AFLW Trade and list changes 2025 - Trade week Thu 4th Dec - Wed 10th Dec.

She got 6th in our bnf despite missing a quarter of the season and having no preseason, she is absolutely 'good enough' for us lol.
She's in our top 5 for sure. But again, not wanting her and expecting to get a high pick is a different story. They will give us a banana, and we will accept it.

what are the odds we blow this pick and take someone that would have been available at 4.
A lot less than you think when all of our previous draft decisions have been made like this.

I Hope Magic GIF by Nika Stewart

This. We have to cool our jets and see how the changes will impact. Direction is everything, and this was long overdue. Straight bat decisions are needed for now, which is why the move to Pick 1 makes sense. Chloe Bown. We won't bid, that would have been implicit in the deal we got done. Simple.
We have 2 x former no. 1 draft picks in Mon and Ellie and now that we have secured the no pick 1 for this draft, along with drafting a future star in Greaves last year, make it even more attractive for candidates to apply for the vacant footy department roles. Steady as she goes and the latest club decisions are sending the message we are turning it around and there's plenty of positives on the horizon with the new women's facilities and other upgrades, big club, supporter base etc.

In regards to ?

Well first cab off the rank are a few journos who wrote articles saying that we had "delisted" Grace and silly us that we let her go for nothing. Then all the others who took this as gospel and lost their marbles over it.

Whatever you may think of our recruiting dept (and they do deserve plenty of criticism), they aren't that stupid to not recognise that Grace would have currency elsewhere.

Pick 39 is pretty much around what I thought it would end up at.

After Grace Egan trade these are our current draft picks as it sits currently for Monday nights draft @ 7.00pm, starts at 6pm for us Queenslanders so I'll know the outcome 1 hour before you guys! :tongueout:

Current picks 1, 38, 40, 56, 58 and 76.

Plus we have picked up a future (2026) 3rd rounder from Gold Coast and a future 4th rounder from North Melbourne.

After Grace Egan trade these are our current draft picks as it sits currently for Monday nights draft @ 7.00pm, starts at 6pm for us Queenslanders so I'll know the outcome 1 hour before you guys! :tongueout:

Plus we have picked up a future (2026) 3rd rounder from Gold Coast and a future 4th rounder from North Melbourne.

Do you think we'll be able to bundle some of those picks with or without trades to get back in the second round. I reckon we will keep a spot or two open so may not even use 58 and 76.

On Egan, I really thing being versatile is important and it’s really only the one position for her.
We should persist with Bacon in different positions it’s going to help bring her on and worth noting Bacon has played 23 games and kicked 6 goals
Scott’s last 23 games she’s kicked 5 goals but is pretty consistent at giving away 2.4 Frees a game

If we pick Baker West instead of Bown I think I might just give it away.
I think if you're going to be a potential no 1 there would be more noise, opposite with Bown as the one we want, coming from a club we have dealing with.

Chloe Baker West does has some durability concerns for clubs , she's not alone though, Russo, Cowcher have also put doubt into where clubs see them going, both ranked higher than Baker West frequently, also for a utility where height is a factor, she's short and can be beaten competing above her head. Lot to like though, but not a No. 1 worthy IMO.

Well first cab off the rank are a few journos who wrote articles saying that we had "delisted" Grace and silly us that we let her go for nothing. Then all the others who took this as gospel and lost their marbles over it.

Whatever you may think of our recruiting dept (and they do deserve plenty of criticism), they aren't that stupid to not recognise that Grace would have currency elsewhere.

Pick 39 is pretty much around what I thought it would end up at.
Thanks for that and we'll said 👍

Do you think we'll be able to bundle some of those picks with or without trades to get back in the second round. I reckon we will keep a spot or two open so may not even use 58 and 76.
I don't know for sure, it seems to be opinions are in the main that the most talented group of players are gone by then but there are always pick slides. i.e. picking into the 3rd round from the second there's not enough differentiating 2nd and 3rd rounders this year. Having said that Collingwood have been given a larger list by AFLW as have the Suns and maybe Collingwood could give us pick 23 for picks 38 and 40. Think we would have to have a slide possible for a player that we like around 23 that doesn't interest Collingwood. Also there are a lot of midfielder/forwards in this range so also depends on targets.

Also for the queries on if pick 1 was worth losing a second rounder, pick 22 the reality is we actually have improved our draft hand, and although almost certain that we will bring Bown in, if we were to offer up pick 1 tomorrow, a club like Bombers would jump at it and give us their 6 and 13. picks 4 - 6 still is a open draft top 10 player and also a good range to pick at 13.

She’s got a very unusual capacity for covering k’s the rumour was she would run the Maribrynong trail before games she played but like you mentioned with marking the ball unless a shorter player has top shelf breakaway speed it’s a lot harder to get the ball to them.
The fact is she hasnt played alotve footy over the last 5 years…her father wouldn’t let her play on grounds that weren’t pristine.
She did mention she played in a grand final with Strathmore but it was the minimum amount of games players to qualify for finals.

I think if you're going to be a potential no 1 there would be more noise, opposite with Bown as the one we want, coming from a club we have dealing with.

Chloe Baker West does has some durability concerns for clubs , she's not alone though, Russo, Cowcher have also put doubt into where clubs see them going, both ranked higher than Baker West frequently, also for a utility where height is a factor, she's short and can be beaten competing above her head. Lot to like though, but not a No. 1 worthy IMO.

Yeah to me it looks like Chloe Baker West would be more of a draft slider than a bolter.

She’s got a very unusual capacity for covering k’s the rumour was she would run the Maribrynong trail before games she played but like you mentioned with marking the ball unless a shorter player has top shelf breakaway speed it’s a lot harder to get the ball to them.
The fact is she hasnt played alotve footy over the last 5 years…her father wouldn’t let her play on grounds that weren’t pristine.
She did mention she played in a grand final with Strathmore but it was the minimum amount of games players to qualify for finals.
That's commendable, apparently Patrick Retschko runs a 2k before games, some are just built this way I guess, not many though.

If we pick Baker West instead of Bown I think I might just give it away.

if we traded for pick 1 and didn't pick Chloe Bown...................half the GWS draft team would have a heart attack
the other half wouldn't be able to punch her name in fast enough

lock it in, Chloe Bown will be at Tigerland

there's only 3 players worth pick 1, Bown, Usher and Lappin, with 2 GCS bound

Coverage is at the same time mate, Vic due to daylight savings, is one hour ahead of QLD

It was tongue in cheek couldn't help myself, goes back to when I first moved up from Bendigo to QLD some locals up here were up in arms about a plan for QLD to bring in daylight savings, saying it would upset the dairy cows, as cows don't have clocks, and my favourite one was that the extra hour of sunlight would fade the curtains. We missed out on that one unfortunately, times have changed a bit up here since then.

Tail wagging the dog, as in the Nationals saying we don't want it in Qld, when it would be a boon for the tourism industry in SEQ. Draw the line at Gympie for daylight saving - they are already 10 years behind north of that, what's another hour..... 🫣 🤣

AFLW Trade and list changes 2025 - Trade week Thu 4th Dec - Wed 10th Dec.