Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion 2025 Part 2

Watching the St Mary's vs Crocs game from the weekend on YouTube, and Connor West would be BOG for the Saints at half-time. Remember him! Quite surprizing really, so many ex-AFL players in this game - Yarran, Quinten Narkle, Tarryn .... [ex Norths] Thomas, Jed Anderson, Isiah Winder and so on.
Saints won by 1point, BTW.

Watching the St Mary's vs Crocs game from the weekend on YouTube, and Connor West would be BOG for the Saints at half-time. Remember him! Quite surprizing really, so many ex-AFL players in this game - Yarran, Quinten Narkle, Tarryn .... [ex Norths] Thomas, Jed Anderson, Isiah Winder and so on.
Saints won by 1point, BTW.

Which Yarran? I thought Chris was in jail

How the **** y'all gonna not quote me and just post like that.
I need my Bigfooty wrapped to show how quoted I was.
Come Let Me Love You GIF

Setting someone up for some great great reaction farming here, but we have a quiz night at the Vick Park hotel with some friends on the same night that they are having some essendon players. any good ideas for team names for the pub quiz team.
I feel like who scheduled the quiz night on drug raid night is maybe a little bit too long.
“All I want for Christmas is Thymosin Beta-4”

I'm not sure what the bombers have done in the last 20 years to deserve to keep their independence. Plus most of their supporters are campaigners. Keep the doggies I reckon
Quite simple what they've done to deserve to survive as a stand alone club. Despite all their other faults they have stood on their own 2 feet and rarely relied on an annual AFL gifted Centrelink cheque to survive like NM, WB, StK & Melbourne.

Part of the reason why North rely on AFL handouts is because they made the decision to ban pokies from their revenue streams.

For that alone I'd prefer St Kilda and the Bulldogs to be first on the chopping block if it ever came to that. Melbourne should stay for their historical status.

Maybe they'd sooner do it but couldn't, it'd cripple them.
They were quite happy to refuse to prop-up and sacrifice Fitzroy. I have never been able to understand why they have this anal "they shall survive" attitude towards NM, STK, WB and Melbourne. Truth is the expansion into GWS and GC should have been a case of forced relocations of 2 of them and a merger of the 2 others.

Just my opinion but I reckon the reason they survive is that without those clubs in Melbourne, the privileged position and fixturing the big Melbourne clubs enjoy would be turned upside down. They'd immediately have to travel more, marquee games would be threatened and less MCG games for MCG based clubs. Most of all, interstate clubs would hold the balance of power in the boardroom.

The big clubs would never let that happen.

Probably not far off that. Tasmania isn't like WA where we could afford a lazy billion dollars on a stadium, and Hobart is one eighth the size of Perth so can't really justify this.

The AFL are being utter campaigners insisting on this as a prerequisite for admitting a Tasmanian team.
You forget, the big "privileged" Vic teams that have rarely or, in the Pies case never been to Tassie, will now have to go. Can't have them exposed to the inclement and freezing winters of Tasmania :think: 🤣

It’s cute you think they will make the pies play Tassie in Tassie.

Funny thing is they’ll probably send Collingwood to Tassie early on because it will guarantee a big crowd and plenty of exposure

Just not round one, or Opening Round, they don't like travelling in those rounds so don't have to.

Nine more stars join Western Australia side for Origin return - https://www.afl.com.au/news/1459877

Aaron Naughton
Patrick Cripps
Shai Bolton
Tom Barrass
Chad Warner
Liam Baker
Charlie Cameron
Darcy Cameron
Jordan Clark
Bradley Hill
Jesse Hogan
Luke Jackson
Kysaiah Pickett
Sam Taylor

Pretty solid 14 so far have to say

Nine more stars join Western Australia side for Origin return - https://www.afl.com.au/news/1459877

Aaron Naughton
Patrick Cripps
Shai Bolton
Tom Barrass
Chad Warner
Liam Baker
Charlie Cameron
Darcy Cameron
Jordan Clark
Bradley Hill
Jesse Hogan
Luke Jackson