What the heck? Pies sending letters to elderly members asking for their inheritance

I've seen other sporting clubs, community groups, charities even schools have bequeathing FAQ webpages, but is next level cold spam mailing those members of a certain age group asking for will requests... better check the fine print it doesn't include "ps. once you have ticked the box, please die soon"

As per comments, Richmond has been sending out these types of letters for a number of years, while Essendon & Carlton have been mentioned, plus the Brisbane Broncos

Last year Geelong contacted members regarding their new partnership with Gathered Here which is an online Wills company - it explained what services were available via Gathered Here, as well as talking about their bequest program

As someone who used to work in the not-for-profit sector, every campaign where you were reaching out to current donors, you'd include information about bequests. We'd send out 2 magazines per year with stories of our work, our volunteers and often something in there from someone who had committed to leaving a bequest

I can also remember in my 30s getting random mail from organisations I've never had dealings with, talking about their bequest programs and offering to provide me with more info - those were fun calls to them as I know how the mailing list side of things work

If this was any club other than Collingwood, I doubt we see the same level of transaction, and the rapport is that at the end of the day, there's 18 clubs with charitable programs that folks can donate or leave a bequest to

I think it’s fantastic that Collingwood supporters have gone from being unemployed slobs living off centrelink yo being flushed with wealth.

More important lesson is those who don’t have wills should be seeking advice on getting one in place (no matter the age)

As per comments, Richmond has been sending out these types of letters for a number of years, while Essendon & Carlton have been mentioned, plus the Brisbane Broncos
News to me that Carlton have done this and I've been a member since 1995.

Someone commented their mum who had been a 50yr member at Carlton got one, and then cancelled her membership

Maybe it's only members of a certain age

Was chatting with a mate who is a Hawthorn member who mentioned they sent him a similar letter about leaving the club inheritance.

Someone commented their mum who had been a 50yr member at Carlton got one, and then cancelled her membership

Maybe it's only members of a certain age
They are talking crap.

Dont mention other clubs with a someone commented type reply to stir up crap with no hard evidence. Half my family are elderly and Carlton members and none have been ever asked to include the club in their will.

This is a Collingwood problem not a lets see who else has done this as well. I have never seen hard cold proof like this Pies document for anyone else regardless of footy code.

Was chatting with a mate who is a Hawthorn member who mentioned they sent him a similar letter about leaving the club inheritance.
Got proof??

Or just trying to dumb down your own clubs idiocy by saying others have also done it.

They are talking crap.

Dont mention other clubs with a someone commented type reply to stir up crap with no hard evidence. Half my family are elderly and Carlton members and none have been ever asked to include the club in their will.

This is a Collingwood problem not a lets see who else has done this as well. I have never seen hard cold proof like this Pies document for anyone else regardless of footy code.
Ouch

Ouch

So what?

That is not an individual letter to a member asking for half their house when they die.

You listen to Fadge to much and you will be on ignore like him soon.

I dont care what other clubs do you said Carlton which i am disputing.

Maybe you should take up your dispute with Chris

Who the hell is Chris on twitter???

That could be any old troll and even a Pies supporter himself trying to justify his own clubs shit behavior by dragging others into his own quicksand.

Dont believe everything on social media champ.

Where does it ask for half a house?
Oh dear.

You need an adult to explain it to you dont you.

Go ask Mum champ and have an early night for school tomorrow.