Opinion Geelong's era of dominance over

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Butters already has his name on a locker at Whitten Oval.

I have heard similar.
I think The Western Bulldogs are about to have the most talented midfield group in VFL/AFL history. Bontempelli, Butters would be arguably the best combo we have seen since Judd & Cousins. You then throw in Liberatore, Richards, Sanders and a host of depth (depth players whom would be walk up starters at teams like Geelong or Essendon).
It will be a nightmare proposition for even teams like Brisbane and Gold Coast.

They will probably get Butters and it will just be same old Cats.

Can't write them off when they seem to nail guns through trade/FA often.
They certainly seem to be able to farm some talent don’t they?

There seems to be no cap to the amount of folk they can bring in.

They salary-al dream down there.

The rest of the VFL needs to cotton on to what’s happening.

We sometimes forget that Geelong basically run the comp as AFL executives.
Allows them to manipulate things accordingly 😆

It was clearly evident that the Suns, Giants and Swans were well ahead of Geelong in preparation and in overall skill level. Someone has been caught sitting on their hands this past summer? The Dogs were sensational coming back against the Lions and are probably the best Victorian team. The Lions always start the season slowly, they will bounce back, but Geelong will flounder for most of this year, they will win a few games, but from what i saw against the Suns will be no real threat in 2026.

I can't agree with the first part of the bolded. It's the first game of a very long season. You are probably right in that the Cats may not be a real threat this year. I can't see you floundering though. The definition of "floundering" is key in this discussion though. For my purposes, I see the Cats as being a 6-8 team. You may define "floundering" as being not a premiership threat and I accept your thinking if that's the case.

Will be an interesting season. I've thought many times that the Cats will fall away only to be proven wrong time and again. One opening game won't change my mind.

I have heard similar.
I think The Western Bulldogs are about to have the most talented midfield group in VFL/AFL history. Bontempelli, Butters would be arguably the best combo we have seen since Judd & Cousins. You then throw in Liberatore, Richards, Sanders and a host of depth (depth players whom would be walk up starters at teams like Geelong or Essendon).
Brisbane '01-'03 would like to have a word with you...

I can't agree with the first part of the bolded. It's the first game of a very long season. You are probably right in that the Cats may not be a real threat this year. I can't see you floundering though. The definition of "floundering" is key in this discussion though. For my purposes, I see the Cats as being a 6-8 team. You may define "floundering" as being not a premiership threat and I accept your thinking if that's the case.

Will be an interesting season. I've thought many times that the Cats will fall away only to be proven wrong time and again. One opening game won't change my mind.
What irks footy fans more than anything these past 20 years is Geelong's continuing competitiveness and it gives opposition fans the sh*ts. They have always defied the odds, but this season feels different, we've already seen the Grand Finalists play and there really is only the Lions, Suns, Giants, Dogs and Swans in it. I can't see any other team realistically challenging them. Geelong certainly won't be...

Brisbane '01-'03 would like to have a word with you...

Voss, Lappin, Akermanis, Black, Power, Ashcroft, Hart were brilliant but a midfield comprised of Bontempelli, Richards, Liberatore, Sanders, Butters, Kennedy, Williams would be better.
Bontempelli is going to be the equal of Voss when his career comes to a close and I reckon Butters is on the verge of becoming the no.1 midfielder in the game.

Voss, Lappin, Akermanis, Black, Power, Ashcroft, Hart were brilliant but a midfield comprised of Bontempelli, Richards, Liberatore, Sanders, Butters, Kennedy, Williams would be better.
Bontempelli is going to be the equal of Voss when his career comes to a close and I reckon Butters is on the verge of becoming the no.1 midfielder in the game.

I reckon he already is his equal at least to be honest. Can't think of anything Voss did that Bont can't do. People might mention the Brownlow, but Bont has been desperately unlucky there. In every other award he's matched or surpassed him.

Yeah, not real sure about that. You've got 3 Brownlow medalists, just for starters.

You'd take the Brisbane midfield 10/10 times.

Bulldogs would be the best currently, presuming they get Butters.

I reckon he already is his equal at least to be honest. Can't think of anything Voss did that Bont can't do. People might mention the Brownlow, but Bont has been desperately unlucky there. In every other award he's matched or surpassed him.

The only "awards" that Bont would match Voss in would be media awards. Put the pill in between them and Voss is gonna get it. Bont's a smooth mover for sure (he's all class) but in finals and big games....those mongrels like Voss are gonna get blokes like Bont 9 times outta ten.

Bont would match up with Simon Black and Richards maybe with Aker....but Libba as hard as he'd try...he's not getting anywhere near those top 3-4 Lions.

Now adding Butters would even it up a bit more, but I still reckon the Lion's mids of that era would just find a way, especially with their big hard hitting rucks belting the living daylights out of Timmy English.

Yeah, not real sure about that. You've got 3 Brownlow medalists, just for starters.

You'd take the Brisbane midfield 10/10 times.

Bulldogs would be the best currently, presuming they get Butters.

Yeh, Brownlow medals are good but come on man, Wines & Priddis are Brownlow medalists.

I'm taking the current Dogs mids over the Lions. People don't realize the likes of Kennedy, Richards, Freijah, Williams are all over 6ft'2 in stature. Not to mention you have Bontempelli who would tower over Lappin, Voss & Black.
Big powerful midfield and you add in an exceptional talent such as Butters (a two way juggernaut in his own right), it's simply a breathtaking line-up with Tim English averaging just as many disposals per game as Shaun Hart.

Just please tell me you weren't typing this chortling to yourself and wondering why nobody else came up with these puns before ...

Yeh, Brownlow medals are good but come on man, Wines & Priddis are Brownlow medalists.

I'm taking the current Dogs mids over the Lions. People don't realize the likes of Kennedy, Richards, Freijah, Williams are all over 6ft'2 in stature. Not to mention you have Bontempelli who would tower over Lappin, Voss & Black.
Big powerful midfield and you add in an exceptional talent such as Butters (a two way juggernaut in his own right), it's simply a breathtaking line-up with Tim English averaging just as many disposals per game as Shaun Hart.
Did you ever watch the Lions midfield, or have you forgotten since it's been so long ago?

They were supreme in a competition where every club contending was stacked with superstar midfields.

The current Dogs midfield wouldn't be the best of that era, let alone better then Brisbane's.

They are however the current best midfield, closely followed by Brisbane.

Clock's ticking for them though.

Did you ever watch the Lions midfield, or have you forgotten since it's been so long ago?

They were supreme in a competition where every club contending was stacked with superstar midfields.

The current Dogs midfield wouldn't be the best of that era, let alone better then Brisbane's.

They are however the current best midfield, closely followed by Brisbane.

Clock's ticking for them though.

Stacked with superstar midfields?

In the 2001 grand final, Essendon's midfield comprised of Hird, J.Johnson, Misiti, Long, Blumfield, Caracella.
In the 2002/2003 grand finals, Collingwood's midfield comprised of Freeborn, Buckley, Lonie, Licuria, Burns, Scotland, Woewodin.

The grand final in which Western Bulldogs lost 2021, they were up against Oliver, Petracca, Viney. Three midfielders alone who would destroy those Essendon & Collingwood players.

Today's midfields are superior in every sense of the word. It is essentially a midfielders game so I have to ask, have you forgotten what footy was like 20 years ago?

Stacked with superstar midfields?

In the 2001 grand final, Essendon's midfield comprised of Hird, J.Johnson, Misiti, Long, Blumfield, Caracella.
In the 2002/2003 grand finals, Collingwood's midfield comprised of Freeborn, Buckley, Lonie, Licuria, Burns, Scotland, Woewodin.

The grand final in which Western Bulldogs lost 2021, they were up against Oliver, Petracca, Viney. Three midfielders alone who would destroy those Essendon & Collingwood players.

Today's midfields are superior in every sense of the word. It is essentially a midfielders game so I have to ask, have you forgotten what footy was like 20 years ago?
Yes, I remember what it was like.

Today's midfields are not superior, the coaching probably is.

Can't believe this thread was started in 2014
Some sides might like one year of dominance, and considering it started in 2007 we've had a good run. Prety much a generation of competing, four flags, seven GF's and many more Prelims in that period. If it ends this year, well cest 'la vie.

I have heard similar.
Sanders will end up at Tassie which would explain the play for Butters, Libba and Treloar closer to the end as well.

The only "awards" that Bont would match Voss in would be media awards. Put the pill in between them and Voss is gonna get it. Bont's a smooth mover for sure (he's all class) but in finals and big games....those mongrels like Voss are gonna get blokes like Bont 9 times outta ten.

Bont would match up with Simon Black and Richards maybe with Aker....but Libba as hard as he'd try...he's not getting anywhere near those top 3-4 Lions.

Now adding Butters would even it up a bit more, but I still reckon the Lion's mids of that era would just find a way, especially with their big hard hitting rucks belting the living daylights out of Timmy English.

I was actually referring to the two awards voted by players and coaches:

Player's MVP:
Voss - 2
Bontempelli - 3

Coach's MVP:
Voss - 0
Bontempelli - 1

To be fair the Coach's award only started in 2003, so didn't cover all of Voss' career. But for longevity I'd be picking Bont every day.

I was actually referring to the two awards voted by players and coaches:

Player's MVP:
Voss - 2
Bontempelli - 3

Coach's MVP:
Voss - 0
Bontempelli - 1

To be fair the Coach's award only started in 2003, so didn't cover all of Voss' career. But for longevity I'd be picking Bont every day.
The ICE epidemic in Geelong is real