Training Saints preseason 2026

well it's not just the word, pints are twice as big as pots. happened between about 2005 and 2010, everyone just started drinking pints and it stuck.
The science of drinking beer.

I always reasoned that the pot was an ideal size for an Aussie beer. Best consumed ice cold, and therefore you want to be able to drain the glass before it gets warm.

A British ale, on the other hand, served at cellar temperature, is still an enjoyable drop as it approaches room temperature, so does okay in the larger pint glass.

I have never been able to 'chug' a beer, so I miss the pot. If I'm drinking a lager I want it cold. I don't like Pale Ales, which are currently 'on trend'. Do they still go down okay once they start to get warm?

Will be intriguing to see how Ro is used...TDK and Keeler clearly the best big men yesterday, both influential in the air and ground level
I’ve been trying to put my finger on why he struggled so much when at CHf yesterday and I keep coming back to the fact he doesn’t jump at the ball.

He leads directly at the kicker. But when Keeler came across he didn’t jump into or over him.

He was such fun to watch yesterday.

That thing that grabbed my attention and I posted as such was how much influence and fun he made shit drills like running ones for the group.

I said I had footage but watch the saints tv video and the running drill at the start with 3-4 groups. He starts getting chirpy and then collard gets involved and so do others.

That’s been missing for years on our list.
I've always liked flyin Ryan...he's pure quality, low possession high impact operator!

Liam is infectious around the group, very well liked team mate and not just the indigenous kids, Harley had a close relationship with with him too.

He will often do the bare minimum at training but come game day he’ll be ready to go. Dangerous in the air and on the ground and his kicking is superb. Doesn’t get the attention it deserves because it’s often a snap or set shot for goal.

Very unlucky not to get drafted, can also play KPD. Bit pissed off we didn’t leave a rookie spot for him and NHH but that’s a different story.

Would be a great pick up for you guys and would have to be on the radar for the MSD with a strong start to the season.
Yep you guys were spot on re Ryan. Preseason training, struggled with the running before Xmas. Had a chat to Lyon, must have worked his arse off over the break as he came back a bit leaner.
But his game day work between the 50's and his field kicking was a real eye catcher.
As far as Ainsworth goes. We have TDK, Marshall, Keeler, and the best ruck prospect I have seen at the Saints since Spider Everitt in Dodson. Even if we trade Marshall, I think we are covered for ruckmen.

Liam is infectious around the group, very well liked team mate and not just the indigenous kids, Harley had a close relationship with with him too.

He will often do the bare minimum at training but come game day he’ll be ready to go. Dangerous in the air and on the ground and his kicking is superb. Doesn’t get the attention it deserves because it’s often a snap or set shot for goal.

Very unlucky not to get drafted, can also play KPD. Bit pissed off we didn’t leave a rookie spot for him and NHH but that’s a different story.

Would be a great pick up for you guys and would have to be on the radar for the MSD with a strong start to the season.
I really do hope he sees out his entire contract with us playing good football. He will be a huge fan favourite.

I’ve been trying to put my finger on why he struggled so much when at CHf yesterday and I keep coming back to the fact he doesn’t jump at the ball.

He leads directly at the kicker. But when Keeler came across he didn’t jump into or over him.
They dont jump off bags in real games though. He may come into it in real conditions.

A team that has won one game in a season, has been bottom or near the whole of this decade, couldn't find one more player to delist/trade for a 2nd round pick?
I have watched him all preseason and can't see what the knock on him is. Great size, big tank, good kick, good footy brain.
WCE fans say he is one paced. Ok fair enough. In Saints teams of the recent past that may have been a problem, but anyone there yesterday can attest, we are the quickest list we have had probably since Stan Alves had us, he can not be the quickest and still be of extreme value in the team.
Anyway enough optimism, here are my early delistings possibles at year end.
1. Paddy Dow. Just not showing enough. Getting passed
2. Patrick Said. Not coming on, dont know his position, seems a bit small.
3. Hunter Clark. Injuries and competition catching up to him
4. Liam Stocker. Always wants a one year contract as football is not everything in his life, and his mental health is a priority
5. Angus Hastie. Just cant quite crack it in the seniors, still turns it over too much
6. Dougal Howard. Getting multiple injuries, aging, back are a bit thin though
7. Barratt, not shown much, depends on Doogs and who we recruit, develops ( like LOC,Armstrong etc).
8. Lance Collard. Skillful but just doesn't do enough
9. Dan Butler. Aging and plenty of small forwards
10. Mason Wood, age and youngers going past him
11. Hill, age and youngers going past him.
12. Byrnes. Always on the edge.
Now this doesn't take into account contracts, form for this year (obviously), team structure, position etc. It is just a list of players vunerable in my view.
At most 6 of the 12 will go.
Let me know what you all think.

We have had our differences but I think you have nailed that list. I gather it could shift if certain players have a good or down year.

Agree I'll be surprised if Dow & Said arent the first cut.

Lets say we need to find 6 list spots at years end, there could possibly be a trade or two. Marshall may ask for a move again.

Many supporters love Clark, but he is now 4th or 5th in line for a hbf position. If another club shows interest its time for he to be moved on.

If Collard doesn't jump out WCE could be sort out for interest?

Byrnes was the last offered a spot at years end, so he is one who will need a huge year to save his bacon.

Age is starting to catch up with the likes of Howard, Wood, Butler and Hill I can see the first two retiring at years end.

You/Strav also mentioned we are still hunting a midfielder so that will add to the interest at years end. Competition for list spots will go to another level this year which puts the club in a really solid position.

Given the extra conditioning work Ryan had to do pre-chirstmas, it might not be a stretch to say he's entering the season fitter than he has in a while.

If he's known for going to another level once games start, it's exciting to think what he might have another level to his game with that increased fitness.

Yep you guys were spot on re Ryan. Preseason training, struggled with the running before Xmas. Had a chat to Lyon, must have worked his arse off over the break as he came back a bit leaner.
But his game day work between the 50's and his field kicking was a real eye catcher.
As far as Ainsworth goes. We have TDK, Marshall, Keeler, and the best ruck prospect I have seen at the Saints since Spider Everitt in Dodson. Even if we trade Marshall, I think we are covered for ruckmen.
Didn’t see your Ryan post above but that’s about right. Yeah he’ll never be setting preseason records but will be right to go round 1. He’l have something to prove with you guys so might be a bit of a extra incentive for you guys and will work closely with Collard to expand his trick bag.

Ainsworth I’d be developing as a KPP rather than a ruck. I think he’d be a good low cost addition as a KPF at the Saints especially with King’s injury history but I wanted him developed as a KPD at WCE.

Dodson slipping as far as he did is still bizarre, was fuming when we didn’t take him with a late pick before you did. I saw he’s not training with the main group, presume injured. Banfield this year was another Matthew Clarke **** up. Great kid with a lot to work with. He’ll make us look stupid.

Matthew Clarke must be a closet St Kilda fan. Somehow we got in a pick ahead of you to take Boxshall and then taking Banfield. He's been instrumental to our list build.

And watching Banfield train, it's just hard to believe he wouldnt leave a list spot for the kid. He's already a physical specimen and has skills to match. For a draft that was meant to be shallow, it's hard to believe someone like him was available in the 40s.

A team that has won one game in a season, has been bottom or near the whole of this decade, couldn't find one more player to delist/trade for a 2nd round pick?
I have watched him all preseason and can't see what the knock on him is. Great size, big tank, good kick, good footy brain.
WCE fans say he is one paced. Ok fair enough. In Saints teams of the recent past that may have been a problem, but anyone there yesterday can attest, we are the quickest list we have had probably since Stan Alves had us, he can not be the quickest and still be of extreme value in the team.
4. Liam Stocker. Always wants a one year contract as football is not everything in his life, and his mental health is a priority
5. Angus Hastie. Just cant quite crack it in the seniors, still turns it over too much
7. Barratt, not shown much, depends on Doogs and who we recruit, develops ( like LOC,Armstrong etc).
Now this doesn't take into account contracts, form for this year (obviously), team structure, position etc. It is just a list of players vunerable in my view.
Interesting point regarding Stocker. So he actually only asks for one year contracts?

Also I want to ask...if Travaglia was taken at pick 58 rather than pick 8 but his performance at training and on gameday was identical to what we've seen so far, would he be on that list?

I dont know about anyone else reading this post. But I've got movement in my jocks.
Nice summary but leaving
Like NAZ, when the fatigue kicked in, he was more prominate.
He will win games for us with his huge tank and speed.
The main question with Wilson is..will he stay?

Didn’t see your Ryan post above but that’s about right. Yeah he’ll never be setting preseason records but will be right to go round 1. He’l have something to prove with you guys so might be a bit of a extra incentive for you guys and will work closely with Collard to expand his trick bag.

Ainsworth I’d be developing as a KPP rather than a ruck. I think he’d be a good low cost addition as a KPF at the Saints especially with King’s injury history but I wanted him developed as a KPD at WCE.

Dodson tweaked a hammy pre Xmas and is coming back through rehab. Should be in full trainung next week.
Re Ryan, with a point to prove. With all respect ( considering your one win in 25 was against us) the WCE have been very poor for all of this decade and he is with a list with a lot of potential and high expectations. He seems very happy abd was talking to Colin Young on the boundary yesterday.

Interesting point regarding Stocker. So he actually only asks for one year contracts?

Also I want to ask...if Travaglia was taken at pick 58 rather than pick 8 but his performance at training and on gameday was identical to what we've seen so far, would he be on that list?
Re Travaglia. No. He is not a 3rd round talent. He is a top ten talent. But it is up to him

Agree with all those names on the watch list except Collard. He was always seen as a slow burn (which is why his contract expires end of 2027).
Swap Collard for Carroll. If he doesn't cement that HBF, he's in the frame.
As you say injuries will be a telling factor. Clark, Howard and Butler cant afford to have injury riddled years.

If im picking my top 6 to be delisted then its Dow, Said, Howard (injuries), Butler (injuries), Byrnes, Barratt.
I'm also calling that Marshall will get traded to the Cats.

Matthew Clarke must be a closet St Kilda fan. Somehow we got in a pick ahead of you to take Boxshall and then taking Banfield. He's been instrumental to our list build.

And watching Banfield train, it's just hard to believe he wouldnt leave a list spot for the kid. He's already a physical specimen and has skills to match. For a draft that was meant to be shallow, it's hard to believe someone like him was available in the 40s.
And Richmond fan. Useless. Thankfully this is the last year of his contract and hopefully we aren’t stupid enough to reappoint him.

Charlie is a great kid, big boy, big tank and now he’ll have a chip on his shoulder. Dominated the colts U18 grand final against a South Freo midfield than had smashed everyone all year with Rodriguez and Whan. Might be a sneaky chance to find a spot on the wing with an injury or two.

Dodson tweaked a hammy pre Xmas and is coming back through rehab. Should be in full trainung next week.
Re Ryan, with a point to prove. With all respect ( considering your one win in 25 was against us) the WCE have been very poor for all of this decade and he is with a list with a lot of potential and high expectations. He seems very happy abd was talking to Colin Young on the boundary yesterday.
Don’t think it’s disrespectful to say that a team that has been historically poor is poor.

Liam needed something different to motivate him, he wasn’t going to win another flag at WCE and often struggles with motivation at the best of times. Good result for both clubs and player other than us burning our pick again.

Before the trade period I was saying I believe the club will trade Steele, Marshal and Windy if they believe he can’t fix his disposal. Which I copped some heat on here which I get.

The windy call was dumb and something i regret. I remember going down to training in his second year and being amazed how hard he worked in between drills and after the session.

Plus what he brings culturally to the group.

Regarding Marshall. He will be traded at the end of the season and we will be taking our hats off to the club again.

The obvious and sensible reason is for keeping Marshall this year is due to Max Kings health.

IMO we have held on to Marshall to help us finish higher on the ladder this year and help bring a player like Butters.

Geelong wanted to give us last years first rounder and a shitty second rounder last year. Having a ruckman and first round pick to trade gives you a lot more leverage at the trade table to get some one like a butters done.

Give Keeler and Dodson another year of development to slot in that role next year. We all saw what they were cable of last year and the club isn’t missing with their draft picks.

Combined with our ability to develop players and draft reports from people I trust. I have been under the assumption they are going to turn out to be very good players.

Both Wood and Hill are signed through to the end of 2027, so they are no chance to go and very important to stay around the Club.

And the ranga drug cheat Sinner has just lost to the Pure Blood Prince, what a day 😩
Great game.
Go Novak!
16 year difference between the finalists 😱

Re Travaglia. No. He is not a 3rd round talent. He is a top ten talent. But it is up to him
I was very hot on Murphy Reid and apparently we tried to split one of rhe picks to have a shot. Couldn't get what we wanted.
When Tomwey said we were going for Trav, it was melt city in here, including me, but in hindsight we can see the strategy.
Our mids are jammed packed and we are looking to land another mid this year. Our hbf/wings brigade are aging in Sincs, Wood and Hill and thats where Trav was dominate in the u18 champs.
Trav is not physically mature, against,Macrae, Windy, Flanders, Pou and even nuggety Hall, he was outmatched in the mid one on one evasion and tackle drill. He was getting caught couldn't catch them well etc, but everytime he went harder. He doesn't drop his head. Ross was more than encouraging to him, he is a coachable player.
He needs time to develop. Chito, and Windy, Naz and Hugo and a bunch of others have taken multiple seasons.
We have recruited hard bodied players like Hall, Flanders, Ryan, TDK, drafted physically developed players like Banfield. We sometimes forget draftees can take time. Tauru is also nowhere near being developed physically yet either.
Patience is required. Long term strategy with Tassie coming in these players will be the NAZ and Windy in 2028/29.