Society/Culture Why Australia needs to lower its immigration intake

This thread is about a lot of things, but one of the things it is not about is crime.

The next person who seeks to make a connection between violent crime and immigration by posting about it in here will receive a threadban and an infraction equivalent to the racism it portrays.

Should you want to talk about violent crime, the 'African gangs' thread is both thataway:

... and just as well monitored, so be extremely careful to remain within BF's rules.

As a reminder, the following is taken from BF rules:
You agree to not use the Service to submit or link to any Content which:

is dangerous to health, anti-vax, Covid denial etc,
is hateful, including sympathetic discussion of far-right/neo-Nazi tropes,
misinformation or disinformation,
defamatory,
threatening,
abusive,
bigotry,
likely to offend,
is spam or spam-like,
contains adult or objectionable content,
risks copyright infringement,
encourages unlawful activity (including illegal drug use, buying, selling etc),
or otherwise violates any laws,
or contains personal information of others,

You are entirely responsible for the content of, and any harm resulting from, that Content or your conduct, including any material posted under your account.
Let's stay on topic from here.

Nobody is going to hire a 1st year apprentice as an electrician on a full wage when they know literally nothing and need direct supervision.
Also lose 1 day a week from them working when they attend trade school.

In saying that the pay still should be higher. Government could give incentives like grants for tools, travel, school fees and books. Maybe they do stuff like that already now.
They do for some people.

Does anyone here remember the book, "Shitstorm - Inside Labor's Darkest Days" released in 2009 or 2010. It looked at how the government handled the GFC. In it, it was confirmed that the government of the day was petrified of house prices falling.

I have it on by bookshelf. I am not sure if it is still in print, but I'm sure it wouldn't be hard to pick up a 2nd hand copy if you are interested. Claire O'Neil said the same thing a year or two ago on radio - "we don't want to see house prices fall" - or something similar.

The immigration rate, whatever the true number is, is on the higher side compared to recent history - rightly or wrongly. I think it is fairly safe to say the government has been running these numbers to try and put a floor under house prices to try and stave off any anticipated falls when interest rates started to rise back in 2022.

Now, this is the stupidity of intervening in a market - you just make the inevitable bust bigger and harder.

The only way government and the country move away from the model of ever increasing house prices is to have a financial crisis. That is the reality. Immigration will then have to be cut as unemployment rises - to do otherwise, means instead of a deep recession, you will instead have a depression.

Australia, some time ago now, desperately needed someone to come out and say, "stuff your mortgage, stuff your portfolio, if inflation is above target we are rising interest rates - if you can't afford it - sell". Not so long ago, some central bankers would have had no issue in coming out and saying that. Those days are over.

Countries like Canada and New Zealand are waking up and taking their medicine with regards to house prices falling - New Zealand is finding the prices continue to fall even as interest rates are cut. This should not be a surprise to those who are educated with regards to financial history and the detrimental impact of rising land prices (ala house prices).

Everyone knows that society can only absorb so much population growth - it is common sense. Unfortunately, the government will not cut immigration until it is forced too.

Australia needs to have affordable housing. People can then start businesses, they can take risks - they can move for that new job. They can have kids.

You CANNOT have affordable housing without current house prices falling upwards of 50% - and probably more. Consider what that means for the economy and the devastation that follows - but remember, it will not be forever and there will be a new dawn.
New Zealand's house prices began to fall when they scrapped negative gearing.

It's not that simple.

Why do you think our immigration numbers are so high?

It's because birth rates are dropping. If we can't grow our population, sooner or later, we will go into recession. So because we're not having babies, we need ring-ins.

To date, immigration numbers haven't been an issue. Multiculturalism works here. We're not having the same problems Britain and the US are having. Apart from having a better natural border because we are an island, we have better immigration policies. We only bring people in who are educated and/or bring skills. We know they're going to take jobs and build families. The US have had poor border control, particularly with recent Democrat regimes. The UK was from both sides of politics. I'd also suggest, the unwritten rule in Australia from both sides of politics is "let's ease up on the muslims". I know that's going to make some people mad, but sometimes you just have to let your guilt and nicey-wicey ideals go. Get a bit of campaigner about you.

How long can we keep going for before we run into the same problem? Our problems will never get that bad as we only let skilled and/or educated people in. But that doesn't mean we're not at risk of losing our identity.

So what's the solution? Stopping immigration will tank the economy. So it's either continue with high immigration numbers, or boost bedroom activity and reduce immigration numbers. So how do we do this? We can have a baby bonus. An unwanted side effect is a large increase in low-socioeconomic women will become single mums. So what is the crux of the problem? The problem is women are not getting married and having kids often until they are 30+ because they prioritise careers. They can also have abortions if a child will inconvenience them. Making women independent has real side-effects. So a three part policy would be, 1. Baby bonus that reduces with age, 2. Remove all useless university degrees, 3. Illegalise abortion.
What’s our identity? White Australia?

what post?

I sometimes look at posts on Youtube, or even sometimes here, and go, "that campaigner knows what's going on", and then realise it's me who posted it.

I don't know if it's my post or someone else's, but i just wrote that out then. There's some food for thought because illegalising abortion (or suggesting it - because it's not realistic) is super controversial and I don't take it lightly. But if you analyse the whole situation, feminism has put the West into a tailspin. Women aren't even happy. The dynamic between men and women has changed and it's not working for anyone.
How has it put the west into a tailspin? You’re making some terrible generalisations

New Zealand's house prices began to fall when they scrapped negative gearing.

It is irrelevant what is causing the prices to fall - they are now falling, and we aren't even at the peak of that - in saying that, I envision NZ bottoming and coming out of the upcoming financial crisis earlier than other developed nations because they are letting their housing market go.

The fact is, that you clearly know that Australia is lowering 'Its immigration intake'. And yet you keep promoting the idea that it's increasing.

What's you'' desired Australian population'? You dishonest cretin?
Because once you set a number on our population, you se a number on births. And how you'd control births.
I'm so exhausted and sick of how pathetic you right wingers are. You've not found any new arguments or talking points for yen years.
Why can't you just be honest, and push your honest positions?
No one wants to engage with the same bullshit from a decade ago, now that all of us know you never believed any of it.

I have reported this post.

I, and many others, are sick and tired of immigration being dressed up as a "moral issue" - when it is anything but. Immigration is not a moral issue, we have no obligation to economic migrants whether they are from NZ, England, Asia or wherever. Similarly, we have no obligation to students who may be coming here to study, amongst other things. Once again, I do not care whether they are man, women or beast. Whether they are from England, America, NZ or Asia.

What gives you the right to call someone a "dishonest cretin?". Australia's current level of immigration, including overseas students studying, is a valid area of concern and an area of debate.

How dare you? Just because you may subscribe to leftwing beliefs does not make you morally superior than anyone else. It does not excuse abuse or violence under any circumstances.

It is perfectly valid for working families to be concerned about immigration numbers because those numbers are placing immediate pressure on the housing market and public services. People are allowed to discuss this without being labelled a racist or a bigot.

Do you agree with that sentiment or not?

The government has allowed immigration to hit record highs over the last several years, since the 2022 election, because they have wanted to put a floor under the housing market and they are on record as saying they want housing prices to continue to inflate.

Immigration will fall significantly in the immediate future as Australia is engulfed in its greatest economic crisis of all time from 2026 to 2032. Rising unemployment will force the government's hand. My vision is that eventually we can return to a sustainable level of immigration and one that benefits everyone already here.

But before that, we need the housing market and the economy to tank - rising land prices eventually have the final say - they call the shots.

I, and many others, are sick and tired of immigration being dressed up as a "moral issue" - when it is anything but. Immigration is not a moral issue, we have no obligation to economic migrants whether they are from NZ, England, Asia or wherever. Similarly, we have no obligation to students who may be coming here to study, amongst other things. Once again, I do not care whether they are man, women or beast. Whether they are from England, America, NZ or Asia.

What gives you the right to call someone a "dishonest cretin?". Australia's current level of immigration, including overseas students studying, is a valid area of concern and an area of debate.

How dare you? Just because you may subscribe to leftwing beliefs does not make you morally superior than anyone else. It does not excuse abuse or violence under any circumstances.

It is perfectly valid for working families to be concerned about immigration numbers because those numbers are placing immediate pressure on the housing market and public services. People are allowed to discuss this without being labelled a racist or a bigot.

The government has allowed immigration to hit record highs over the last several years, since the 2022 election, because they have wanted to put a floor under the housing market and they are on record as saying they want housing prices to continue to inflate.

Immigration will fall significantly in the immediate future as Australia is engulfed in its greatest economic crisis of all time from 2026 to 2032. Rising unemployment will force the government's hand. My vision is that eventually we can return to a sustainable level of immigration and one that benefits everyone already here.

But before that, we need the housing market and the economy to tank - rising land prices eventually have the final say - they call the shots.
I've deleted the post, and would like to apologise for you feeling upset about having your views challenged.

It's not fair to randomly accuse people of being dishonest.
So can you explain to me why you and people like you continue to talk about and push a misleading narrative around the current rate of growth or decline in immigration, every time you discuss this issue?

And why you can't ever talk about housing, without framing it around immigrants?

Unfortunately, the government will not cut immigration until it is forced too.

For example, this seems dishonest. As you've been shown and had it explained to you multiple times that immigration has been reducing(cut).

You've had the 'record levels' explained to you repeatedly.

This seems dishonest. Again, because of how frequently I've seen this explained to you.

1766864229583.png
https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/overseas-migration/latest-release

You see the crash, you see the correction, and you see levels going back to normal.

So why, if you're not being dishonest, do you keep framing the discussion around 'something needs to be done about record levels of immigration'?

It is irrelevant what is causing the prices to fall - they are now falling, and we aren't even at the peak of that - in saying that, I envision NZ bottoming and coming out of the upcoming financial crisis earlier than other developed nations because they are letting their housing market go.
Irrelevant? I must have misread your post. I thought you were advocating for lower house prices, in which case it's extremely relevant. They'll be screwed once the current government reverses the NG policy.

You are literally incorrect on close to every front.

We export education. We rely on large numbers of overseas students attending universities and higher education in this country. It is not a valid area of concern. You’re not producing anything original to be concerned about. We see higher numbers of immigrants working in areas that local citizens do not work in; cleaning, aged care, disability care.

What violence is being excused by left leaning people? Violence being carried out is a product of right wing beliefs for the majority. Are you that naive or ill informed? Hate crime accounts for over 50% of crime in America. I’ve seen what you post, you’ve made a habit of dredging up historical religious conflict to make the most desperate arguments to slam Islam. You might have some historical knowledge, however your over confident and ‘superior’ attitude has made you look an absolute pillock on so many occasions.

Blaming immigration for house pricing is the most tired and worn out trope peddled by bigots like you. You’ve actually got minimal economic nous when it comes to this front.

You’re a rinse repeat type operator and you’re piss easy to pull apart.

Every family is a working family. You’re assuming that people of colour are not entitled to be classed as working families because they’re immigrants.

My god you’re racist. You’re everything wrong with this country.

Every family is a working family. You’re assuming that people of colour are not entitled to be classed as working families because they’re immigrants.

My god you’re racist. You’re everything wrong with this country.

Mods. Please intervene....this post is higly defamatory.

Disgusting slur.

Mods. Please intervene....this post is higly defamatory.

Disgusting slur.
Calling someone racist because of what they have said is not reportable. Disgusting slurs are what you are making yourself known for. Don’t mouth off then have a sook because you get labelled what you deserve to be labelled.

Show some backbone and engage.

Calling someone racist because of what they have said is not reportable. Disgusting slurs are what you are making yourself known for. Don’t mouth off then have a sook because you get labelled what you deserve to be labelled.

Show some backbone and engage.

What slurs have I made that are racist? Im all ears.

From the "Meanwhile in Australia" FB page.

Meanwhile in Australia
4h ·

🧠
Let’s Debunk a Few Lies Being Spread by Racist Anti-Immigration Marchers
1️⃣
“We’re only marching against mass immigration and unskilled migrants.”
You mean the “unskilled migrants” doing the jobs Australians refuse to do, the aged-care workers wiping nanna’s bum while you barely visit once a year?
Or the taxi drivers, trolley pushers, and Uber Eats riders delivering your dinner while you sit online complaining about “lazy foreigners”?
Let’s not forget the farmhands breaking their backs picking fruit for below-award wages, or the skilled migrants, doctors, nurses, engineers, and teachers whose expertise literally keeps hospitals, schools, and infrastructure running.
2️⃣
“We don’t have the infrastructure or housing.”
False. We have 1.2 million empty homes and apartments sitting unoccupied hoarded by investors land-banking their 10th, 20th, or 50th property because there’s no proper vacancy tax.
That’s not a migrant issue that’s a greed issue, a policy issue, and a government cowardice issue for not taxing the top end of town.
3️⃣
“It’s not racist it’s common sense. We just care about the country.”
Except your “movement” is being led by:
• The grandson of a billionaire property developer who profits from the very housing shortage you’re blaming migrants for.
• And a far-right nationalist on Centrelink, living in public housing, who’s been quoted saying things like “protecting white heritage” and happily allows neo-n@zis to march “as long as they share our beliefs.”
That’s not patriotism. That’s hate wrapped in an Australian flag.
4️⃣
“Migrants are stealing jobs.”
Wrong again. If migrants were “stealing” jobs, unemployment would be skyrocketing. It’s not. In fact, migrants often create jobs — opening restaurants, small businesses, farms, and tech companies that employ Australians.
What’s really stealing jobs?
• Automation.
• Outsourcing.
• Big companies exploiting cheap labour overseas while underpaying locals here.
5️⃣
“They don’t integrate into Australian culture.”
You mean the same migrants who volunteer at schools, run your local corner shop, play for the local soccer club, and serve in the Defence Force?
Australia is multicultural and that’s been our strength since day one. The food you eat, the clothes you wear, the doctors you see most have roots outside this country.
If anything, it’s the racists marching in the streets who refuse to integrate with the modern Australia the rest of us live in.
6️⃣
“Migrants get free handouts from the government.”
Absolute nonsense. Most migrants can’t access Centrelink or government benefits for years. Many pay thousands in taxes before they even become permanent residents.
Meanwhile, a chunk of the loudest anti-immigration voices are the same people living on welfare, blaming everyone else for their own failures.
7️⃣
“We’re losing our Aussie identity.”
Our identity has always evolved. The Australia of the 1950s isn’t the Australia of today and thank god for that.
Modern Australia is Aboriginal heritage, Greek fish-and-chip shops, Italian builders, Lebanese bakers, Indian doctors, Filipino nurses, Māori tradies, Chinese engineers all of it.
If your version of “Australian identity” can’t survive diversity, maybe it wasn’t that strong to begin with.
💬
At the end of the day…
It’s not “common sense.”
It’s deflection blaming immigrants for problems created by greedy landlords, lazy politicians, and corporate lobbyists.
Migrants aren’t the issue. The system is.

Meanwhile in Australia
4h ·

🧠
1️⃣
You mean the “unskilled migrants” doing the jobs Australians refuse to do, the aged-care workers wiping nanna’s bum while you barely visit once a year?
Or the taxi drivers, trolley pushers, and Uber Eats riders delivering your dinner while you sit online complaining about “lazy foreigners”?
Let’s not forget the farmhands breaking their backs picking fruit for below-award wages, or the skilled migrants, doctors, nurses, engineers, and teachers whose expertise literally keeps hospitals, schools, and infrastructure running.
2️⃣
False. We have 1.2 million empty homes and apartments sitting unoccupied hoarded by investors land-banking their 10th, 20th, or 50th property because there’s no proper vacancy tax.
That’s not a migrant issue that’s a greed issue, a policy issue, and a government cowardice issue for not taxing the top end of town.
3️⃣
• The grandson of a billionaire property developer who profits from the very housing shortage you’re blaming migrants for.
• And a far-right nationalist on Centrelink, living in public housing, who’s been quoted saying things like “protecting white heritage” and happily allows neo-n@zis to march “as long as they share our beliefs.”
4️⃣
Wrong again. If migrants were “stealing” jobs, unemployment would be skyrocketing. It’s not. In fact, migrants often create jobs — opening restaurants, small businesses, farms, and tech companies that employ Australians.
• Automation.
• Outsourcing.
5️⃣
You mean the same migrants who volunteer at schools, run your local corner shop, play for the local soccer club, and serve in the Defence Force?
Australia is multicultural and that’s been our strength since day one. The food you eat, the clothes you wear, the doctors you see most have roots outside this country.
If anything, it’s the racists marching in the streets who refuse to integrate with the modern Australia the rest of us live in.
6️⃣
Absolute nonsense. Most migrants can’t access Centrelink or government benefits for years. Many pay thousands in taxes before they even become permanent residents.
Meanwhile, a chunk of the loudest anti-immigration voices are the same people living on welfare, blaming everyone else for their own failures.
7️⃣
Our identity has always evolved. The Australia of the 1950s isn’t the Australia of today and thank god for that.
Modern Australia is Aboriginal heritage, Greek fish-and-chip shops, Italian builders, Lebanese bakers, Indian doctors, Filipino nurses, Māori tradies, Chinese engineers all of it.
If your version of “Australian identity” can’t survive diversity, maybe it wasn’t that strong to begin with.
💬
At the end of the day…
It’s not “common sense.”
It’s deflection blaming immigrants for problems created by greedy landlords, lazy politicians, and corporate lobbyists.
Go and get yourself a medal. I almost hope Carlton win the flag for you given how much a ripper bloke you are.

Australia is multicultural and that’s been our strength since day one.

What I find hilarious is those who claim multiculturalism in Australia is a failure then demand we return to a purely “Anglo-Celtic” culture……. 🙄

Meanwhile in Australia
4h ·

🧠
1️⃣
2️⃣
3️⃣
4️⃣
• Automation.
• Outsourcing.
5️⃣
6️⃣
7️⃣
💬
At the end of the day…
It’s not “common sense.”

Ok. Lets assume all that is true - what are some downsides to immigration? All policy has pros and cons afterall......