30-35 range if not lower on our list.
Haven't really mentioned any talls, not heaps to report on really. They're just doing their thing. Tauru seems to have filled out a bit more - he's someone who when he hits you'll stay hit, Dodson is a great size and was giving me Jackson vibes for some reason, Sharman is all class, Kings varicose veins make me feel a little queasy, Hammer and Keels both doing good things in the air - Hammer maybe a bit ahead of Keels in the small sample set I've seen.
Well, I think its time to stop rambling. We are looking good, a bit sloppy if I'll be honest, but this week is just to blow out some cobwebs. Its nice to be back.

A bloody good read, thanks mate![]()
You are balanced for a bit .. then ....I'm not a very balanced person when footy starts.
Can categorically state that had NAS not re-signed our pre-season period would have been a complete 180 degrees from where it is now.Meh you do what you have to do, not too proud to say he's important to us.
Can categorically state that had NAS not re-signed our pre-season period would have been a complete 180 degrees from where it is now.
He’s that important.
Carlton twice was my wish so sweet. Port and Richmond is a win. Swans and GC are around our level so not to bad at all.
Some of the more reliably informed on here were confident all along. It ain’t much but it’s honest workAbsolute sliding door moment. There was a fork in the road, one side ruin, one side glory. We usually ignore the creepy trees and storm clouds and take the wrong path. We finally caught a break.

I think Curnow isn't suddenly going to turn them into flag contenders. We can definitely beat the Swans.
There were 12 games where Plugger kick 9 or more goals and didn't receive 3 votes ( 9 of those games he kicked over 10+) ... he kicked 12.3 in one game and received no votesTo be honest, the voting in this match wasn't even the worst assignment of Brownlow votes in the past two years. The Jack Higgins goal with 11 secs left against Blues had Cripps with 3 votes, when all he did was play one good quarter (the third). People get votes for the most random matches, and Viney was by far the best player on the ground, until the final minute. It will go down in history as meme votes, but Viney actually deserved recognition for what he had done throughout the entire match.
Gringo is a master chameleon .... so many different yet special personas
Sydney will be a hard double up as will GWS and GC (up there at least). Carlton are a bit of a dark horse, wouldn't surprise me if they were a bit more competitive than people imagine. Richmond should be a couple of wins.
2 positions vacated that need to be filled. Webster’s lock down small defender role and Nas’s half back flank .
Stocker would be the starting favourite for the lock down small defender role, but his lack of pace may leave him exposed against some of the quicker small forwards. LOC probably next cab off the rank, maybe even Trav for a year .
With Nas moving into the midfield I cant see him being replaced with a Tauru as many have suggested. 4 tall defenders is 1 too many. Hastie recruited as a rebounding defender and coming into his 3rd year could be an option, but will need to show more improvement in the off season. Trav & LOC also options. Or perhaps it’s the slower but creative Clark ? Or will it be someone we haven’t seen play that position before ? I think we will see a few players tried there in the first half of the season.
I agree re: Carlton. I don't think their ins/outs are too bad but i still think they'll be bottom 6.Sydney will be a hard double up as will GWS and GC (up there at least). Carlton are a bit of a dark horse, wouldn't surprise me if they were a bit more competitive than people imagine. Richmond should be a couple of wins.
Gringo is a master chameleon .... so many different yet special personas
Something for everybody
You're Calton mates been getting in your ear again. Like last year.
Clark was very, very good when moved back there for the last 5 or so games last year and I think his best position is half back at this stage of his career. He can pick off passes that few others can and he has vision and timing that is very unique. I think having the game in front of him helps with his lack of pace.
Replacing the fastest player on the list with the slowest is obviously not a like for like but I think we are better at moving the ball with him in the 22.
I agree re: Carlton. I don't think their ins/outs are too bad but i still think they'll be bottom 6.
I could see Geelong, Collingwood, Adelaide and GC dipping with far more difficult draws.
I don't understand how the media suddenly has Sydney as top 8 locks just because they picked up Curnow. I expect they'll finish 9-12 again this year.
Overall, I'm not too upset with our draw. I'm glad we double up against Port. They'll be bottom 4 pretty comfortably this year.
A bit more glute detail would have been nice but a very solid effort indeed.