Tasmania Team entering 2028. VFL team 2026. Gov has votes to pass Upper House. Official vote 4/12. Job almost done lads - congrats!

The issue with this line of thinking is that it will take an endless well of money to fix the "perceived" tangible element of healthcare, because unless you throw an unrealistic, undemocratic amount of money that the mainland would never pay, Tasmania's health outcomes will never be on level pegging with the mainland.

So you build a few more hospitals that fixes up the fact that people might get a bit better care in the short-term. But then as Tasmania ages faster than the mainland and young people that could have been the ones to be a tax and caring base for the elderly move to the mainland - then what? You still have the need for ever more hospital beds and and a structure of the economy that can't support it other than an ever increasing unsustainable amount of money being thrown at the problem.

In order to "fix" the health crisis the only solution people would have, is to what, spend tens of thousands of dollars convincing mainland nurses to relocate to (or not move away from) to Tasmania, and once you're doing that, you may as well achieve that indirectly by spending the money on the team and stadium which will convince people to move/stay to Tasmania because they like the fact they have a football team to support and concerts to go to.

The Tasmanian expat community is a lot bigger in Melbourne than the rest of the country (for obvious reasons) both me and my friends/family know a lot of Tasmanians who have had to leave the mainland.

Over 5,000 20-34 year olds leave Tasmania every year, of the 15,000 that do leave, and while similar numbers to return to the state, it's much older, such as returning older Tasmanians and retirees who are much more likely to interact with their health system - but you don't have the university-educated 20-34 year old workforce individuals that are the ones that bear the brunt of driving our economy forward so we do have a healthcare and pension system for older people, who are found in Tasmania.

I think the cultural benefits of having a football team in Tasmania - keeping in mind that as many as 4% of the country has purchased an AFL membership and a majority of Tasmanians watch some AFL on TV every year - cannot be overstated as an influence in changing the structure of society and economy in Tasmania. This is especially so as Tasmania is still very much an Anglo-Celtic society, as the mainland's demographics changes and the AFL understands that it needs to break into these communities that have no generational association with the game, this is not the case with Tasmania, the team will activate a lot of latent AFL support among non-immigrant communities that are generationally tied to the sport in the opposite way that e.g. the Dogs have struggled with with the Vietnamese community in Footscray.
That's superbly argued. To put it bluntly - if o e wants a good health car system, you must also have a strong economy to support it (economics 101). To neglect the economy and business and put all your expenditure both capital and on-going (which are two very different beasts which too few appreciate) is to go into an ever increasing financial death-spiral.

Tasmania is in desperate need of the economic boost the new stadium will bring. Otherwise it risks sliding into a glorified retirement village - it's already attracting many retirees from Melbourne and Sydney, even while,its youth head to the mainland. This is a recipe for further decline and would ultimately make the funding adequate healthcare impossible.

So to claim that capital expenditure on assets that increases jobs and opportunities for working age people somehow is at the expense of proper healthcare is not only wrong, but diametrically opposite of the truth.

Hopefully you and your loved ones haven't had to or never have to deal with a lack of hospital beds, because that tangible will quickly overtake those intangibles you're talking about as a priority.

Sometimes I do think it's the younger people that have never had a worry such as that in life to deal with that things like spending flagrantly on expensive stadiums which is a nice to have over life-saving things such as hospitals - who cares about hospitals if you've never had an emergency or disease to deal with. If your biggest worry in life is your sport team playing out of a 'less than ideal' stadium, and you go out to protest for a better one, you probably haven't got too much to worry about in life.

Its not a zero sum equation.

This kinda is the point, maybe there should be more attention, protests, money etc spent on healthcare in tasmania over stadiums. How much attention has this bloody stadium had over the past years.

People should be protesting spending on healthcare and schools?! Ok Paul Murray.

That's superbly argued. To put it bluntly - if o e wants a good health car system, you must also have a strong economy to support it (economics 101). To neglect the economy and business and put all your expenditure both capital and on-going (which are two very different beasts which too few appreciate) is to go into an ever increasing financial death-spiral.

Tasmania is in desperate need of the economic boost the new stadium will bring. Otherwise it risks sliding into a glorified retirement village - it's already attracting many retirees from Melbourne and Sydney, even while,its youth head to the mainland. This is a recipe for further decline and would ultimately make the funding adequate healthcare impossible.

So to claim that capital expenditure on assets that increases jobs and opportunities for working age people somehow is at the expense of proper healthcare is not only wrong, but diametrically opposite of the truth.

Except the stadium is slated to lose money. It'll reduce credit rating for state and increase interest when they need money for real needs like health and schools. The world's biggest 23k indoor arena was never needed.

What a load of absolute shit.

You sound just like every one of our loud obnoxious minority of NIMBYs.

Absolute nonsense - Good lord, the amount of money it would lose will be a very small drop in the ocean compared to the overall on-going financial expenditure of the state. It wouldn't come close to 1% and have no effect whatsoever on the credit rating and interest rates.

Will Ferrell Reaction GIF

What a load of absolute shit.

You sound just like every one of our loud obnoxious minority of NIMBYs.

Lol, term NIMBY is form of manufactured consent. Anybody standing in way of rich and powerful getting what their want is labelled that. Smart people would be questioning why smallest state needs to build world's biggest 23k indoor arena?!

Honest question, are you from Tassie or live in Tassie.

Reason I ask, is it's kind of the reverse in meaning down here. Usually it is the rich boomers that are labelled NIMBYs, who don't want social housing or anything that will impact their property prices.

Smart people would be questioning why smallest state needs to build world's biggest 23k indoor arena?!
Smart people in Tasmania have been intensely questioning, examining, grilling and interrogating why Tasmania needs the new stadium for about the last 3 years. And the decisive bi-partisan answer is ... YES, Yes we do!

You seem to know next to nothing about Tasmania - the minority opposition to the stadium has been driven by old, rich NIMBY's, particularly those who live around Battery Point (the Torah of Hobart) - many of which are cashed up retirees from Sydney and Melbourne, with little knowledge of, an no respect for, Tasmania's heritage and culture - and especially its incredibly rich heritage in Australia's own game, producing an almost unbelievable number of some of the greatest players ever to play Australia's national game - enough to rival any state.

Tasmania will now finally, fully take its place in Australia's most popular sport.

It's your traditional footy loving Tasmanian working class, looked down upon and derided by those old rich mainland blow-ins (Andrew Wilkie is your typical example of this type), that have been rock solid in support of this stadium. The CFMEU (the legacy of the real Jack Mundy) has been amongst its most ardent advocates - they released yet another statement of support on Wednesday in the for the Parliamentary debate.

The real Jack Mundy would disown this elitist spruiking version here that's appropriated his name - but not his ethos.

Anyway, why do you care so much when you're apparently from Sydney? I note that, based on your posting history, you are no friend or have any interest in Australian Football - I note that one of your posts even complained the new stadium won't not big enough to hold an NRL state of origin game!

But I did get a good laugh out of this description- "... state needs to build world's biggest 23k indoor arena? ...". Perhaps you would prefer it if Tasmania built the world's smallest 23k indoor arena!

What will Tasmania do with Ninja stadium after macquarie park is built? Do Tasmania really need three 20k+ afl/cricket stadiums for 500k people?

If the constructions costs are overrun is it going to be the Tas government that forks out, and would that be on top of the $4.5m late fees that AFL have stipulated into the contrsct?

If the stadium is costing 1.5B total wouldn't it make sense to play all games there not just 7 a year? People that are pro stadium are saying it's only an hour to get to the stadium from all parts of Tasmania, so then why not play all games there?

If they are really going to split games betweeen Launceston and Hobart indefintely, are Tasmania going to perpetually keep 2 AFL stadiums maintained and updated and cleaned and staffed etc?

The best argument is intangibles such as it will make Tasmania feel good, basically just parroting the AFL house party line. The best commercial argument is that it will drive a few extra concerts a year in Tasmania. Not even mentioning that it’s being plonked opposite the Hobart historic precinct, akin to dropping a large stadium in The Rocks in Sydney and overwhelming everything there.

Like someone else said, is the worlds largest indoor arena the biggest priority for a small and in debt state with other real economic and health issues to grapple with. Doing some napkin math, if theres only 7 afl games per year there, over the standard course of a stadium lifetime of 30 years it will cost 8m per AFL game played there (210 games). What's the ROI on that, would have to sell a lot of beers and pies.

The more you look at this thing the more it unravels in terms of passing the pub test. Quite crazy when there are already serviceable stadiums that are used frequently for afl games.

What a weird situation in the afl not even wanting an afl team in Tasmania (for many many good reasons) but still deciding to try it out by putting some unreasonable demands on the state to make it a bit more enticing, which they stupidly took the bait on.

Anybody standing in way of rich and powerful getting what their want is labelled that. Smart people would be questioning why smallest state needs to build world's biggest 23k indoor arena?!
The rich and powerful boomers top, the grass roots supporters below. The rich and powerful lost.
gPCOh7d.jpeg

What will Tasmania do with Ninja stadium after macquarie park is built? Do Tasmania really need three 20k+ afl/cricket stadiums for 500k people?

If the constructions costs are overrun is it going to be the Tas government that forks out, and would that be on top of the $4.5m late fees that AFL have stipulated into the contrsct?

If the stadium is costing 1.5B total wouldn't it make sense to play all games there not just 7 a year? People that are pro stadium are saying it's only an hour to get to the stadium from all parts of Tasmania, so then why not play all games there?

If they are really going to split games betweeen Launceston and Hobart indefintely, are Tasmania going to perpetually keep 2 AFL stadiums maintained and updated and cleaned and staffed etc?

The best argument is intangibles such as it will make Tasmania feel good, basically just parroting the AFL house party line. The best commercial argument is that it will drive a few extra concerts a year in Tasmania.

The more you look at this thing the more it unravels in terms of passing the pub test

you should be more worried about what the PNG govt will do next ...... how about focusing your LU trolling efforts there :drunk:

The best argument is intangibles such as it will make Tasmania feel good, basically just parroting the AFL house party line. The best commercial argument is that it will drive a few extra concerts a year in Tasmania.

The more you look at this thing the more it unravels in terms of passing the pub test
You seem not to realise that the stipulation in the agreement to share games between Hobart and Launceston was a condition insisted by the Tasmanian Gov't (the Premier has stated this multiple times), not the AFL, who probably would prefer more games in the new stadium. What happens now with Bellerive Oval is of no concern to the AFL, but I presume it'll still be used for Shield Games and also remain the home ground of the Clarence FC, their home for the last 140 years.

I have no doubt that the stadium will hold many events, not a few. It's a brilliant - and desperately needed - outcome. It will not only revitalise the Hobart waterfront, lifting the whole city to a new level and really boost tourism for the whole state. Just when I thought I've done everything in Tassie (I've done lots there over the years) and it has nothing more to offer, this'll most definitely get me back down there.

It's no wonder it overwhelmingly passed with bi-partisan support in both Houses of Parliament.

What will Tasmania do with Ninja stadium after macquarie park is built
The fully professional Tasmanian cricket teams will still need a year-round venue to play and train in, just like how every other state has one (WACA, Karen Rolton Oval, Alan Border field etc.)

Yes I agree that the capacity of it is irrelevant now but obviously the capacity was put there for a reason in the past (ie, for the previous AFL and higher-attended state cricket that was played in the past). It served its purpose in the past, and obviously no money will be spent increasing or maintaining the capacity in the future.

God, you're like a broken record.

You're not even good at trolling when the answers to your "jaqing off" "just asking questions" have such obvious answers that it even goes uncommented. Legitimately, try harder.

Tasmania Team entering 2028. VFL team 2026. Gov has votes to pass Upper House. Official vote 4/12. Job almost done lads - congrats!