Fixture 2026 season

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Nah I meant at Adelaide oval. That way every second week I could abuse players for making silly errors:) would make my day if I could
Wait until you get grumpy and old, you prefer sitting away from the throng ... well I do, lucky I follow North šŸ™ƒ

the rule changes for next season, last touch out of bounds, does that include spoiling? defenders (or any player really) who belt the ball out of bounds in a marking contest? and does it matter if that spoil goes over the boundary on the full, or if it bounces over the line?
Maybe in 2027 the AFL could bring in the "play on when kicking backwards in defence" rule... :rolleyes:

Well that'll confuse all in Gisborne South .... bloke'll kick it backwards, oppo player, not really paying attention, will stand, and everyone else within cooeee'll look around wondering wtf is going on, and Paul Curtis'll cop 3 weeks.

Dummies out for mummies boy come round 1.
This is the long awaited sequel we've all waited for at Marvel stadium, "The retribution" starring "Judas" as the number #1 draft pick who turned his back on a struggling football club for reasons that make no sense and in all probability just wanted to come home, the legendary coach who tried to make him fit in but was later cast as the villain in the racism saga at Hawthorn, as Judas was apparently told to come back home and get out of there even tho the evidence hadn't been declared either way.

The Port Adelaide footy club who when this was going on was in contact with him & his manager even tho he was contracted to North Melbourne for another year, the rivalry, the tension, the disgust from supporters from other clubs after he got to his new club, the injuries, the loved coach at the power who has now departed, the team for which the player in question joined in hoping to play in finals and be a finals team will struggle to make the Eight next year with the players they have and the ever looming departure of their gun midfielder going back to Melbourne, this surely has to be the Karma story of the decade!

Tune in ladies & Gentlemen for round 1 at Marvel stadium, because this will be no ordinary football match, contrary to what people say!🧐

Our message will be short but clear................
i must break you dolph lundgren GIF

Serious question, If one person throws a dummy onto the field its a life ban… what happens if all of level 1 throws a dummy on the field? not directed at a player, just caressed gently onto the field?
Dunno mate. I personally wouldn’t be throwing stuff onto the field. Probably enough of a message for a bunch of people to just have dummies/bottles in the stands.

Serious question, If one person throws a dummy onto the field its a life ban… what happens if all of level 1 throws a dummy on the field? not directed at a player, just caressed gently onto the field?
Same thing that happens if one person runs onto the field vs the entire crowd running onto the field.

I think we all mouth breathe heavily whenever Jason Horne Fabian goes near the ball, he will soon get it. stern look

I’m a realist. Look at the odds. Look at the last 6 years. Look at our list. Shit look at our performances against teams around us last season. Barely scraping through beating West Coast. Just holding on against Richmond at the G. How many convincing wins did we have last season? Melbourne the first time around. Richmond the second time around. Truly judge our list against others. I admire your optimism. But that optimism is simply based on wishful thinking. What’s your address again? :stern look
Ha ha ha, its fine, now with the draw we have been given and the steps we have taken in the last two years we have the chance to climb this ladder and everything I've witnessed tells me it is going to happen and it is not based on wishful thinking but on watching the games and a few other things, we shall have to disagree on the outcome, but next year I've a feeling you'll come around. ;)

For this to happen there needs to be a significant shift in the way we play. Until we see that occur you can be optimistic but its far from reality.

Chip Scab1

As we were discussing the reasons for feeling a little positive for season 2026.

The 13 departed footballers
Supplied by Blightys Barrel
Thomas, Ford, Lazz, WP, Turner, Tucker, Taylor, McKay, Goldie, Bergman, Howe, Perez and Dawson,
you missed Greenhead Blightys. And Scott who can't get a game had 33 disposals that day.

There is enough grounds above to back in further improvement for season 2026 :)

100 bucks @ tens for top ten, loving life :)

I agree with your timeline.

Recent history shows (Dees and Lions as two and even Carlton who ultimately ****ed it up and are now back at square 1) it’s 4 seasons at least to go from your first genuinely improved season to a contender.

And as most of us would conclude, we haven’t had that first genuinely improved season yet. We have a long, slow grind ahead of us.
Agree, but I'm counting this year (2025) as yr 1. Had Curtis, Wardlaw and Archer been available, we'd have won 2 more games. One of them in Adelaide (which we've never done).

Should be taken into consideration for accuracy and a semblance of fairness (really).
Chip Scab1

As we were discussing the reasons for feeling a little positive for season 2026.

The 13 departed footballers
Supplied by Blightys Barrel
Thomas, Ford, Lazz, WP, Turner, Tucker, Taylor, McKay, Goldie, Bergman, Howe, Perez and Dawson,
you missed Greenhead Blightys. And Scott who can't get a game had 33 disposals that day.

There is enough grounds above to back in further improvement for season 2026 :)

100 bucks @ tens for top ten, loving life :)
Nice switch. I'm gonna jump on that, I think I have $137
of Bonus Bets somewhere.

People will say "what if we're shit again in 2026?" I'll just be excited for this thread again in 12 months. I'm a simple man, Jy'll be gone by this time next year. I can see us having 4x 2026 R2 and maybe 2 x 2026 R1... how exciting.

Agree, but I'm counting this year (2025) as yr 1. Had Curtis, Wardlaw and Archer been available, we'd have won 2 more games. One of them in Adelaide (which we've never done).

Should be taken into consideration for accuracy and a semblance of fairness (really).

of Bonus Bets somewhere.

People will say "what if we're shit again in 2026?" I'll just be excited for this thread again in 12 months. I'm a simple man, Jy'll be gone by this time next year. I can see us having 4x 2026 R2 and maybe 2 x 2026 R1... how exciting.

Yeah plonk it all on mate, easy money, I believe we should be 5/1 ish and I'll hit the pay out button, reckon they'll settle on about $4.50. And ching , ching.

I reckon JY will be ok in 26, but yes he will be traded. Has a new partner now, which is great news, hopes his pants don't fall down again. Was unlucky, the only target he hit last season was...

of Bonus Bets somewhere.

No issues from me if you want to include this year. I agree there was noticeable improvement without that quite reflecting on the scoreboard. So we probably should be hitting the pointy end 29 or 28 if things go well.

Dunno how we will go this year. Our talls probably need another 1-2 years.

But I look at this list now and think we're probably only missing 2-3 players from being a good finals team. Haven't been able to say that for close to a decade. Most teams start challenging with that list profile and poach the last few players from other teams.

It's crunch time, and will come down to our development.

Dawson/Whitlock plug a major hole.
Wardlaw gets a decent run of footy.
Our smalls actually start scoring.
Natural progression from Kerch, Hardeman and FOS.

Cherry on top if we can get even one of Goater, BG, Duurs, Trembath or Cooper to a good standard.

Fixture 2026 season