Training Saints preseason 2026

We asked six recruiters, ruck coaches and assistant coaches from across the competition, who wanted to speak anonymously so they could speak freely about the potential impact of the rule changes on ruckman.

There is unanimous agreement that each rule change suits St Kilda recruit De Koning.

He is an athletic tall with an outstanding leap at centre bounces. By no means the finished product, he will, however, be able to play football like a jockey rides the best horse in a race.

Melbourne champion Gawn had already predicted De Koning would be the next ruck star on the horizon and his ascension to that mantle should be celebrated as the AFL encourages a return to the spectacular leap after fearing its extinction.

Not only will the ruckman need to jump or stifle their opponent’s elevation at centre bounces, they will need to cover the ground like a midfielder to stay as involved in the game. Umpires will throw the ball up immediately around the ground rather than waiting for nominations like a waiter arriving at a table with three different parmas.

The challenge will be getting into position behind the ball, particularly with last touch. Those teams who have used their ruckman to bolster their defence can’t also expect that player to always be at stoppages. It’s why, one assistant said, the Western Bulldogs with Tim English, Sam Darcy and Rory Lobb in all parts of the ground could gain an advantage via the new rules. It may explain why St Kilda retained Rowan Marshall, despite his trade request.

The game is becoming so fast that a tired, lumbering ruckman will be hard-pressed to execute their skills if pushed too hard, said one coach. So two ruckmen or one ruckman with a different role will be the way forward.
The author of this piece chose some weird arse similes to make their point

The challenge will be getting into position behind the ball, particularly with last touch. Those teams who have used their ruckman to bolster their defence can’t also expect that player to always be at stoppages. It’s why, one assistant said, the Western Bulldogs with Tim English, Sam Darcy and Rory Lobb in all parts of the ground could gain an advantage via the new rules. It may explain why St Kilda retained Rowan Marshall, despite his trade request.
Interesting. So with 2 rucks they could zone so that one will always be near a potential ruck contest.

Well apart from that reason above, as per the article:

All six experts agree the tall players’ ability to mark will always be valuable meaning players such as Gawn, Cameron and Nankervis will remain relevant.

Marshall is a very good mark around the ground.

And then:
  • Marshall is quite mobile as well
  • We need back up for Max King (Key marking forward). Especially if the Coaches want to play 2 tall forwards each game.
  • We need back up for TDK
  • Cat's were only offering unders for Marshall

PS, and yes gaining TDK is now even more valuable than if the rules had not changed. It could well make him the most effective player in 2026 who has swapped clubs.

Interesting. So with 2 rucks they could zone so that one will always be near a potential ruck contest.

All six experts agree the tall players’ ability to mark will always be valuable meaning players such as Gawn, Cameron and Nankervis will remain relevant.

And then:
  • We need back up for Max King (Key marking forward). Especially if the Coaches want to play 2 tall forwards each game.

PS, and yes gaining TDK is now even more valuable than if the rules had not changed. It could well make him the most effective player in 2026 who has swapped clubs.
Excellent forward planning by the club. Reckon Tdk will turn out to be worth every cent.

Great point. The same can be said about commentators. A lot of well credentialed players, who have the IQ of a golden retriever end up in roles as experts comments/analysis. Jonathan Brown a prime example
You’ve given these types too much credit. Goldens are proven to be one of the highest IQ dog breeds…

And then:

I don't rate rucks very highly but this rule change has really opened the door for TDK to be the best ruck in footy. In the article they were suggesting that rucks that couldn't run all day are going to be in trouble when they don't wait for the rucks to arrive.

Marshall is very mobile and gets around the ground well for a player his size. It probably does open the door to play two rucks.

What a flog comment
Ok Champion , care to elaborate about why its a Flog comment or are they the only works you could get out , and trust WoffaGirl to like your post , wouldn't expect anything less from it

If you think broken pallets , chemical drum's , irrigation hose laying all over the place no more that 10 mrts basically behind the goals is a flog comment good for you pal

I kinda see what he is saying. I've often been there late in the week and seen the grand stand full of rubbish from the previous weeks games. I would anticipate a slick, professional outfit would look exactly like that in every sense.

I used to work in production for a company that opened themselves up to the public on weekends - my boss would lose it if we didn't leave areas visible to the public spotless.

I've never really cared myself about RSEA, but the thought has crossed my mind so its a valid opinion.

Its definitely an argument that the 'who has a messy bedroom' recruiter would have.

I'm not some clean freak Nazi but its not hard to keep an area clean , at least they could erect some fencing and have it contained

Ok Champion , care to elaborate about why its a Flog comment or are they the only works you could get out , and trust WoffaGirl to like your post , wouldn't expect anything less from it

If you think broken pallets , chemical drum's , irrigation hose laying all over the place no more that 10 mrts basically behind the goals is a flog comment good for you pal

I remember driving past the Seaford ground and they had a pile of hard rubbish along the wall facing the freeway where our giant sign was. One of the big letters on our logo had fallen off and it was sitting in the rubbish pile. About a year after building it. There are more important issues in the world but it does represent the club's standards. Hopefully it was just some crap from someone doing some work and about to be picked up.

I kinda see what he is saying. I've often been there late in the week and seen the grand stand full of rubbish from the previous weeks games. I would anticipate a slick, professional outfit would look exactly like that in every sense.

I used to work in production for a company that opened themselves up to the public on weekends - my boss would lose it if we didn't leave areas visible to the public spotless.

I've never really cared myself about RSEA, but the thought has crossed my mind so its a valid opinion.

Its definitely an argument that the 'who has a messy bedroom' recruiter would have.
Really interesting comment, after all the times I have been to training, I have never not once noticed the whole place as clean and well looked after.

I remember driving past the Seaford ground and they had a pile of hard rubbish along the wall facing the freeway where our giant sign was. One of the big letters on our logo had fallen off and it was sitting in the rubbish pile. About a year after building it. There are more important issues in the world but it does represent the club's standards. Hopefully it was just some crap from someone doing some work and about to be picked up.
I too have concerns about the upkeep of RSEA park.
Don't want it to end up in a shabby state due to little to no maintenance.

For reference i said there was one area that needed a clean up , its not like i said the whole joint is a sh1t tip so not sure why people are coming for my throat

All jokes aside, if the place is messy--and I believe him that the area in question was messy--the management should keep it clean as best as possible.

When I visited there after the Dees' game, it seemed pretty clean and nice. However I didn't walk around the stands nor the oval.

Totally agree. If as Risky has posted there is rubbish and crap laying around it's a super bad look and reflects on the club very poorly. It's like having a house with rubbish strewn around the front yard. That's not good. And then there's the longer term upkeep. One of my careers was in asset management / facilities maintenance - if there's not a plan and funding it wont stay looking good for very long. And the deterioration curve gets way steeper after the 'shiny new' period is over.

Looks like i wasn't seeing things Mike but ask old mate and he has seen nothing and thinks its interesting 1000009871.jpg

Training Saints preseason 2026